Daily tip: Mindfullness

16 90
Avatar for unitedstatian
4 years ago

There's no need to introduce most of you to meditation, I suppose, but just in case you haven't heard of it or practiced it yourself, it has several performance and health benefits, like improving attention, fighting undesirable habits such as addictions, and managing stress - one of its most important benefits. Stress is known to be associated with increased incidence of a wide range of health issues, and in today's highly competitive, detached, social media influenced world, young adults already are showing signs of significantly increased incidence of stress related illnesses, up to 30% in some cases.

How to start? You could use any reputable guided course. I did the Headspace 365 days course which starts from 5 minutes and goes gradually to 20 minutes. It's not available for free but here is a short version:

The biggest challenge is sometimes not to follow through with the guide but to just... "get it". Even after practicing the course and following the instructions it wasn't too effective for me, because of how hard it is to communicate a process which language wasn't evolved to give verbal meaning to. This explanation greatly helped me to "get it":

Good luck! And remember: if it isn't working out for you at first don't be discouraged, it could be a skill built over years, starting from a minute a day for weeks.

4
$ 3.68
$ 3.00 from @molecular
$ 0.50 from @Read.Cash
$ 0.10 from @Telesfor
+ 3

Comments

When I am doing shamballa and reiki, I become meditative if I am alone and in a quiet environment. But this really isn't exactly meditation. But I guess I should start too. Also thank you for this nice article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice,..😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bro Subscribe me please I already Subascribe you!😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Off topic: FYI... Looks like you published "Modified explanation for BSV's plan", but, the link does not work at this time.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I didn't feel like it's a worthy article...

$ 0.01
4 years ago

Good inspirational article. It is well thought and written out clearly in all ramifications. Continue doing the good jobs on read.cash.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awesome man, love meditating.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice reminder! Thanks!

For me personally the best explanation was: "imagine a lit candle or a polished metal ball, look at it, as soon as you notice your mind wander, just name it, like 'I was thinking about a dog, it's ok', don't feel guilty for your mind wandering, just return to thinking about a candle".

$ 0.00
4 years ago

cool. i usually use my breath as an anchor

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Meditation is a great way for the people who are stressed and disturbed by the tides of life. I am by nature very lenient and easy going, and pretty much get up very happy in the morning. When you wake up happy hardly anything can mess up your state of elevated consciousness about happiness and joy that life gives as an option. The meditation bring as closer to be able to observe that option. Great thoughts!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Can you drop your detail let me message you privately??

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The last sentence really got me. Thanks!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey man!

Hope I'm not off subject. But.. I worked on a sonic experience composing an entire album to relax, meditate or focus. Kind of brainwaves experiment. Music have a magic power.

Put your headphones on and listen: On The Edge of The Galaxy https://solarphasing.bandcamp.com/album/on-the-edge-of-the-galaxy Let me know your feedback about it. Well, feel free. It will be very interesting for me. Thank you! :0)

$ 0.00
4 years ago