Piet Pelle

30 71
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

If you are Dutch you know what a "Gazelle" is.

It's one of the brands of bikes sold. Strangely enough, the first bike brand which pops up if you ask me is "Batavus". The reason I think of Batavus is a commercial I saw on television. A guy made a test drive on a bike (yes, this is common and allowed). You watch him drive over a hilly landscape, through dirt and mud and if he finally arrives at the bike shop he says " It's a great vehicle but don't you have a green one"?

The guy on this bike his name is Piet Pelle.

Piet was the face of the Gazelle bike. I never saw any commercial of him.

Around the statue, there are three little seats. A child fits in (a 3-year-old) but not me. The only thing left is to take some photos of the cute seats.

It is clear what this is. A cow. I love it although it isn't a black and white cow.

The red seat has a train on it. Piet or the Gazelle factory has something to do with the train?

Here it is.

The third seat stands for water. There's an ugly duck on it but it's really badly painted.

Those three seats have the color of the Dutch flag. Perhaps it's the idea?

Piet Pelle is at the corner. If I cross the road and walk straight ahead the factory is at my left hand. The employees just leave and wear the same sweatshirt. It's blue with the name "Gazelle" printed on it. I think it's lunchtime?

Some cross the road and sit in the small park together, others visit this new supermarket.

The old factory.

The new building I just showed is attached to it at the left if you stand faced to it.

I love this old building way more than the new one.

If I follow the street a bit more I am at the trainstation. The village Dieren did expand it's not a town yet. The Gazelle factory is in the center and provides people with a job. I think I would like it, making bikes I mean.

Dieren is a village close to Velp and the capital city of the province of Gelderland named: Arnhem. The river is nearby, there's a train station and buses with free Wifi. There's a very interesting attraction park made by an inventor named the "Spelerij/Uitvinderij" (playground/inventory).

You are welcome to show your travels with the community Traveling https://read.cash/c/traveling-cc04

If you use a smartphone you can share photos with the community SYT: Creative smartphone photography
https://read.cash/c/syt-creative-smartphones-photography-9cd6 too.

All photos are made by me and this is my text but it's exclusive. More users deal with this issue?

#kittywu #dieren #traveling

27
$ 0.40
$ 0.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @marblely
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

You describe it so vividly! Very good article. I'm following you.. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Does the name Piet Pelle means something? I really didn't see the duck in the 3rd seat. I didn't get where it is placed. I guess it's painted really bad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Piet is Dutch for Pete or Peter, Pelle is the family name and most likely chosen because it rhymes with "Gazelle" but who knows this family name did exist. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am just here in our house at Masbate, Philippines and its 10:13 pm here and thanks to this article I got travel to this place and learned something about Gazelle and the Piet Pelle. I am also wondering if there's a specifuc reason why its Piet.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Piet is a name just like Pete or Peter. People is the family name and I think used because it rhymes with "gazelle".

I am happy to hear you like traveling with me. 👍💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh is that so.

No worries travelling is actually my my thing. If only I have all the time and money, maybe I won't stay put into just one place.

I hope to really travel the world someday.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I keep my fingers crossed for you. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pete has quite the flappers, he should wear a helmet when going out riding on his spinach bike.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pete doesn't need a helmet. I doubt he can go fast with his bike, there are roads for bicyclists, he looks as if he is you get than 12 years old which means if he is hit by a car it's not his fault, receives a new bike and money...🤔 Perhaps he should wear a helmet he can fall into the thorns.. Or start sailing. He has the outfit plus the ears..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Photographs are looking very beautiful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear and for leaving your comment. I appreciate it. Happy Sunday. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like the weird bicycle statues. Looks like some abstract art to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is art and together - I assume - it stands for the bike factory and it's location. I love this kind of art. It has to be clear what I am looking at. Not the trash next to the highways.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I only know gazelle as the one that looks like deer :) The seats are so cute. I really like that you have all these sculptures there. I like the cow and the railway with trains. I can't see the duck though.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The duck is that small ugly thing at the top of the photo. It's not quite well on the picture but shapeless and badly painted.

The gazelle as a deer you find back as the logo of the factory on the building but each bike too.

I had a look at the bike shop. A second-hand bike is as expensive as a second hand car. 😕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish I can travel too, but as of now for us to be safe , just stay at home. All your photos are looking good, nice capture.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was good to travel and nothing from what I expected happened. No traffic jams except for aggressive truck drivers building accidents it was okay and better than expected.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is like I am walking around the town with you. It took me a while to see the cow but I cannot see the duck.

The first picture is capturing. I wonder why they took the troubles to make a difficult monument like that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I assume some artist was asked to make something. Bikes stand for good for nature (cars are not), this one is a Dutch product, I assume therefore the colors of the flag and more typical things about the Netherlands (water mainly the biggest part of the country is underneath sea level). That duck is small and white and ugly it's more like a shapeless lump. 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The bike does stand for nature and fitness. Underneath sea level? That sound scary to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What is the scaring part? Bikes are better for the environment as gasoline. The bike looks like plants to me. The Netherlands is mainly underneath sea level. We found a way to make land out of sea and protect ourselves. Living on or underneath a volcano doesn't sound smart to me and people do such things. You live with floods, no watering system takes care of that? 🤔💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Underneath sea level makes me imagine of a flood bigger than mine. That what made it sound scary to me.

We found a way to make land out of sea and protect ourselves.

This is brilliant.

Living on or underneath a volcano doesn't sound smart to me and people do such things.

I forgot about this. hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think we are saver than you. The last flood we had was around the 50's and before that as the Spanish conquered us and we set the country under water ourselves to get rid of them. 😄. Well, not me I didn't exist at that time or who knows I was Spanish.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, I believe you are safer than me. I just got flooded again yesterday.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That doesn't sound great. I hope you don't have to deal with too much damage. Can't they dig a hole where the water can flow to?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not much damage compare to before. My husband tried that. He made the house higher and add some drainage. It did not do much difference but it is more comfortable on a higher house.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You need to build it on a small hill or piles. The drainage from the roof has to go meters away from the house. You can make your own lake or pond and buy a boat.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We made it on a small pile. The drainage does not make a difference because we live near the river. We have a small pond that helps a bit. A boat will be no use because it is a flash flood. Flood a while and then subside.

$ 0.00
3 years ago