The wallet

2 35
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

I was outside. The sun shines and I had to do some shopping. My mother said I could walk to the new shop. We usually don't do our shopping over there but in the village. This shop is too expensive. It is the only one in the area where we live. They still build houses but it does look more like a residential area now as on the day we arrived. At that time there was no school, no gym, no kindergarten, and no shops. I think we live where the cows once were. It was grass here, grass or water. There's a lot of water around here but I cannot swim yet. I don't like water and am afraid of it. I won't drown because I stay away from it unless my dad is with me and we go fishing or search for baby frogs. Those little black babies are so cute.
The shop is somewhere behind the gym. I need to follow the path around the gym and somewhere it was on the left. It is not as big as the white supermarket dad and I go to. My mother wrote down what I should buy and I had to repeat it a billion times. She keeps doing that. Make me repeat everything she says to me. I wonder why. I am not a parrot and I hate to hear her voice saying the same sentences over and over again. She always says the same and ends with "repeat what I said". It won't make me remember it better just give me a headache and forget. I can read even read her strange handwriting. She gave me the household wallet. The wallet is always in the kitchen drawer and she puts money in it daily. Always the same amount. It's a brown paper with a fat guy with long hair and a mustache. I wonder why only ugly men are printed on money. The Queen is on each coin. She looks better.

You need to take a shopping cart if you enter the shop. I can do that they aren't big. I walk slowly and push the cart to look for the things my mother asked for. It's something special to eat for her only. She hopes it helps for her intestinesbut I don't think so. She doesn't really care and eats kilos of cookies, pie and chocolates each day and after that she puts her finger in her throat. I know which crispy bread she means. It looks and smells terrible. Perhaps she believes that's why they are good? They are very expensive but I don't need to eat them which is good.

Between the bread someone put a wallet. It was way bigger than our household wallet and there is a lot of money ionit. Why do people leave a wallet behind at the bread? I looked around me but there was no one in the lane where I was. What to do? I took it and went to the front of the shop. I had what I needed.
"Ma'am I found a wallet", I said to the cashier. A lady in front of me turned around grabbed the wallet out of my hands and said " it's mine!"
Was it? No one said anything, no thank you, and it was fine with the cashier.

I found my way home and didn't get lost either lost the wallet. I put it back in the drawer and the shopping in the cupboard. We have enough food, too much food, no one will eat this all. My mother is vacuuming the living room. Perhaps if she is finished in time I am allowed to watch television for an hour. Children's programs are only broadcasted Wednesday- and Saturday afternoon and at 6 p.m. I wait in my room until the vacuum cleaner stops. I better not make her angry.


Wednesday
October 14, 2020


A kid's diary

Uncle G.

My father...

Persian rugs

#kittywu #diary #childhood #wallet

5
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

Awesomely written

$ 0.00
3 years ago