Breastfeeding Infection

23 37
Avatar for z_graeden
2 years ago

I woke at 12 am with the whines of my little one that disturbed the night. As he is growing he seems to have a sleep pattern. He wakes at 12 am whatever the time I tucked him to bed. Then, wakes every two hours after midnight. I am cosleeping him, as usual. Together with my toddler we sleep at the bed with me in between them. I place the baby a little farther from me and two hotdog pillows to nestle him. And sometimes I still put a pillow in between us when I am too tired and can't notice how I sleep and might roll over him.

I face the baby to feed him but before that I fixed the pillows first but to my surprise my right breast is painful. It restrains me to move because the pain radiates to my scapula to my neck. It feels so heavy and it gives me headache. I feel cold at the same time with fever, it is the flu-like symptom.

I managed to move and fixed my baby to nurse. I need to offer him the affected breast to release some of the pressure because it's so hard as a stone. Feeding my baby with the affected breast aggravated the pain. I had to tolerate it because it's the only way to feel better.

'tis already the third time.


Was it supposed to be an enjoyable journey? Yes, the breastfeeding journey? It is, but somehow there are moms especially new moms whose breasts are prone to infections. It's because they are not yet knowledgeable on the proper breastfeeding position. There are those who went through classes about what to expect on postpartum and one of them is proper breastfeeding technique. However, it is still different when it comes to actual.

When I had my eldest, I have suffered and endured much from sore and cracked nipples until the baby was two months old. I even got too anxious whenever he whined because it means I have to feed him again. With that I have to tolerate the teeth-grinding pain which made me cry while breastfeeding.

Due to sore and cracked nipples, it caused me mastitis. We went for a check-up because I am having flu-like symptoms. The pediatrician prescribed antibiotics because obviously it was infected.

And now again with my fourth baby, it is the third time already I felt this.

What is mastitis? It is a condition wherein the breast tissues become infected. The affected part becomes swollen, red, hot and painful with flu-like symptoms, headache and fatigue. A palpable hard lump can be felt.

Mastitis in Breastfeeding moms develop two to six weeks postpartum wherein breastmilk is high in production and the small baby can't consume it all. Bacteria grow in the stagnant milk.

Moms who have cracked nipples are at high risk of getting breast Infection because the cracks serve as a portal of entry for bacteria.

Clogged milk duct can also cause infection. So if possible feed baby when he demands starting at the affected breast to ensure that milk keeps flowing from it. Some babies sleep longer than two hours so wake him up and nurse.

Other than feeding the baby, mastitis can be prevented by using the proper nursing bra. Don't use tight fitting ones as it may cause the milk to be stagnant and can't flow freely.

Never pull breast when unlatching but insert a finger on baby's mouth to loosen his grip from the breast. Make sure to observe tummy-to-tummy technique when nursing and baby's mouth is fully open covering the areola but not on the nipple only.

When having mastitis, apply warm compresses to the affected breast. And because a mother feels really unwell, sufficient rest is needed. Take paracetamol for flu-like symptoms. Change brassiere or nursing pads when wet because it will become a breeding zone for bacteria.

Mastitis can occur repetitively just like what I have been experiencing. The baby is growing and he needs more milk but I have less milk production. My baby is becoming stronger in latching and my breasts crack when he fully emptied it but still he's not yet full and still latching.

Mastitis improves on it's own after a few days when the above mentioned are observed. However, if left untreated it may lead to breast abscess, a mastitis complication.

As for me who had experienced this one on my eldest child, it's worse than mastitis. So when a mastitis doesn't improve in a few days, consult a physician because antibiotics is needed.

Breast abscess is a pus filled lump under the skin by;which needs to be surgically drained. Fortunately, when the physician saw my condition before she advised me to sterilize a needle with hot water and prick it. The lump was still small that's why after draining it twice, applying hot compresses to it and with the help of antibiotics it got well.

Lucky are those who haven't experienced such conditions because when you are in the situation, you will be thinking of giving up breastfeeding and opt for formula feeding. A husband's or any family member full support is mostly needed in times like this because it is so hard to move. A mother who is experiencing this can't even enjoy cuddling her baby because of the flu-like symptoms accompanied with bady pain and headache.

Author's note

Breastfeeding is a journey where mother and baby's bond becomes stronger. It should not be stopped when a mother develops mastitis because breastmilk is still the best for babies. The infection, however is not passed from mother to child that's why it should not be stopped.

For first time moms who isn't experienced in nursing, consult a breastfeeding professional, midwife or other mothers on the proper breastfeeding position. Don't think of quitting breastfeeding because after the condition improves you will enjoy breastfeeding.

Nevertheless, breastfeeding or formula feeding know that you are a great mom.

11-22-21

z_Graeden

11
$ 17.43
$ 16.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
+ 11
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
2 years ago

Comments

Breastfed din ako, sis up to 1.3 yrs old anak ko. Ang prob ko lang nun nung mag ipin na sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Moral lesson, wag mag-anak. Chaaar. Haha. I can't imagine myself being a mom pa talaga madam ay. I don't think I'll be ready with those stuff 😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good advices about breastfeeding. I didn't have problem like that but one of my friends had and unfortunately she gave up. It was very painful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really is very painful especially when mastitis is caused by cracked and sore nipples due to improper position and latching of baby..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na experience ko rin to sa eldest ko,yong parang may bola ng pingpong sa loob na matigas ,natakot ako non,at umiiyak kasi akala ko eh may cancer na ako,yon pala gatas yon na tumigas,pero mawala din naman,.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nkakatakot ksi wla png knowledge sa mga ganito at first tym pa. Mabuti at d mo naexperience ang cracked at sore nipples ksi mas masakit un, matagal pa magheal

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi naman,pero sobrang nagpanic ako noon at akala ko namatay na ako,at sinabayan pa ng post partum .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My wife had no problem while breastfeeding the baby. If I understood correctly, you managed to continue, great 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's hard but had to continue because of the benefits of breastmilk to the baby

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My daughter is starting to bite my nipples na. Humihiyaw ako sa sakit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagti-teething na ata c baby mo sis.. don't try to pull ksi lalong magkakasugat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i know a lot of mothers who had mastitis sis and it stopped them from breastfeeding their babies... i am glad you pursued...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super sakit ksi xa lalo na when it is caused by cracked nipples.. I suffer a lot from it every time I had a baby and I know it will soon pass. Pro with my baby now, pangatlong beses na, hopefully last na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

akit ksi xa lalo na when it is caused by cracked nipples.. I suffer a lot from it every time I had a baby and I know it will soon pass. Pro with my baby now, pangatlong bese

it's not a good experience talaga .. i had milk bleb before sis and super sakit.. i pricked it with a sterilized needle din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy grabe ang sakit nmn nyan sis, di ko ma imagine. Kapatid ko sinasabi masakit daw minsan lalo na pag nakagat pero thank God hindi nmn nag ka infection.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo sis Masakit magpadede lalo na sa mga first time moms pro as time goes by and with proper position and baby latch d xa magkakasugat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Goodness, pag nay mens nga tapos masakit minsan ang dede diko na na matake lalo na ata pag magpadede ka. Makiliti un diba my goodness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jiji sa makiliti, d nman prang wla lng pro pag first time tlaga magiging sore xa lalo na pag improper latch at position c baby

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember during the first few weeks ng breastfeeding ko, masakit magkaclogged duct parang nagwork out na boobies after mawala yung paninigas, pero masakit pa dn

Go padedemoms!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hot compress lng momsh tsaka ibibigay p din pra d magkamastitis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo hot compress and unli dede pa din. Hindi ko naimagine noon na ganun sya kasakit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naremember ko nung nag bebreastfeed pa si mama..nagka ganyan dn sya..matigas yung breast nya dhl sa stagnant milk.. Ang sakit daw yun...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walang kasing sakit, lalo na oag may sugat ang nipples

$ 0.00
2 years ago