Modular class:Teaching your own kids

19 57
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago

Its been a week already since class started for public schools here in our country. Due to the pandemic, everyone was affected even on covid-free areas that face-to-face class is impossible.

Instantly, parents like me with early school graders became teachers to their own children. It's a parents responsibility to teach their children for home is where children first learn but to teach academics is a different story. It's a whole adjustment to both parent and child alike. Rather than prepping our kids for school, we need to make time for their modules instead.

It was a tough week for me, as though am a single parent juggling from one task to the other. Last week, my 3year-old daughter had been suffering inexplicable fever though I had her for a check-up. It had been like that which made another check-up badly needed. That I brought her to the hospital last Monday-the day when modules were released for the first week.

With my daughter being ill, I was not able to start her kuya's (older brother) module on the given time. I was like a zombie, staying up all night to check my girl's body temperature. Giving her sponge bath when her fever rises. Making her drink paracetamol every four hours. Thank goodness she became better the following day.Yet, I had to wake up early to prepare breakfast and do some house chores even after sleepless nights.

During the day, I need to put the baby first to sleep so that he won't disturb us when we start my eldest's module. The module has some time frame written on it,one subject can be done in 3 hours. But boy, a whole day would not be enough to finish one subject which has 20 pages or more which consist mostly of activity sheets. Yes, I asked my son to read the topic, the instructions and the questionnaire. It took time for a second grader to read a sentence. After he's done reading, I read it again then explain the topic adding some real life events we had experienced or done. Answering the activity is also a struggle as I let him spell out the words which he answered in vernacular and was translated by me either in filipino or english language.

my daughter coloring and her kuya reading. It was drizzling during the day that's why they entertained themselves with their module

It sounds exhausting, right? It absolutely was. Imagine 7 subjects with 1 subject (MAPEH) having 4 components that made the modules a total of 10 with each subject having to be done 1 in the morning and 1 in the afternoon so that it is to be submitted when Friday comes. The subjects topic which were usually tackled 45minutes to one hour daily were now being compiled and taken in just half a day.

In my case, we were only able to finish 1 subject on Tuesday afternoon. One also on Wedsnesday afternoon for I had to do the mountain of laundry in the morning which I was not able to get it done.2 subjects done with 8 still remaining when we only have Thursday and friday to finish it all up. You can't force a child to do it during the night because you expect him/her to feel sleepy when it comes to school works, right? Unless if he's already in secondary school like xzeon's daughter and others are doing, they do group study which I can see is helpful to them that they do brainstorming sometimes.

I had to stay up late on Wednesday evening to get my laundry done and wash a mountain of dishes also. Thursday and Friday was a hell day for both me and my son, should time be stopped I could have done it. Our house was also not a study-friendly environment; barking dogs, squeeling pigs, cackling chicken, the noise from power tools from house construction nearby were all the distractions that made my son unfocused. One more thing was my youngest, a 16 month old baby who wants to be cuddled and played with, he intentionally disturbs his kuya, and who could demand to go out through his gestures and babbles that he would turn irritable and cry out loud if not obeyed.

1minute distraction

Numerous times, I lose my temper that I shouted at my kids both my eldest and the baby. Am not to justify but having all those pressures and stresses plus no one to help me with house chores were too overwhelming. I pity my son who cried when I shouted at him. I felt guilty. Took a little break and contemplate a whilel trying to put myself on my son's shoes. I said sorry when we resumed.

Friday evening came and we were not done yet with the last subject. Grateful I am that my son's teacher sent the modules for next week to one of Xzeon's girls telling that the previous module can be pass on Monday.

My experience was just one among those other proofs that modular class is impossible to parents with little kids and babies specially when only one parent is helping the child. Beginning from Kinder to grade 3 level they need constant assistance because they need you to help them read and write and to help them understand the lesson.

For now, am dividing the pages of the modules of each subject for each day so that my son won't get bored of grinding one subject to the last part.

This was the reason also why I have been a little active in here. Any parent on a situation like mine can relate.

You might have tips you want to share with us regarding teaching kids in this current situation..

z_graeden

5
$ 1.70
$ 1.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago

Comments

They have their own modules too but atleast they help a bit🤣. If a parent is having trouble with one or two kids, how much more with more than two😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Xzeon is having a disaster. 5 versus one. 1 senior high ,2 junior highschool and 2 elementary. With a destructible 2 year old little girl.🤣The senior is an independent one but asks for help sometimes. The 9th grader is a bit better but the 7th grader is the worst. I wonder how he passed elementary.,,😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

well, the older ones can help the younger ones also that you might not get too stuck😁.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is not sound exhausting , it is really exhausting hhah. We have a neighborhood here, I visited them while teaching her two kids t the same time. I asked her if all of the pages in the table was for one day teaching. She said yes with sigh. I thought it ws just 3 to 4 pages per day.

And my other neighborhood , she didnt tech her son because maybe she had. no education so she need to asked for help on one of this niece. Gladly , his niece who are in senior high agreed that he's the one who will teach to the kid.

Tapos yung paligid ang tahimik haha. Lahat busy sa module 😄

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

un ang mahirap pag d nakapag-aral khit elementary ang parents, d nya matuturuan ang anak nya... struggle is real

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True . Kaya ng hirap

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Struggle is real. Ganyan din kapatid sa anak nya, hirap din sya lalo na sa pagtuturo. Naiyak na nga kasi hindi maintindihan ng anak nya eh.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Grabe sis, ok lng sana siguro qng focus sa tutoring kesa meron pang baby boss na kelangan din asikasuhin.. nkakaiyak tlaga. aq nga din, napatanong ako paano maiintindihan ng bata tong napakaraming dapat itackle per subject.. maaawa k n lng.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga. Pamangkin ko din umiiyak na. Tulong tulong na lang kami sa pagtuturo din sa kanya. Dito sa bahay isa lang estudyante pero meron din 3 yrs old naglalaro lang, kaya medyo nakakapagfocus sa pagtuturo. Ang problema lang yung tinuturuan

$ 0.00
3 years ago

gusto ko din magturo kaso wala man ako tuturuan. hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Opo,ok lng sana qng walang baby boss.. mga pamangkin mo n lng sis turuan mo 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

graduate na kami lahat sis. tapos bata pa mga pamangkin ko at wala sila dito sa house namin.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

malapit k lng sana ano pra may hihingan ng tulong khit pasaglit saglit lng😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

true. lalo't wala naman ako masyado ginagawa. hehe. kaso layo eh.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yung dalawang pamangkin ko din eh, tinuturuan ni mama kasi yung mama nila(my sister) is nagaaral din so hirap din si mama imbis na itutulog nya lang ituturo nya sa mga pamangkin ko

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ang hirap ksi imbes na more on discussion sana, pero more on activities xa.tell ur pamangkins n lng na be cooperative ky lola nila pra d sila mHihirapan. khit gusto qng mag-inovate ng learning materials pero house chores at si baby ang kaagaw

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Grabe kukulit din nun pero willing naman magaral buti nalang

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh my ang hirap talaga mam, lalo na sa mga bata at sa nanay. Sobrang hirap kong dalawa pa sila nag aaral susme di yata kakayanin ng nanay. Pero alam ko po mamanage nyo po yan yun lang talagang pagod ka after 😭.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

adjustment stage,ang hirap sis.. buti na lng mabait ung anak qng babae na daycare, c baby lng tlga ang tlagang hinahandle

$ 0.00
3 years ago