About men...

23 70

Yesterday I showed my children quickly around a place called Velp. It's in the Netherlands. Velp is where my grandpa lived and partly worked. He bought houses to renovate, owned shops and restaurants.

"Was it there when you lived here", my children liked to know. Some parts were others not but that is not the photo I will share here.

My eye catches a statue. A statue that wasn't there as I lived here, I visited my grandparents and it deserves attention. I love sculptures, my hard bleeds I never became on.

I crossed the road (I stood at the opposite of it) to photograph "the horse with the knight".

A smartphone is not the greatest camera to take pictures over long distances.

I wanted to see the happy horse but it turned out not to be a horse at all.

The horse with the man on his back, the long tail and the strange sword...

The car, what about the car? What am I looking at?

A man!

I look at a man carrying something and there are more than three of them. Men "working like horses" (Dutch expression).

These men turn out to be road workers. Those people who work on the road.

This sculpture is placed in front of the "Overtuin" which is if you ask me an apartment complex of elderly people.

The statue is made by Hans Vos and officially presented in 1998 as the "Overtuin" was opened. 

If you wonder about the strange sword... It stands for the road "Hoofdstraat" and it's curved.

I did nothing special to make this photo. It rained outside by periods and the first photo was made while I faced the sun.

Camera used: Samsung mobile phone A10

PhotoGrid: (free app) made the photos smaller and easier for me to upload. I can write my name + type of phone on it. My phone doesn't have the option to do this automatically.

#kittywu #velp #statue #HansVos

36
$ 0.39
$ 0.39 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

What does that statue symbolize?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you read what I wrote you know what the statue symbolizes. Apart from that, it is what you see in it. You can read @Eybyoung her comment for example.

Art is not only what the artists see or thoughts, what critics say it is about but what those who watch it see in it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I look at it closely. It really isn't a horse. A man carrying the knight. I wonder what does it portrayed? Got me curious.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wrote what it stands for. The title is something like "man on a horse" and what you see are men at work. Men building a road. The sword stands for the road.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It really looks like a horse if we see it in far away distance, but when we get near we will know that it was Three men. Seeing how the sculpture made, gives me a message. A message that the less fortunate people will carry the fortunate one like a horse. It gives me a message that having fortune will give you more power, Power to step or ride other people instead of riding animals. This is just the lesson I get from the picture, you can correct me if I am wrong. Thank you for sharing this one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Art is what you see in it. It can be this message or perhaps it's just dedicated to hard working road workers. People no one cares about and are hit by cars because car drivers like to speed?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is so like an art work good si that kind of statut but u really put in ur mind that how they do that ang WHT that mean but look like so nice.. Yeah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for paying attention to it. I appreciate it. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your photography is so beautiful. Thanks dear for your photography which you share with us. I hope I can also capture this type of beautiful photography.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not difficult if you find a sculpture or some you can look at with different eyes. Like the Brussels sprout for example. Trees can be interesting too or look for faces in nature, etc. 🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes I try to capture many green leaves. Thanks for your advice. I will try this way for capturing pictures. 💞

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing statues and nice click.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I wish the statue was mine. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Was the statue meant to be an optical illusion of some sorts?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I assume that was the idea because the name of the statue is something like "man on a horse". From a distance, it is exactly what it looks like. A happy horse with a long tail...just the sword makes you wonder.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a cool statue though. Very fascinating for the time it was built

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my opinion those statue symbolizes that roadworkers are working hard to make a best outcome for everyone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah I can see that it is men that make up the horse. Nice pic, nice stuff.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It looks like a horse from afar but if you go near the statue, you can see the real details and it is a man. I just can't distinguish if the other two are also man. I guess it works like optical illusion

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did nothing special to make this photo.

You actually did a few things without realizing. You gave us a differentiation of photography while facing the sun and turning your back against the sun. You focus on some part of the item you are taking a photo of to give a clearer view of those who look at the photo.

The first thing I noticed is the car. I wonder Why is it there until I read your whole article. A road build on men power and a way to give them gratitude. Nice meaningful sculpture.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The car was the first thing I noticed too once I came closer. Not as I was still at the opposite of the road, standing at the square. While standing there it was the dancing horse I saw...a breed we call "Friese horse". Working horses great for carriages too. So strong and beautiful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have seen a horse before but I never did see one up close. I always have the dream to ride a horse. Maybe someday.

$ 0.00
3 years ago