Forced Marriages

36 54
Avatar for zellypearl
2 years ago

Silly!
What were you thinking? What exactly were you expecting?
Finding a soul mate is all but a lie, cooking up weird and lame stories just to satisfy our longing for fantasy and fairy tales.
If falling in love or finding one's soul mate was real and not just a myth then our forefathers would have first experienced or encountered it.

Why do you even believe in love at first sight? That's not even a thing, I mean how do you fall in love by just meeting someone for the first time?
Cut the crab Sophia, its high time you accept your fate and get married to Mr.Johnson, and stop dreaming or talking about finding love and soul mate. That is never gonna happen, maybe not in this lifetime, you can try again in the next but for now, you really should get yourself prepared because Mr.Johnson will be coming with his family members soon to ask for your hand in marriage.



Hello!
I am Sophia, 19 years old. I wish to live a little longer and experience life for myself before thinking about marriage but my mom already thinks I should be in an old man's house whom she calls my husband.
She doesn't want me to talk aboutย loveย orย soulmateย of a thing. She doesn't believe in falling in love or finding true love and happiness.
She thinks that being married is some kind of an achievement, not minding if it is at the expense of one's happiness.
My mom doesn't care any less, she just needs the dowry, and she does everything in her power to make sure she gets it even if it means marrying us off at an early age.

Speaking of such, my elder sis is already married with two kids. My mom forced her to marry a businessman in Lagos and she did this at the age of 18 years. Quite early right? Now you understand why she thinks I have overstayed my welcome at home.
She wants me out, yes she wants to send me off.

Crying every night seemed to be the only resolution for me since I can't do anything about it. I have pleaded with my mom many times but she has already made up her mind and there is absolutely nothing anyone could change that.
And this is what I believed until after receiving a call from Richard which later made me have a change of heart and speak up for myself.



Richard, my very good friend called one night and realized I was sobbing, he asked me about the situation at my home and what has been going on. I couldn't tell him my mom wanted to marry me off.
Richard wouldn't take it lightly. No! It wouldn't settle well with him.
Richard is a very good friend that knows me rather too well. He knows the plans I have for marriage and the things I expect. So him hearing about such a thing might make him lose his mind.
I wasn't going to risk it by telling him so when he asked about home and everything, I only told him all is going on well which is an obvious lie.

How much I wanted to let Richard know the truth about what's going on back here at home.
How much I wish I can scream and be let loose as this is suffocating.
I really wish I could tell someone everything and let them share in my pain and burden but I can't.
It seems this burden is mine and mine alone, it can't be shared and shouldn't be.
I realized I needed to deal with my problems and not get others involved.
I made up my mind to let my mom know that I wasn't going to married anyone except my heart says so.
I wasn't going to be forced to marry an old man. I can't be forced into marriage because I knew too well that I will suffer the whole of my life.

I had to muster all the courage to let the truth out. To let my mom know my decision on this issue.
And even though she wouldn't treat me the same again after that, I don't care I just can't do anything against my will or heart and that was final.

PS: This is just based on my thought about issues of arranged and forced marriages



What do you guys take on arranged marriage?
Are you a supporter of such actions or activities? Do you feel or think it is right and there is nothing wrong to force marriage and marital life on a person even when they aren't ready for it?
Let's hear your contribution and opinion on this, thank you!

Still your baby girl ;)


To my faithful readers and wonderful sponsors, my heart goes out to you guys. Thank you for making my journey here a fun-filled and exciting one. Thanks for trusting and supporting my work too. I pray that God bless you all real good :)


16 August 2021

Image

11
$ 7.00
$ 6.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 6
Sponsors of zellypearl
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zellypearl
2 years ago

Comments

I am not a fan of arranged marriage. It's like you are stealing someone's right and life from them. Just imagined the loneliness and sadness that the two person will feel in that type of marriage Marrying someone you don't love sucks. I can't even stand being with someone whom I don't like. Why don't we just let people marry the person they love? ๐Ÿ˜ฅ I am glad that the character in your story fight for what she wants. Niceeee story beauty ๐Ÿค—

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It sucks my dear. Causing two people pain and heartaches all in the name of marriage isn't worth it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truueee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best is to confide on someone instead of keeping such within yourself. Someone suppose to give you mind and tell you what to do since you're are afraid. And in another way, you can fight for yourself if you have the mind or courage to do so.

Arranged marriage is not the best because love will not exists. Happiness will always seize from your face. So, arranged marriage is not the best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah all you said are true but this isn't about me. But thanks all the same for the advice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you are in atoxic situation right there. 19 is too young to be thinking about marriage and kids, your mother has serious issues......... Marriage means commiting yourself to that one person for the rest of your life. I mean would you even be a good mother to your children if they are a result of an unhappy marriage. confide in your relatives or just work hard and find a job. any job. the faster you start earning and having your own money the easier it is to leave the house. You are grown.......... she can't force you to do anything once your independant.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol. Yeah, most mothers go as far as that just to marry off their children and it's disheartening. By the way, this is not about me, and my mom can never do such to me but if we all are to put ourselves in that shoe then we know it wouldn't fit so well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I say no to this one. Choosing the one who we will spend our lives with should be our own choice and not our parents. This is somewhat violating our freedom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is and this is why I always feel sad for most of the countries whose ladies are being given or sell off in marriage without their free will.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No to fixed marriage. It is not any differebt from forcing a person to stay with someone he barely knows. It's an insult to the real concept of marrige: bring together two lovers by virtue of law, and God's help. Martiage is not just joining through paper.

Even in some cases, it actually works out that the people eventually fall in love with each other, but oftentimes it does not. It only encourages rebellion, loveless connection, and a messed up family, where the child will not be happy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Messed up family indeed. And every time such home are always having one problem or the other. It's very rare for genuine love and unity to exist in such situations

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. For sole reason, LOVE should NOT be forced.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, it shouldn't dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

there are countries where arrange marriage is common

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Very common and I am always like, how do those people feel about it? Perhaps they are used to it because it's their norm and culture so to them it might not make any difference

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ery common and I am always like, how do those people feel about it? Perhaps they are used to it because it's their norm and culture so to them it might not make an

i do believe they are used to it but for sure some who had found their true love would be very desperate to get married with their loved one instead of that arranged one..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. They would be eager to hey married to the one they love than the arranged one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My parents attempt.to marry me with a man which I didn't love, but I fight for my right and I marry the man I loved.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿฅ‚๐Ÿฅ‚ lovely! Raising the class for you. I am glad you declined and fought for what you wanted

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This happens mostly in a movie. But I know someone who was fixed marriage. She's marrying the guy she doesn't even know. And the worst part is that she has a boyfriend. She doesn't have a choice because the mother of the guy and her mom were friends and they wanted their children to be together. Right now she's living in Japan with her husband and kids.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh how sad this can be. Parents most times create lasting problems for their children

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally detest it...marriage should be based on happiness, if this occur certainly chaos lies ahead. Thanks for writing on this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marriage is based on so many things and I don't think its right to force anyone into eternal pain and suffering.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If your mom arrange your marriage, better run away and never come back.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜… funny you. Most times you talk like my country people lol. I may take that advice if I need it but I don't think I will need it since my parents aren't the type to arrange marriages for their children

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good for you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a big no for me regarding the force marriage. Your happiness is a countless. The marriage should be for partners who are having mutual feelings and understandings. The regrets will also there if you let the force marriage happens into our lives.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So many chaos and challenges will arise and it always do in marriages but it takes two people who genuinely agreed to walk down that lane together to face those challenges head on and come out successfully and not those who were being forced into it in the first place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, best to scream it out Sophia. If I were in her shoes I bet I would feel the same. Arrange marriage is a big no for me. But some other arrange marriage is quite successful and end good but it's only few.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a bigger NO for me grace๐Ÿ˜‚ Few get to that point and come out successful but even with that, it's still a no for me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Forced marriage is just like you're being deprived of your own freedom thus, no one should be in this kind of situation. If my parents would let me marry someone I don't love, then I would forget them as my parents because they forgot that I am their daughter in the first place.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Be calmed Nov๐Ÿ˜… Take a deep breath and exhale lol. Your parents will never do that to you. Force marriages aren't good and it shouldn't be encourage

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What if one day? Kidding! ๐Ÿ˜ yeah and I love my parents because they don't force me to marry someone I don't love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure dear and there is no WHAT IF lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If that will happen to me. I rather ran away..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I trust you๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ run far away lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago