Top 5 Best Walks Around Ards

46 83
Avatar for tired_momma
1 year ago

I never like walking. I complain about any short distance walk. Then my husband encouraged me to walk and now we are walking whenever we are available. Most of the time at night when the kids are off to bed.

The night walk is the best for me. It's getting dark early now. The clock will change again. Love the summer when the sky is clear until 11 pm. Now it gets dark by 8 pm. Next time it will be dark by 5 pm.

I love the night sky and the empty street. Just us and the street lights.

It feels so magical, feels like we're on our walking date. More romantic. My husband got me a headlight and I'm very proud while wearing it in the dark parts of our walk. At night time we walk around our town, walking at least 5-6 kilometres.

Then when we have more time, any time of the day we go to different places. We explore plenty of walking routes and trails from ancient woods to dramatic clifftops. It's always an exciting one!

Here are my top 5 best country walks near us that we enjoy the most.

1. Scrabo Country Park and Quarry Walk

Walking with nature and just the view up the top of the Scrabo is breathtaking. It's all green. Plants and trees are everywhere. Ferns are one of the oldest plants on earth. It's Stegosaurus and triceratops favourites!

For the first time after so many walks, we went on different routes and were surprised by the quarries.

The Scrabo Tower is made from these stones from this Quarry. Also, the Newtownards Townhall is made from Scrabo stones. Now it's home to different species of birds.

This is the perfect place for walking although some steep inclines that we should be careful about. Good that there are seatings available at different viewpoints. Lovely scenery. Everyone enjoys this place and the dogs of course.

2. Walk Way to Helen's Tower

We started walking here at 8 pm. There are lots of cyclists around even at that time. Some are on their race, they are flying. It's wet and muddy at that time but if you appreciate nature and just enjoy the walk, it's pleasurable.

I love this lake. A little bit dramatic at that time.

A short walk, not even an hour till we reach the tower.

Helen's Tower is a 19th-century folly and lookout built by the 5th Lord Dufferin and Claneboye and named for his mother, Helen.

Good for a relaxing short walk.

3. Crawfordsburn Country Park

This is one good walk up to Helen's Bay which is perfect for walking and dog walkers like this area.

It's peaceful and relaxing just look at that oceanfront park. They also have a visitor centre and cafe.

There's this big distinctive mansion that I always admire.

4. Bangor, Marina

Another lovely place perfect for walking. A very picturesque easy walk. You enjoy walking while adoring the sea and the surroundings.

At the end of our walk, we saw a Pickie Fun Park that the kids will surely wish to go to! And lol these huge swan boats I told my husband I want to try it with the kids next time.

5. Newtownards Tide Bank Walk and Flood Bank Path

This is our favourite of all the places as it's a good long walk. You can see the Scrabo Tower in the background. Look how proud it is standing.

The Strangford Lough and some interesting ruins are about the place. Something to do during the war.

People used to hide in here.

That's a good nearly 5 miles walk more than 10,000 steps. And needless to say, we enjoy our walking.

And that's my top 5 walks around our place. It's not just the walk but how I enjoy walking in these lovely places. My husband always says,

"Dear, we're walking, not photo shooting."

Also him,

"Stand there and I'll take a picture of you."

🀣

And it's good that I know that we are safe. We don't have snakes here in Northern Ireland no matter where you go.

There are more places to explore. Until next time!

22
$ 6.94
$ 6.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.07 from @Captainkay
+ 17
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
1 year ago

Comments

The Marina loves lovely,i can imagine walking around there while the sun falls. The absence of snakes in your area is another plus.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Madams if this is the kind of place naman na lalakadan ko, I will never say no na. Ang gagandaaaaaa.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Haha oh diba mapapawalk ka rin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow..I just love Northern Irelands with the virtual tour you gave us. Its really nice to have some walk when you are safe from snakes. Glad you mention it because I am thinking if some of those pictures you shared happens to have some snake.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thank you for appreciating it Sis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I heard there aren't snakes in the island of Ireland.

The pictures you took are so lovely, I can see autumn is about to start

$ 0.03
1 year ago

You heard it right! 😁

It is Autumn but went straight to winter as everyone says it's freezing and raining of course. Didn't even had a warm up. 😞

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The place with full of greeneries, water and mountains and sidewalks- a perfect place to walk for anybody who wills to.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thank you, dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love how nature gives off such priceless comfort and relaxation. So good in the eyes.🀩

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thank you, lonestranger. Glad you liked it!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang ganda naman po diyan. Pero yung sa first two na lugar, dapat may kasama talaga ako pag lalakarin ko yan. Katakot mag-isa. Hehe.

Yung about sa paglalakad, I rarely do that too. Most of the time kasi, nagmo-motor ako kahit sa baryo proper lang namin ako pumunta, mainit kasi sa umaga, tas pag gabi naman, madilim kasi yung ibang street lights sira na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Walking is very beneficial for health. When I was in school I used to walk 5-6 km every day. I love to walk on the lonely streets at night. But this wish could not be fulfilled yet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right those are breath taking views, you captured them well. Enjoy your future walking adventures I'm sure with the views it never gets boring or routine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang ganda mo tlga..pati places madam

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would have gone for walking almost years ago but it's not allowed for women to go outside so I just do my morning walk in my home πŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Haha I can totally understand because that's the kind of walk I always enjoy the most especially to the kitchen😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such a beautiful places I feel like going out to capture nice places too

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I'm for the scenery and he is for walking then I started to do both. Thank you, dear!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kung ganyan kaganda ang lalakaran ate go na go ako dyan hehe. Pero ganda talaga ng place ate, ganda din ng model hehe

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thank you, Leng! Kung saten natuklaw na tayo ng ahas at sobrang magubat dito

$ 0.00
1 year ago

walking is necessary to keep our body fit, and who dont want to walk when surrounding is so much beautiful? i wish my country would have been beautiful like yours

$ 0.03
1 year ago

That's right, dear! I'm not into keeping fit but it's nice to burn some calories so I can eat more. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sarap nga naman maglakad kapag ganyan talaga ang lalakaran mo, totoo madam wlang ahas dyan?

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Totoo. Diba? Di rin ako makapaniwala pero wala talagang ahas dito.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang gaganda ng views sis.. I wouldn't mind walking as well oag ganyan ang view.. unfortunately, dito sa amin halos wala ng sidewalk so mahirap mahlakad... I want to also train my little one na maglakad2... I will try to make this a priority

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Naku Mommy kahit din naman nung nasa Manila ako di ko magawa tong lakad lakad at lalo pa kung gubat kakatakot sa ahas. 😁

Ayan maglalakad lakad na si bebe!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Napaka pleasing sa mata ng place momma. Ganda sobra jaan, kailan kaya ako makaka punta jan.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

In the future, Bhe! God fix on that. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. If the surrounding is that beautiful, I would also be inspired to walk. Hehe

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Diba diba pero tamang walk lang, gusto ko lang makakain pa more! 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow all our lovely and indeed magical ✨ would love to spend some time there walking

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thank you, dear. ❀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think it is very lovely for couples to do fitness activities together. And you are well blessed with good walking spots there. My fave on here is the first one. ❀️

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thank you, dear and it is really good for couples in many ways. And the best part is burning calories so we can both eat more! 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, dear and it is really good for couples in many ways. And the best part is burning calories so we can both eat more! 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha that is so me. The only reason I exercise. To be able to eat more πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha, darling, I just love to eat. Exercise to keep fit isn't. 🀣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Someone told me today that it would soon start getting dark by 4pm and we would be an hour behind around November or so... I can relate to what you said based on what I heard today. I love your romantic walks in the evening but I enjoy the long romantic walk to the fridge instead πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

Momma, we've left the Airbnb and I would forward the current address to you based on what we talked about. Thank you so much.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

That's right 4 pm is the worst one. I'm not looking forward to it but lol what can we do? 😁

Thank God your house is sorted, dear. I'm sure you've had lots to do. Thank you for sending it to me. 😊

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Absolutely, there is nothing we can do. We have to get on with it and adapt.

Yes, there are a lot to do and a lot to buy too. Those mobile heater is needed now more than ever due to Dara... Thank you momma... God bless your heart

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe ma'am. Napaka ganda! 😲 Ang ganda naman diyan. Sarap sa eyes ma'am. Isa ko din napansin yung suot mo ma'am super bagay po sa inyo. πŸ₯°

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Ayiee, salamat Ganda!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Enjoy your moment ma'am.minsan masaya din namn yung lakad_lakad lang.there are times na subrang bigat ng puso ko sa mga problema at away namin ni partner noon.nag try ako maglakad hanggang saan ako abutin ng mga paa ko nakakatulong pala para maging mapagaan yung pakiramdam ko.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Maexercise lang katawan oks na sis. Tama yan kasi stresin mo sarili mo pag magaaway kayo lakad lakad lang pero sana wala na masyadong away ngayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago