Squash Patty

33 94
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago

When you have picky eater kids then you need to cook dish out from the traditional way.. This dish actually is also good for snacks as my kids love to eat it when they come home from playing.

Squash today was aplenty because it was planted together with corns, millet, beans,peanuts and other legumes. Having it sauteed and adding some veggies or payless makes children get tired of having it for meal that's why it's good to cook it another way.

I prepared this for our lunch just a while aback, and I like to share it with you also.

Ingredients:

these were the only ones available in my vegetable basket
  • grated raw squash(I think I grated a kilo and a half)

  • 2cups flour

  • 4eggs

  • 2onion bulbs(scallion is best),chopped finely

  • 5cloves garlic,finely chopped

  • salt to taste

  • malunggay(optional),finely chopped

  • grated carrots(optional)

  • bell pepper(optional),finely chopped

  • ground black pepper(optional)

  • tiny dried shrimp(optional)

  • oil for frying

Procedure

  • 1.In a big mixing bowl put all ingredient and mix it proportionately

    2.Heat oil in a frying pan or deep fryer

    3.Scoop up a tablespoon of the squash mixture and drop it in the frying pan. flatten it.

    4.If golden brown turn it on the other side, and put it in a strainer if done to drain excess oil. you can use paper towel to get off excess oil.

    5.Serve.You can dip it in ketchup mix with little soy sauce and kalamansi or lemon juice which my kids love.

If you have all the optional veggies, add it all the as it makes it full of nutrients as they contain various vitamins and minerals the body needs..However, I don't really add the dried tiny shrimps as it cause anaphylactic shock to my eldest.

Sometimes if we have more than 2 heads of squash, I usually boil and mash it. Add condensed milk and some chilled all purpose cream. Whether chilled or not, my kids love it for snack they will ask for more.

When we will have the time to visit my parents again, I will ask my mother to make squash lecheflan chiffon cake.It was her recipe. I can't make it as I don't have the needed materials..I also love to make some squash pies but wait till I have the resources 😁

Hope you like this recipe.

Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty

Anyhow, do you have any recipe for squash,may it be a dish or snack? share it on comment box

was it this gif which makes my article non- EXC? 'cause I only downloaded it from dolores'..

other easy to- make healthy recipes

35
$ 0.70
$ 0.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago

Comments

This is one of my favorite to cook when there's a squash in our kitchen but instead of forming it as a patty type I preferred to formed it as a ball and I will make a sauce like the one we put on fishballs hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

then it is called squash ball,right?😊 mapapakain ang mga bata. it is delicious at the same time nutritious.. yum yum

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeps. I usually do that because my son is picky eater. I do it also on other veggies. Also on fruits but I make pancakes naman .

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

so does my eldest, ang hirap pakainin.. so we need to be innovative when it comes to food preparation khit simple lng bsta palatable sa kanila.. pancakes were also their fav snack, lalo na pag maraming saging. they ask for cake sometimes, go bsta may ingredients

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hirap picky eater no haha. Anak ko mag 2 years na pero hindi padin malakas magsolids. Dati nastressed ako pero ngayon hinahayaan ko na basta hindi sya sakitin. Matuto din nan sya kumain siguro. Kasi picky eater din ako dati pero natuto din naman ako kumain ng gulay hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

wow that is really delicious thats also one of my favorite dish .I also cook that I put eggs, flour, crispy fry. I mix in the pumpkin the egg flour and crispy fry and mix it until it mixes both and then it can be baked.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I havent tried baking it yet though,.do you add oil to the mixture before baking or grease the pan,perhaps?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just put some oil in the pan before cooking

$ 0.00
3 years ago

okei... i will try to bake it also

$ 0.00
3 years ago

okay dear im pretty sure u will like it too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm sure it tastes good! I don't have children yet (because I'm still single for crying out loud 😂) but I'm a picky eater too! Since I was a kid, I'm really picky when it comes to what I eat and that's the reason why I learned how to cook innovative dishes. When I don't like a certain veggie I do some experiment to make it tastes better and for the food to suit my taste buds.

I don't like the ginataang squash nor the sauted one so I tried those patties and it taste better. I also tried it for moringa and water spinach patties, they tastes good too 🤤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yep it does. and since my eldest was the pickiest, he doesn't like even the bell pepper so I add it. it enhances the flavor.. we really need to make innovations to suit taste buds of picky eaters like you and my kids. They said that if parents were picky eaters then their kids woould also be, but as far as I can remember I ate whatever food my hands get.. those patties are really good but I don't like to drain their nutrients on frying it inbll lots of hot oil so I do it alternately

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Marvellous racipe. Please go to my article and subscribe me. Well done post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can only do that if you interact with me as I will support you also on your articles. for now,i will observe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really don't have any idea about doing this, but now I do. I must try it. It looks healthy and yummy at the same time. I might make it for my niece and nephews, so they could eat healthy snacks instead of junk foods.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yep try it as its a healthy one, you can have ketchup for dippings, it would enhance their appetite

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can imagine how tedious the grating of the squash was. 😅 Nevertheless, your kids must have loved it as it was made with love ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it really is too boring to do the grating especially when you have small grater, it's good I have a bigger one so it was easier. they do love it everytime I make an okoy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remembered you made an article about okoy right? Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yep sis. it was also a banana blossom patty

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I run guest houses in Guwahati and I have made this recipe two times till now, absolutely perfect. My guests loved it so so much. This is most beautiful cooking recipe l. I see a lots of recipe video and only a few tempts to cook immediately, this is one of such recipe. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

pardon me, where was Guwahati? am more grateful that I got your attention 😉..we can be friends, sharing and supporting each other if you like

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow looks so delicious 🤤🤤 i like to take a bite 😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it's easy to make, the grating of the squash only takes time. so be patient.yep,it really is yummy as well as healthy.. try to make some if you have squash

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. I love it. if you have time you can also submit some of your recipes to my community. Thank you https://read.cash/c/cooking-is-everything-5af0

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow thank you for noticing my article.. I will surely do that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm also a picky eater, I pick out the onions in my food

$ 0.00
3 years ago

,so does my kids. one doesn't like onions while the other does, one doesn't like bell pepper but it other way round for the other.. but when I cooked it into something like veggie patty then they have no choice but to eat it coz it adds to the flavor

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yea, same with me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When it comes to children, we must know how to make a way for them to eat vegetables talaga mam. My children do not eat vegetables except for malunggay and monggo.😭. I work very hard , haha so what I do even spaghetti I put finely chopped carrot din po. I will try this squash patty with them, maybe it's ok to add ground meat mam? Morning po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

mam kris naiilang na aq sa mam😊..balik tau sa sis jiji, it will surely go with it coz I used to put ground meat but since I have a very fussy baby around,I did not add coz I don't have a meat processor.so if I have the time, I patiently finely chopped it before adding

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow ang sarap niyan. hahaha naka try na akong mag luto niyan pero nilagyan ko nang Cripy fry para mas malasa. dina akogumamit nang harina ..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oo sis.. nkalimutan q ang cryspy fry at bread crumbs.. but d na aq gumagamit ng cryspy fry kasi parang msg na din kasi yun kaya d q nilalagyan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago