What To Do If Your Friend Doesn't Want to Pay for their Debt?

27 49

If a friend doesn't want to pay for a debt, it can be a very stressful situation. You might feel like you're being taken advantage of and that your friend is not being fair. You might even feel like they are stealing from you, which is never a good feeling. But, how do you go about getting your money back? What happens if they don't want to pay the debt back? This article will help you navigate this tricky situation.

Offer Some Good Persuasion.

If you want to get your friend to pay the debt back, it's important that you're both on the same page with what happened. You need to communicate with them and explain what happened, why it's important for them to pay back the money, and how they can go about doing so. The more information they have, the easier it will be for them to make a decision.

Being a debt collector for years, I have heard multiple excuses of people trying to avoid paying their debts, but since both of you have personal relationships, try to understand what is happening to your friend.

If they are going through hard times, try to help them out. If they have other priorities, then you can't force them to pay back the debt, but at least try to understand where they are coming from.

Β 

Gently remind them of their promises.

I know you are the last person on earth who wants to remind your friend about their debts, but it's important that you do. When you're talking with them, gently remind them of what they promised and how much time has passed since then. If they've been avoiding your calls or texts ( I post mo sa social media or ipa Tulfo mo joke lang dito) just keep on reminding them about it. A daily follow-up will be sufficient if they've gotten behind. By doing so, they will understand that you are eager to collect the amount owed by them. If they are still reluctant to pay up, you can use a softer approach by trying to appeal to their better judgment. Explain why it's important for them to keep their word, and remind them of how much time has passed since they promised it.

Explore the Reason Behind Their Refusal to Pay

In collections, we call this RFD or Reason for Delay. Each time there's a delay in payment, even if it is a day behind, we ask our clients to explain why they got late. This can work too with your friend, and for sure, they have their reasons for not making the payment on the agreed date. Find out what's holding them back. Maybe it's a financial issue, or maybe there's something else going on in their lives. If you can understand why they're hesitant to pay up, you can find an alternative solution that works for both of you. Always try to search for a win-win situation for both, though I know that it will be hard nowadays to have that as there's a commitment broker already due to non-payment. But at least try and see if there's a way to work things out. If you can't come up with an alternative, or if they won't budge, then you might have to call it quits.

$$ Cut your friend off completely.

Some would say that it is just money and friendship should not be affected by that, but for me, it does matter! Trust is something that can never be replaced once broken, especially if the amount owed is quite big. It’s not about the money, it’s about trust. If you don't have a good relationship with someone, then it's better that you cut them off completely. You don't need people around you who will take advantage of your kindness or generosity and use it against you.

I myself had been promised to be paid by the people who owe me money, but they never did, and even after so many years, I still haven't been paid. It is frustrating as there are certain points in my life when I need the money, but as I always believed then, it is better not to be in debt to other people and try to save more and more funds.

I also get loans from friends. Do not get me wrong, but I make sure that I pay them ahead of time. Thanks to earning money by blogging, I am able to pay for such things if I need to get a loan from others. I always tell my friends to try doing what I do, especially if they are in need of money, but then again, they just want the easy way and not grind.

This post was inspired by the blog post created by @Jijisaur: Now I Am The One Chasing...

Lead Image was from Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

15
$ 5.39
$ 5.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
+ 10

Comments

This has really taught me a very big lesson. I am being owed a huge amount of money for about four years now, it was never in our agreement to keep it that long. Now it's very hard for me to help people financially. I see everyone as the same.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naku, hirap maningil. Ang weird pa is friend ko, tapos laki ng trust ko. Indeed, trust is importanter than friendship haah charizzz. Thanks for the tag, TP!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo naman kaya ngayon pag may nangutang na nasa Hive, wers da keysss para pag di nagbayad power down nalang bwahahha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

unpaid debts really ruin the relationship we have with others

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakukuha naman sa magandang usapan e pero di talaga cut off na lang hehe. Pero depende pa rin sa akin. Di ko na lang siguro papahiramin next time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Trust is something that can never be replaced once broken, especially if the amount owed is quite big.

