Hedgehog

26 32

I always liked hedgehogs although they are surrounded by fleas, lice and thicks. If the hedgehog dies you see them literally jump off it. I saw it a few times as I drove them so the vet. Most hedgehogs I see are already dead or who knows in a shock. My wolves catch them. Once I saw one eating it too. It takes some patience and you need to be careful to peel it out of it's skin but it managed to do so although it took some days. I guess a half rotten hedgehog is easier or who knows more tasty?

The one found in a bucket of water is still alive.
The youngest heard some scratching and had a closer look what caused it. It must have been there for several hours since the hedgehog prefers the night and early mornings. The baby was shoveled out and laying in the sun. It has to take care of itself, grow and get fat before the winter starts. The curiosity of this one nearly killed it.



I took my phone and went outside to make some photos. Like said I always wanted a hedgehog, a tenrec but this one is fine too and not as expensive. Making photos isn't that easy though. I held the phone on the ground and gave it a try. The camera holding close. It was good enough to give the baby the next shock of it's life.
My phone seems to have a huge problem with switching the macro option on which means other options are suddenly on like video, selfie, etc and the only way to shut it down is by shutting down the camera.


Nevertheless I do have some photos of the cute, little, shivering for cold animal.
It's more muddy on the photo as I could see with my own eyes.


One hour later my kid checked if it was still there. It was. Inside is no option because it will take longer for it to dry and warm up (both good if you are in a shock). Thirty minutes later the little one was gone. I guess mother Nature gives it a shelter now or it went back to it's den. Who knows we meet again.

Device: Samsung A10
Tried the macro button/option a few times but doubt if it made any difference.

If you like smartphone photography, want to give it a try, you can join the contest. See: https://read.cash/@wakeupkitty/smartphone-photography-contest-entries-bc425a87

Three entries are allowed. Good luck to you.



#kittywu #smartphonephotography #hedgehog

10
$ 0.21
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @heartbeat1515

Comments

I never saw a hedgehog with my own eyes before. This one looks cute but muddy, is it still alive?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll never know how people can be so fascinated with aliens if we have weird creatures like hedgehogs walking our planet.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No aliens here I have to do with this one. I intended to keep it but at the 3rd time I checked it hit the road. I assume it's still alive. Let's hope it is fat before the winter starts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There'll surely be another chance for you to rescue and keep a rabies-infected spiked mouse.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I never saw hedgehog for real, does hedgehog can be eaten??

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We have many around here. If you ask me everything can be eaten the question is if it is tasty or worth the trouble. There won't be much meat on it but neither has the genuine pig. For some reason, my wolves like to hunt for it but it can be it's just because they wiggle if they walk and it's interesting to see them change in a ball if you get too close.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm yeah agree with you that everything can be eaten but don't know if it's tasty. It's interesting to witness how hedgehog change quickly when they sense that there are predators coming, maybe predators will be having a hard time to swallow them because of that sharp things.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tasty is most likely what we are used to eating plus how we prepare it.

I think after the animal is killed the flesh is ripped off and the skin is left over. That was what I found outside. At least if it comes to this animal. I assume birds of prey eat it the same way if it's killed by cars. Only chickens and other birds are eaten with feathers by wolves. I guess it's good for their digestion?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh, it tastes like a pig/ pork meat? well for small prey they will eat the dead meat of it because they can't attack it when it changes.

Wow, you have a wolves? I mean that howling wolves?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We have many around here. If you ask me everything can be eaten the question is if it is tasty or worth the trouble. There won't be much meat on it but neither has the genuine pig. For some reason, my wolves like to hunt for it but it can be it's just because they wiggle if they walk and it's interesting to see them change in a ball if you get too close.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Will you please stop spamming! Engage for a change. Engaging means reading and leaving a good comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That girl is really annoying, she keeps on doing that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I never seen a hedgehog in person. But I always see it on pictures and they seem very cute to me. Is it a common animal in your place?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it is quiet common where I live. It is easy to get them in your garden if they have some places where they can hide. I live on the country but you see them in gardens in cities as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That hedgehog looks bigger than the ones sold as pets- poor hedgehog though but seems like it will be fine when it gets home to its den

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not big, about as tall as my fist. I think it's about the size of a tenrec the sold ones but this one will grow. About 2-4 times it's size if it hets older. Many end up dead. Cars is one of the reasons.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didn't need to know how they'll end up dead there 😭😭😭 too cute to die ahh but they seem to grow big too. The store bought ones don't really get that big

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess it's what happens if humans take over the place. They have such a cute nose and little paws. It kept it's eyes close. I studied it from about 10 centimeter distance.

Indeed stores sell a different species. I guess that's why they are that expensive. We only have the one's looking like this one. Able to hide in and close to mother Earth.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True but i thought there would be driving regulations at least for them. Ahh lucky you to get that close to a wild hedgehog ;-; i should move there. You've seen ferrets and owls and hedgehogs and I'm jealous ;-; i don't see those here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awww.. the poor cold hedgehog. Hope you will get to see it again. I have seen slightly bigger than palm size hedgehogs sold as pets but I think they are illegal because they are considered exotic animals.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It depends on where you live if an animal is exotic but basically most animals are if you go back into history. This includes cattle, dogs and cats, rabbits, etc. This one isn't big yet. I held my phone right in front of it. Since it ran off I assume it felt a bit better and was dry. If not we would have put it in a cage overnight with some food and water (to drink not to drown).

With us you can buy the smaller ones too but they are extremely expensive, a few hundreds of dollars.

$ 0.00
3 years ago