Certified Kdramaholic

20 25
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Kdrama is life

What were your favorite hobbies of all time? Me, watching korean dramas is on top of my lists. Let me share why and how I become a korean drama addict.

When it started?

I am an avid fan of korean dramas. Watching it can somehow take away all of my stress. I started watching it since I was in college. I remember during that time there isn’t any free streaming site where you can watched the full episodes, therefore I have to wait for it’s scheduled time on our local tv network, by the way most of it were dubbed into our local dialect as well.

During that time, a lot of korean dramas series have been dubbed into our local dialect since there were two major channels where you can watched it. “Lovers in Paris” was very popular that time that I remember a local song they used as theme song for that series, and that song used to be my ringback tone when it was a thing way back. Ah memories. But to be honest, I wasn’t able to finish that series, maybe because I was a busy student and been working at the same time.

I guess the only korean drama that I was able to finish that time was “Full House” where the main lead were Song Hye Kyo and Rain. It was a romantic comedy and I really enjoyed watching that series. I stopped watching it for a while since I got really busy with my studies and then after I graduated I was busy looking for a job.

In 2014, when we move out from my in laws house I was hooked again in watching korean series. This time I found some free streaming site on the net where I can fully watched the whole series without waiting for the next episode. I remembered it was because of “My love from the Star” series began in our local network. I was so hooked that I can’t wait for the next episode on our tv. Luckily, “dramafire” and “dramacool” were there to the rescue. I was very happy that time because a lot of series were included on that site. Because of that, I remember sleeping very late just to finish each episodes.

What I like most about it?

What I really like about korean dramas is that the episodes doesn’t take long so the series ended in two to three months unlike in our local dramas that it takes years before the series ends. It’s quite annoying that’s why I stopped watching it for my peace of mind. I am not against our local dramas, but most of the stories are quite predictable.

The actors, from lead stars to supporting cast were very good in acting too. Aside from that, they have unique storyline, the twists in the end will surely surprised you. They have this formula in every story that will keep you hook and can’t stop watching after every series. I really don’t know what it is, but once you’re into it, there is probably no way out.

Aside from superb portrayal of every actors, the cinematography of every drama is also lit. It was like you are watching a movie not a tv series. It was far different from what we have in the country. Every series is very informative too, most specially if you’ve watched hospital dramas. “Hospital Playlist” is one of my fave because the story is so good. No antagonist in the series and I keep laughing, well I end up crying in some episodes too. This reminds me that I need to begin watching the season 2 of this series.

Their original soundtrack is also very nice. One of the reason why I am hooked at it because I love listening to music. You could tell that I like a little bit of kpop too that’s why even though I can’t understand the lyrics in every song, I am still liking it.

Lastly I love their food. Oh well there isn’t drama that doesn’t include eating. No matter what the drama genre is, eating is a must. And yes I always crave for their food like every time.

Favorite Genre

When I was starting watching Korean dramas, I am into romantic comedies. Probably because I am a hopeless romantic person as well that’s why I like watching this genre. Oh well, there’s a lot of handsome oppa in every drama plus even at my age I can’t stop feeling “kilig” (romantic excitement) whenever I am watching them. Plus I like it when the main lead got jealous and possessive over their girl.

Later on, I was hooked on police, crime and mystery dramas. “Signal” and “Tunnel” are another series that is remarkable and a must watch. I am sure if you are not into romantic genre you’ll surely love this kind of series. I’ve also watched zombie series that I never thought I would even watch. Since I am not into scary and bloody movie, korean series definitely changed me. Now I am waiting for the season 3 of “Kingdom” if there is one and season 2 of “Sweet Home” and “Squid Game”.

Ending Thoughts

We all have different hobby in our life. But keep in mind that too much is bad. I remember being in the emergency room in 2020 because I suddenly felt dizzy and I can’t stop vomiting. Turns out I got vertigo maybe because of watching too much dramas that time, and staying very late at night just to catch up with the new episodes of my favorite ongoing series. From then on, I manage to reduce my time in watching every drama. When I was inactive here for few days, I spent most of it rewatching my fave dramas while taking care of my kids. It was actually fun rewatching some of it but of course I didn’t watched that much because I am afraid my vertigo would strike again.

That would be all for now. I wish you all a good day and thanks for dropping by.

Lead Image source

10
$ 2.18
$ 2.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @jasglaybam
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 3
Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Kdrama is life

Comments

You remind me of my mom. She's really into kdrama that she started speaking in Korean haha kdrama has been a part of our lives since then, I can still remember the kdrams you've mentioned. I just didn't know that it will really have a big role in our lives now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to love kdrama.. But due to busy sched, I have no time to watch one

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's ok dear maybe you can watch it next time when you're no longer busy:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagsimula ako talaga manuod nung napanuod ko yung Crash Landing on You at yung kingdom hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganda ng kingdom sis no?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobra sis grabe yung cinematogrpahy works nila. Ang galing ng mga actors and directors! Nakanuod ko na rin yung Ashin hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cannot remember yung last Kdrama na napanood ko pero I do love Kdramas. Unique at cute ang mga stories nila. Di na need ng kalaswaan para kiligan ka :) at mainlove.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too. It's like they're my therapy and literally they raise my standards when it comes to love 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss watching kdramas. Soon, pag okay na kuryente at signal dito, movie marathon ulit hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love Kdrama sis. Starting when I was in elementary. I remember the first kdrama I've addicted is "Boys Over Flowers". I'm super fan of Lee Min Hoo. Yes sis mostly the stories are interesting. It's really unique.

I watched already the "My Love from the Star" sis. I love Jeon Ji Hyun. She is really a good actress. I love her Kdramas too. Now I'm waiting the next season of Kingdom sis. I love it a lot too. Yes sis the OST's is so much addicted too. I love listen the OSTs with their series.🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yung Boys Over Flower kasi korean version ng Meteor Garden, eh mejo loyal ako kay dao min su at shancai kaya di ko masyado napanuod yan. Pero love ko yan si Lee Minho pogi pogi eh, kainis sarap kurutin sa pisngi😁

Iba talaga ang kdrama sis ano, once na addict ka na tuloy tuloy na😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis Korean version ng Meteor Garden. Naadik ako sobra. Hehe oo sis sarap kurutin. Ang gwapo kasi.😁

Oo sis. Basta maadik na ako ang tagal ko matulog.😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lalaki ako peru diko alam bat napaka addic ko rin in kdrama talaga, yan ang rason kung bakit namayat ako nuon kasi tinatapos ko talaga yung buong episodes lahat. Walang tulogan na hahaha

Lalo na yung My Girlfriend is not a Robot?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha! Bihira ako makaencounter ng lalaki na mahilig din sa kdrama. Nice to meet you sir:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha kaya nga nagdududa na ako sa sarili ko kung 100% lalaki bah talaga ako hahahaha

Nice to meet you too maam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same with you sis I like watching kdrama before. but now I have change of taste in terms of series. I am now inlove with Turkish series. hahaha

but the kdrama that I love the most is City hunter, webtoon ,Legend is the blue sea and healer..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maganda ba talaga ang Turkish series? I am reading a lot na mejo na hohook jan.

Naku love ko din lahat ng nabanggit mo sis:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis maganda.. tingnan mo sa turkish123 yung Erkenci Kus subra nakakakilig

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay talaga sis icheck ko yan hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go sis. promise di ka magsisisi ahaha joke.. it's up to you pa rin sissy hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago