"The Bitcoin Wars" - downloadable ebook version

13 528
Avatar for unitedstatian
4 years ago

Thanks for your warm reception of my attempt to "bookify" the story of Bitcoin, and the generous tips (thanks @Ellie!). As you know it's a "beta" and I put the project on freeze when I realized it won't have large enough audience to justify the work left to be done. It proved to be quite a challenge to fulfill all the criteria of a readable book to someone outside of the BCH crowd - it has to be both technically accurate (I couldn't find almost anyone who was willing to provide some peer-reviewing) while telling a journalistic story interesting enough to the general audience.

If someone wants to read it with the original formatting you can get the Mobi and Epub versions:

https://gofile.io/?c=emhzwD

Edit: or in html version

If you want to take it on from here and release it, feel free. If Netflix adapts it to a series I want a cut, otherwise just keep the credits (and don't forget to correct the grammar and style...). :-)

Happy new year! This is such a warm community in a cold crypto winter...

5
$ 409.80
$ 392.05 from @Read.Cash
$ 10.00 from @BCHakaBitcoin
$ 5.00 from @Roger_Murdock
+ 5

Comments

Great information about this article my Dear friend

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This was Interesting! Even I'm too late to read this, I still like the Story..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

By the way, Thank youfor theTip to my last Article, Can you check my Newest article dude? 😅✌

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for taking time to compile and create the book, I don't know much about the subject but I'm curious about its history and I want to better understand this particular blockchain.

By the way I must say that I downloaded the book and I find that the images are not displayed, it seems that they used a relative address in the html code and it does not load because it cannot locate in my machine the images to which the code refers, it would be good Fix that to improve the book.

On the other hand, my native language is Spanish and (although I can still read it in English) I thought it would be an interesting exercise for me to translate it, I wanted to know if there is no problem with that, in any case I would pass the file to translate and place the references due to make clear your authorship.

I also thought about whether it would be good to have it in PDF format, that because I think it has facilities to layout it and design it as a book, in addition to that the well-known flipbook effect could be added later for publication online, which could increase its attractiveness and It would feel even more like an old book :)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thank you for introducing the great book.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

https://gofile.io/?c=emhzwD download link not working please fix

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I just tested it now and it's working.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thanks for releasing! I went through the first and found it a great read so far. Very insightful and well-written. Also accurate afaict.

A great contribution to preserving history.

$ 0.50
4 years ago

u/Read.Cash thank you, that's generous. I'm going to "retip" a large part of it (pardon the shitty Seinfeld reference...).

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I'm about a 3rd of the way through. You clearly have a ton of knowledge about the history of bitcoin and I definitely plan on finishing. Much of this is familiar to me but you also go into certain details that I didn't know about and find valuable. As you yourself pointed out, the whole thing does need revising, however, and I'm curious what you want to achieve with this book. What's your ultimate goal? To lay out the history of bitcoin? To show people that BTC was coopted by bad actors? Or something else?

$ 1.00
4 years ago

What I wanted to achieve with this book? Good question! I suppose I'm the only guy around crazy enough to attempt to popularize the subject. At first I wanted to make a non-technical journalistic account for readers not involved in crypto, since everything that happened is so extraordinary - a "cyber war" of a sorts (a blockbuster potential) - but soon it became technical out of the requirement to be compelling, while my solution to the "Blockstream riddle" was also satisfactory in my eyes, so it was changed for "academic" use, and even then only as a historical document (we still don't know if it's an important history - what if Bitcoin didn't have a chance to work as money for other reasons?).

$ 0.00
4 years ago

The history is based mostly on several members who wrote or advised me, I wasn't around most of that time...

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I see.

$ 0.00
4 years ago