Aigooo I remember my very close friend. Di ko inaasahan na pera pa magiging dahilan bakit masisira rship namin as best friends. Grabe namaan kasi, de porket kaibigan ako eh hnd na nagpaliwanag sakin ng maays tapos parang ako na lang mahihiya na maningil. After that di ko na sya pinahiram.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love the cut off part. For me, I might not cut that friend off but we can never have any transaction dealings that involves money or lending anything again. I've worked as a loan recovery officer before too and I know how customers try to dodge payments without tangible reasons.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is easy to say cut off been always a victim of such. The problem that we have Ola is we are debt collectors and if collecting money that isn't ours is easy why it is hard for us to collect the amount owed to us by others. HAHA the irony.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha such an irony. It's difficult for us because of the emotions and connection we have with those who owe us rather than those who owe the bank.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We experienced it all and giving some grace to others who can't pay will surely by the law of heavens will pay us back in different ways. Stricter implementation will find space to be more understanding and overlose implementation will find space to be binded. The secret of losing and binding above πŸ˜‰

We all make mistakes and learning from once or twice in order to do it well the next time saved us from future troubles. Let your friends know your terms and conditions and don't be over abuse of repeated actions.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree on this, setting the right terms and conditions matter nowadays. But if incase that they did not adhere better to burn the bridges already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If a friend doesn't want to pay a debt despite of reminding several times I go for cut them completely in my life! It would be understandable if they have a constant communication . Yet their are some who totally forgotten their debt after collecting the money. Shame on themπŸ˜‚πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
1 year ago

HAHA Shame on them! Kala mo kadali dali pulutin ang pera na hinihiram. Like ilang twerk ang kailangan gawin para lang mapansin ang post tapos ano ganun ganun lang?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha true, iyong pagod ka na sa work pero pag off mag twerk ka pa para lng kumita.. Puyat na nga ehπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi na ako lalayo my friend ha. Yung kapatid ng mama ko, yun, may utang yun sa'min tas promise lang ng promise na ganito, ganyan, magbabayad pero nung dumating na yung date, ni anino walang nagbayad. Tas, I message his wife, nagmakaawa na ako kasi need ko din yung pera kasi nga gagamitin ko sana nung pumunta ako'ng Ormoc pero ang ending, wala pa din. Kaya, inunfriend ko na. Nakaka.stress na kasi yung sila yung may utang tas ikaw yung mag.mamakaawa sa kanila na bayaran yun. May tubo pa yun ha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same, Tp. Now, I'm the one trying to forget them. I'm tired of chasing. I'll just think of it as a donation and that I have helped them. 😌

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Nung medyo masama pa ang ugali ko ang sinasabi ko lagi "abuloy ko nalang yan sa iyo"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahahaha. Ay, same. Sabi ko na lang ngayon, "donation"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yong gusto mo makipag usap ng masinsinan as in heart to heart pero puro seen lang sa message. Papadalhan mo ng pagkahaba haba na message pero wala pa rin. Okay lang naman sana kahit late ee. Pero sana, nakikipag communicate pa rin. Hindi yong nong napasakamay na ang kwarta aba'y biglang estranghero na. Abay katindi bhahahaha.

Wala lang, napalabas lang ng sama ng loob para doon sa mga inutangan, lol.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

nako ganyan din ako noon napakahabang litanya pa, na sasabihin okay lang na di mo mabayaran now maiintindihan ko naman at mahirap ang buhay pero kailan ka kaya pwede mag sulong para at least may idea ako na mababayaran ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ying iba ee sila na may utang sila pa galit kapag sinisingil, san kaya sila nakuha ng kakapalan ng fez no

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hate people who don't pay back their debt. And so, I am very careful in choosing people to whom I lend some money when they are in need. Because I also experience people that after they borrow some money from me, they talk behind my back, and there are also some moments when they make up stories to clean their name as if they hadn't borrowed money from me. That's also why I didn't open my main social media account so that they wouldn't chat and ask me, "How are you?"

But anyway, if they don't like to pay, then consider it a gift to them. Let karma hunt them in the future, and I know that God will provide more blessings to us. I know that people like them will face consequences for what they did. πŸ€·πŸ»β€β™€οΈ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yang kamusta na yan pahamak talaga yan. Kaya nako di ako nagbabasa ng messages pag ayan na agad ang litanya. O kaya naman mag me message ng Oli? nakoooo alam na alam na yan. Pero pag sinabi may "chismis ako " seen ko kagad yan.

Having someone indebted to you is good kaso nga lang nakakasira talaga ng friendship eh. Kaya buti nalang majority ng friends ko mas mayaman na sa akin. Ngayon bago utang, keys muna. HAHAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gosh! I've seen some people not paying up their debts after borrowing money and it's annoying. What's more annoying is the promises they made in a certain date then will not pay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember so many people nako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hirap man kasi minsan maningil. baliktad na Kasi panahon ngayon. I remember one of my friend has dept on me ayun thank you nalang hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Oo nako pag friends talaga ang hirap maningil kaya dapat ka kilala lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago