Before Judgement

34 42
Avatar for zellypearl
2 years ago

I wasn't sure I would be able to do anything today or submit an article because of my health. But that's not the story for today cause I don't wanna bore you with my health challenges. So let's get to the business of the day.



I walked into the lecture hall a few minutes before the actual time slated for the lectures. This was because I wanted to find a good seat in front to sit and receive lectures.
I had a fair share of headaches standing all through the first class, I wasn't cut out for a second time.
Yes, I didn't want the same thing to repeat itself again so I went to the hall an hour before the time for the class.
Little did I know that I still wouldn't find a seat in front but at least I wasn't at the back or standing either this time around. I found a good place in the middle quite close to the front to sit.
After settling for about a minute or two, I scanned through the hall, and immediately my eyes met with someone, my mind already told me I know her. And to confirm my curiosity, I noticed she smiled and even called my name.
She was just one row away from where I sat.
I had to get up and walked to her and try to exchange pleasantries since the class wasn't starting in an hour.

School Premises

When I settled with her, we started exchanging greetings and talking about school, life, family, and general things about life.
She was my high schoolmate and I was so surprised when she smiled at me and greeted me.
In the cause of discussing and talking with her, she told me she saw me earlier before that time but I was very far away from where she sat.
And that was when we had the first class with people packed full in the lecture hall that some were even standing and some were outside because of the number of students.

She mentioned seeing me around and keeping an eye on me, so when I finally got into the lecture hall the second time that day, she had to turn and look back which was when my eyes met with hers.

In a normal situation, I would have thought she was a snub. I mean this was someone that I never spoke with when we were still in high school.
I can't tell who the problem was coming from. Perhaps because in high school we all had our pair of friends so not talking to the other pair doesn't make them a snub neither does it make us but I still thought she was until when we met in the lecture hall.

School Premises


Judging Even Before Knowing

We all know the saying,ย don't judge a book by its cover.
We have all been victims of judging a person or some groups of people either from their appearance or attitudes even before knowing them or without having any ideas about who they truly are or what they are capable of doing.

My bad! for thinking the girl was a snub because of her appearance back then in high school.
I mean I was so wrong about her. Even those that I even thought weren't snubs became one after our graduation.
I do come across some on the road, school, market, or anywhere else, and yet they snub as if we had some kind of fight but I am never always bothered. Come on! Like what do I have to lose? Nothing! So them snubbing did not affect me in any way or whatsoever.



And here is someone I never thought of or I judged wrongly, being friendly and acting as though she knew me and of course she did. And for that simple act, I give her the accolades.
We sat together throughout the lecture but before then, we grabbed some snacks to keep our mouths busy๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜…
And it was really fun having someone to talk to.
We started asking each other questions in different courses of our discipline.
It was fun making fun of ourselves with most of the things we had forgotten and it was a good time all the same.

~Closing Thoughts

Not everyone we consider to be a snub is actually a snub. Some are just being themselves in normal circumstances, and until we get close to them and find out for ourselves their true nature then we should never judge them from afar or from the sideline.

In life, the people who may help you with one or two things might be those you least expected and it may be one of those persons you judged wrongly.
So be careful what you say about people and what you think of them.
Don't be so judgemental because, in the long run, your perceptions about them might be wrong and totally flawed.
Stay true to yourself and let others be themselves.



I am not sure you read from me today, so why not get back in here and do just that๐Ÿ˜‰
I appreciate everyone that takes the time to read my content, give it a thumb up, comment, and even sponsor my writing journey here.
Until I see you guys next time

Still your baby girl ;)


To my faithful readers and wonderful sponsors, my heart goes out to you guys. Thank you for making my journey here a fun-filled and exciting one. Thanks for trusting and supporting my work too. I pray that God bless you all real good :)


29 July 2021

PS: All images are mine except stated otherwise


Special shoutout to my latest sponsors @emily2u and @meitanteikudo Thank you guys for supporting this baby girl with your sponsorship, I am most grateful. And I am very sorry for realizing this late. But it's better late than never right๐Ÿคญ

18
$ 9.13
$ 8.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
+ 13
Sponsors of zellypearl
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zellypearl
2 years ago

Comments

Indeed we have different impressions to other people.. our first impressions won't last though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's the fact

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you. We should learn how to not judge quickly just because of someone's appearance. Beauty I hope that you are doing fine now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am getting better pretty one. Thanks for asking

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good to hear โค

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It makes it easier if we are with someone we are familiar with. I'm glad she approached you first. All it takes is a smile :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So it's true that first impression does not last at all. ๐Ÿ˜ I am glad you became friends with her and that means you got a long way ahead to discover each one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Johnny. Sometimes the first impression is always wrong. Yes we sat and spoke for a while before lectures began

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am mostly the snub. Every once in a while. Hahaha. But that was back then. I loosened up a bit. Encounters can be good start of networking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha haha. Nice to meet you THE SNUB๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Glad you have loosened up a bit now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The first impression doesn't last ๐Ÿ˜… And many also thought that I'm a snub in person.. But when they get to know me more, their impressions changed.. . We should not really judge the book by its cover .. Better know the person well first before we judge ๐Ÿ™‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here Jane. So many have had the wrong impression of me but when they get to know me they usually confess about liking me Yes, we shouldn't judge people before even knowing them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nice is that. Someone you mistakenly thought as snub is your friend now. I also tried that and realized we shouldn't think negative about people who don't talk to us because maybe they are just waiting for us to talk too. โ˜บ๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, Nov. Most times those people really don't have any problem with us but we judge wrongly which is bad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lots of people mistakenly thought of me as a very strict girl because of how I look and because of my eyebrows too lol. I can't blame them tho, hahah I do admit that whenever I'm in public place I always look like a very strict one, my face looks like I was about to attack hahahha

But when they finally get to know me, they will just say that my attitude and face is very opposite. I have a strict face but I'm so jolly ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. It seems we really are the PEARLs๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ People say the same thing to me. Some weeks ago, not too long a friend I met in school also said the same thing. That I looked strict. But what's wrong with your eyebrow? Why do you think it has a hand in people thinking you are strict?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people also thought of me as a snub, maybe thats my introverted self but its okay with me. Often times later on people would tell me that they thought I'm a snub and we would laugh about it. I understand 1st impressions...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. It seems we have a lot of people who mistakenly judge others because of heir appearance and attitude.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes we tend to judge people through First impression.. I totally agree that we shouldn't judge a book by it's coverโค๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes Jay. We shouldn't do that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Which school do you attend? I even thought you are still in Secondary School ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™ˆ

Though I was among the category of judging People until I learned that it isn't good because we don't know who might help us tomorrow. Someone we may take to be a snub today might turn out to be an helper and friend to us tomorrow.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Brains Secondary School ๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ˜’ shea I still dey secondary school na.

Exactly. I know we all have been wrong in that aspect but thank God we are learning better not to judge people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ You don high aswear. Which one be brain secondary school ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am high on stew o๐Ÿ˜‚ shea na you talk say I dey secondary school na. So it's the school for brain๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Zelly. My bestie right now used to be a snub. Little did we know we gonna click each other's personality. We really cannot prevent sometimes to judge, but at least we gotta know a person and correct the first thought we have for them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes dear. It is very necessary and important we get to know a person first for who they are before we start judging them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. That is so true. Anyhow, some first impression do not last.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes dear, it doesn't last

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ’—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you had fun catching up with your "snub" high school mate. And yes, sometimes we judge by appearance or initial impressions. Guilty of this too but working on it not to become a habit๐Ÿ˜Š Take care of that whatever it is that bothers your health.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh Queen mother. Have missed you for a while now and I am so glad you decided to leave a comment today๐Ÿฅบ

Yes, we all have been guilty of it but we just learn to adjust. Thank you! I am on medication now so after a few more days I believe I will be sound again, thanks for your concern.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry been out and about these few days and still catching up๐Ÿ˜‚

Good to hear, and hope you'll be kicking again sooner.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so too. It's okay

$ 0.00
2 years ago