A short post...

I wonder what the benefit of it is? If you use them for what exactly? Is it your good morning and goodnight note, do you use it to announce something or just share your good or bad mood with it?

Did it benefit you in some way more than writing an article for example where a photo for at least the header is a must? To me a problem since with a slow connection it's impossible.

Do you have more interaction/fewer spam comments if you write a short post, short can be long too?

P.s. If you wonder: the communities I help moderate have rules and accept articles or. No short posts.

8
$ 0.05
User's avatar
@wakeupkitty posted 3 years ago

Comments

I don't use this function, you can give people announcements at the end of your last article or in the comments when people ask for details.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I basically use them for the announcement for my communities and some contest also ask to be mention in a short post. I guess it is for announcement and promoting for me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So you do not use it to chat with other users and more for announcing what isn't worth writing an article about.

You have the experience fewer spammers show up at the short posts?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't use it for a chat like saying good morning or good night or telling what I am currently doing.

I am not sure. I rarely use the short post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think short posts that recommends an article to their subscribers to read or to announce something is acceptable but not good morning or good night messages or sorry for not having the time to comment or reply to comment, et cetera. I think I have unsubscribed to a number of those once they post too many of it. But one can also argue, why not write an article to announce such things. A good point. At the same time, maybe you just want to get straight to the point and therefore a short post?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As I understand from some commenters it's more like a chat to them which might explain the good morning/goodnight although I see that in articles too. A part of the users always starts the same which isn't attractive to me to read. It sounds to me the spammers are not interested as much in short notes as in articles.

To me it could be useful because you can post without a adding a photo plus you can add it to communities as well.

Adding notes to communities is something @Heartbeat1515 and I decided not to do because they are basically just a few lines about "nothing", not even the subject of the community.

You use notes yourself?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm.. chatting on the platform feels kind of odd. They might as well chat using Telegram or Discord or Whatsapp or something. I unsubscribed those who starts off their posts that way too. Sounds pretentious and fake, in my opinion.

I only used the short post function once for the poetry contest which was supposedly a requirement to join.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In some way it is but since there is no chat option. Not everybody likes to give his telegram or discord or whatever. I deleted my discord. I don't need it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes I used it for endorsement of my articles or other articles that are good to read. Sometimes if I want to chat with another user I post short, I didn't receive spam comments from my short post. It's as is we are casually chatting from another certain topic that does not base on the article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay, so you use it basically to chat and spammers are not that interested in short notes. That is a good thing to know.

Do you use a community for your notes?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, they don't have an interest in spam short notes.

Sometimes if it is about promoting articles or spreading out some information I use community but if I just casually want to chat I don't use community. Short notes sometimes connect you more with your followers, that is my observations some does not leave comments on my articles but they leave some to my short post 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If that is the case it can be interesting to use short notes instead.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, sometimes especially if your short post somewhat inviting other users to engage, still it depends on the topic you write on the short post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For me, I guess I use the short posts as a bit of a diary. It's good for me to use when I have something I want to get off my mind that I don't think is long enough to merit an article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for answering. Does this meanyoir short note is a sentence or two or just not 200+ words?

How a out spam, plagiarism? Is it fewer in notes? Do you use a community for your notes?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Usually they just aren't 200+ words. From what I've seen there can be a lot of spam which does annoy me but I suppose on the basis of spam sometimes just being something pointless or unwanted some of my posts may be considered as such to others as well. I haven't noticed much plagiarism but maybe I just haven't come across it yet. I mostly use freewriting for short notes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's clear. A short post can be like a long post and I can also make a very long comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed but I wonder if it benefits in some way. I need to struggle with uploading photos, fewer spam, more interaction perhaps?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There is still much to learn here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I used short post to connect with my subscribers without posting it to Communities. I used it also to create a reminder and refer to an article I felt need revisiting. You can use it to express your feelings, this can be long or short, just write it without thinking about any technicality involved in writing article. I also use it to pass along important information that I don't need to write an article about.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's clear. What about the spammers, plagiarism, comments? Are they free from spam, more valuable?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I use short post for announcements and for short piece I don't think is worth being an article.

Short post has its benefits. I don't need images - no lead image. And you can just post your thought no matter how small the content is.

How would you feel reading an article with. With less that hundred words and no image?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The answer I just wrote to you is hone. ☹

A long post doesn't necessary means it is good.

A photography article, poetry and short stories for example can be great with fewer words. I joined a group writers who wrote stories in fewer than 240 characters (!) Indeed characters. You need to be creative to manage that.

The photo in the header hardly adds something if long titles are written through it. Uploading a photo takes me about 2 hours and if I write an article in most cases it's about the text not watching pictures.

Longer articles are rarely good here. Frequently I read 3-5 times exactly the same. Do articles like that benefit?

How about the spam and plagiarism if it comes to notes?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your opinion is noted.

I want to make sense of this: is this an attempt to understand or are you picking holes in the short post feature?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I try to understand the benefits of short notes. If they have as much readers and better, more valuable comments my question is: Why should I go to the trouble of trying to upload photos for hours if I can share here too without spammers?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We also earn from short post. But they have less engagement compared to a post.

You can't find a short post on the homepage, you can't boost it. Also the number of views on short post are not recorded.

If I must, I think articles bring in more value and exposure.

Between. There was a day I checked my point before posting a short post. After that I clicked on the drop down menu to visit "my articles" page, then I noticed it has increased by 20+ points. And I thought to myself, could it be from just posting this. I also noticed something similar. So I tried to confirm my observation. That was 2 to 3 days ago. I made about three - my highest in a day. But didn't notice the increase in point.

I don't see a way of confirming if comments and likes from short post are of same value as that from an article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Which community you have? I dont ussually make short Post, i only make one for announcement. But yes short post can be long too, i just found out😅. And its a bit better than writing the article that needs lead images which i myself feels annoyed when our connection is slow. Thats why i keep on delaying posting my article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooh you have lots of community in here. I am amazed. I may try joining some of this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A part I started because it is of my interest. As I joined read.cash they stopped with the topics and the communities should take in this place. I needed communities to post what I write about. If no one else posts in it I do not care. A part of the communities is started by @Heartbeat1515 she started them too because the topics are of her interest. Keep in mind these communities have rules if it comes to the amount of words, grammar, plagiarism.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for including my communities on your list.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I struggle with that lead image too. Writing is not the problem but adding a photo is. At times it takes me two hours trying. I wrote read.cash if it's possible to add it automatically. Those who don't like it can change the photo. In most cases the photo is pointless if people use a longer title. You can not see it anyway. I am the admin of some communities and help moderating others. A part is what I mainly write for too. I just cleaned up my list of communities I join. I will post my 30 here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We had the same problem then.

$ 0.00
3 years ago