Record player

12 73
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

If a dream isn't bad you better stay in bed. At least I am allowed to get out 30 minutes later. Not that it really matters if you wake up before the alarm clock. Every evening I need to rewind mine. Not too far because if I do it will get broke. I need to reset it too. For some reason, my clock is never on time.

I dreamed I received a letter. It was a letter from someone I thought he was a friend but we lost contact after he moved. I wondered why he wrote me. It was a long letter. Not very realistic because the only person writing long letters is me. I easily write 10-14 pages, large pages but my granny makes a good pen pal. The others not as much. I wonder why people ask for a pen pal if they are too lazy to write or never in the mood to write. I write long letters, take the time to write, and after waiting for a long time I receive a few lines back. It's disappointing but the one in my dream was longer plus there were free tickets included. First I thought one just for me but there were five. Why five?
The tickets we're for Disneyland. I don't really like attraction parks and being surrounded by many people but I thought it was kind. Still, in bed, I thought about those five tickets. Why five? I didn't like to see a friend and take the family with me and I don't have friends to ask to come with me.
I would like to think about it longer but I had to go out. Time to make the beds, polish shoes, and set the table for breakfast. Only two more days and the Autumn holiday starts.

We didn't do much at school. I had to help clean the classroom and the teacher gave us our report. I left it on the kitchen table because my parents weren't home. My mother was visiting her clients and in the evening they came to us. I had to stay in my room.
My dad told me next week people will visit us to apply for the job as a housekeeper. Next week we both have an Autumn holiday.

Thursday
October 15, 2020


At school, it was more cleaning up. The Autumn table is gone. There's no need to leave it. If we all come back to school it's time to prepare for winter. December 5th we celebrate St. Nicholas and the Saint will arrive three weeks earlier. I can watch him on tv. He always arrives on a Saturday. This year it is on November 15. Only three more weeks to go. It doesn't matter if my mother is angry I can always put my shoe and the Saint never said I was a bad child. He visits school too and some children are called to sit on their lap. No matter good or bad Piet always gives kruidnoten and candies. Naughty isn't bad?

I don't like the holiday because I need to stay at home. Whole days home with my mother isn't easy. Each holiday she wants to clean the house extra. Extra means all closets are emptied and so is the ceiling. Everything stored in boxes I have to take out and it needs to be cleaned too. I wonder why she has so many boxes hidden. She never uses what is inside. Her toys are not in it. They are at my granny's house on the ceiling. Most of it is not packed in a box. It's just there. I like to look at what the toys looked like long ago.

Friday
October 16, 2020

Dad told me to come along with me. He asked me what I liked to buy for the money granddad gave me for my birthday. I asked for a record player. I like to have one and could chOn oose which one. My dad showed me two. I pointed at the red one. Dual is written on it. He gave me two records with children's songs and I asked if I could buy those balls too. I took my pocket money with me. My dad carried the box and after that, we had a look at the bookshop. I don't know which books he likes and I always go to books for children. I need to save longer to buy a pocketbook. In some weeks I can or perhaps I can ask the Saint for a book. I like reading it makes me forget where I am.

Next, we went to the gas station and the carwash. I could stay in the car with my record player, the records, and my balls. Grandpa didn't forget me and I won't forget him no matter if no one talks about him. I thought my dad liked him but I am not sure. My grandpa gave dad a home and job before we moved away. He always gave money too if my mother was angry. Now no one does. I don't think we are poor because my mother has a job, and if she can pay a housekeeper we can't be poor or? But she always yells we should not waste her money and my parents fight about it. My dad told her she had to buy me a coat instead of all those clothes for herself. She shouted he had to shut up because it is her money and she decides how to spend it. I heard her yelling and screaming. I don't like it and am sure the neighbors can hear it too.

Dad helped me with my record player. It looks so nice. Thank you, grandpa. I listened to both records. Later I will buy more records if I have the money. Later, after I saved for a book. I am not sure if I can use the record player every day because my mother doesn't like it. I am not allowed to make any noise if my dad is in the room next door or if my mother is at work there. She has an old record player but never uses it. We have an old radio too but it never plays either. The only sound in our house is made by my mother. My mother shouts, scolds, curses, repeats always the same words and sometimes she sings out of tune.

Saturday
October 17, 2020


A boring day, a painful day. I tried to stay in my room as much as possible. I played my records with hardly any sound but it still made my mother angry. I don't dare to lay on my bed if it's made because it makes my mother angry. I don't have a chair to sit on just a little stool. It's green and my grandpa gave it too. The fishbowl is on it. The fish should stop growing. My mother said if it keeps growing it should go. She bought two bigger bowls and said it's not a goldfish. I don't know what she will do with it. It's a very big fish and I don't think it will stop growing. Neither does Soot. Soot is getting bigger and bigger too. My mother thought it would stay small but he is bigger than Monthy.

Sunday
October 18, 2020



A kid's diary

The wallet

Uncle G.

My father...

Persian rugs

#kittywu #diary #childhood

11
$ 4.40
$ 4.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

Amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one

$ 0.00
User's avatar Win
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice storyπŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Non-fiction? It's free writing right?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a kid's diary and I think the tags used say the rest.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really admire how you can come with those ideas. I mean, i can't make freewriting πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just puck a word, sentence or a headline in the newspaper and write what pops up in your mind. For sure you can do that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I'll try it sometime πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tag me, please!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would love to do that, Ma'am Kitty! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago