My First White Christmas in Northern Ireland

54 80
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

I received a notification on my Facebook account showing me memories from three years ago. Those are my photos of my first snow experience here in Northern Ireland. You see, I came from the Philippines which is a warm country and there's no winter season, just rain or shine.

I always dream of a White Christmas when I was young. I want to see snow and roll it in my hands and build a snowman. Just like in the movies that we can only watch and fantasize.

My dream was granted. My first White Christmas experience was in Seoul, Korea on our company tour. It was amazing but I never thought of what freezing temperature means until I was physically there and felt it right through my bones. πŸ˜…

I thought it always snows when you say winter. And I thought that it snows here in Northern Ireland every winter but I was wrong. It was a long time ago according to Mum, the last time they had heavy snow wherein you can make a snowman or cover up the place at least. The snow when Mum was young was so deep, it can bury your house as she told me.

So this happens in December 2017. The first time I saw this I was extremely happy! I was so excited because it barely snows here. Just cold weather and sleet.

From our back garden. You see our tunnel house coated with snow. I enjoy watching this view at that time. I enjoyed the moment. It was so magical to me!

And at the front, you can see the fields. What a fantastic sight!

And here I am looking so happy. πŸ˜‚

It's not easy to make a snowman lol. Rolling this was hard work! Husband's hard work lol. Not mine. πŸ˜‚

My husband did a very good job!

And here you go! Let's build a snowman! I am proud to say that I'm the one who sticks the carrot and the eyes too! πŸ˜…

And there you go, my first snowman!

But to tell you the truth I have to run inside the house coz I can't stand the cold! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I only want to take pictures. My husband laughs at me.

From 2017 it never snows again. Though I'm not looking forward to it, the kids do. I want to see them playing and build their snowman! β˜ƒοΈ They would love it for sure.

Jigz and Tia keep asking me if it will snow. And I always say "we will see". Are we going to have White Christmas this year? We will see. ❀❀❀

Can I have a warm winter with Snow, please? πŸ˜…

Share your snow experience in the comment below!

THANK YOU πŸ₯°

21
$ 4.93
$ 4.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @bheng620
+ 5
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Comments

Hala gusto ko din yang Snow kahit one time lang ma experience manlang huehue. Pero parang ang nipis ng suot nyo, parang malamig pa din lalo na puro white dahil sa snow garabi 😱🀩🀩

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Although I love summer and warm days, winter is dearer and more beautiful to me every year. There is something special and inexplicable in those cold winter days. Winter has always awakened happiness, peace and fun in me. I love watching red-cheeked kids enjoying, screaming, sledding, making snowmen ..... I often join them even though I grew up a long time ago ... LOL

$ 0.05
3 years ago

My daughter's cheeks turned red when it's winter and she looks so cute! You are right dear there's something in winter that make it special though not all like the cold it brings but it has the magic that goes with it. I want to see them play and make snowmen too! Thank you so much for your lovely comment. πŸ₯° And sorry my reply was so late.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, how i wish i can experience snow din po, we used to joke about the snow po before 'coz my big sister was selling halo-halo n i'm her tindera that time, told her, ate, ala na tau yelo d2, bka mrami pang bumili, she said, wait, i'll go either in amerika or in iceland n get the yelo or snow there at un ilgay ntin jn sa halo-halo, lol

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Hahaha true. Ang aking pamangkin din pinagdadala akong snow para sa halo halo gatas na lang daw pwede na! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Opo, lol, i wonder if it's true po, lol, know i know it isn't n u can't used it on your halo-halo po, lol as it's little sticky po according to my bf po, thank u po sa upvote :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remembered song from movie Frozen: "Do you want to build a Snowman?" In Serbia, last years passed without so much snow. There were a couple of shivering days. And other days are around 0 or higher than zero temperature. Thank you for sharing wonderful memories.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

It hardly snows in here so we're lucky enough to have that just for a couple of days and maybe not again. It's always freezing even the sun is shining and everything dark at 4 pm. Glad I have a memories to share thank you my dear friend! πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are always welcome! Cheers!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Fantastic snowman Momma!! πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

Here in Mexico the weather is similar to the Philippines. No snow in December.

But in Oregon, USA I remember that lovely crunchy sound when you step on snow and also when you roll the snowball for the snowman.

Hope your kids and mine get to experience snow at least once in their life, it's worth the freezing cold at least once. 😁😁😁

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Wow, nice to know you're from Mexico! :) Yes, I would say so! 😁 For them the freezing cold will be worth it! Kids don't feel the cold anyway. Hope they can experience snow if not this year on the coming years πŸ₯° Thank you love!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😊😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Soon, God willing a white christmas too for me. But, my relatives in Canada hates winter lol! Anyway, i love the photos and im laughing at your husbands hardwork on that snowman for your photo shoot, hahah! He really did a great job and you too on that stick and carrot :D

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Effort ako sa carrot bhe! πŸ˜… Ay nanginig naman buong katawan pati buto ko πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahhh so lucky you get ti see snowww! It's still a dream for me plus i don't think I'll be able to stand that cold much

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Hanz, you just have to take a picture with snow and run back to the heat πŸ˜† I will never get used to cold.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think i can tought it out in that snow! I can handle 15Β°C a bit now because the lab is always so cold

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice photos, jolly time you seem to have had but snow is a big NO to me. I can't stand the cold and the older you get the more it stays in your bones.

If there would be always snow the house would be more isolated and warmer. It's freezing here and we have a hard time.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I think I'm not that old Kitty but I can't stand the cold either. πŸ˜‚ Even summer I complain that it's cold and now that it's winter I thought we're living inside a big freezer. No wonder we spend too much on oil for the radiator. In the Philippines we need aircon here it's the other way around.

Keep well dear and advance merry Christmas to you and the family πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have the same. I guess it's DNA. ☹ But believe me it gets worse the older you get. I see it with my children. As a toddler in the sea with blue lips of the cold and stating they are not cold. Today they are dressed with 3 layers of clothes and wrapped in a blanket and feel frozen.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha the snow man was cute and hmm warm winter with snow? I'm afraid that's kinda impossible if you want to play in it πŸ˜… I really wish dear that you witness a white snowy Christmas again and the kids have a chance to play in it again πŸ₯ΊπŸ’œ Marry Christmas in advance -

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Haha but Olaf had experienced it lol. πŸ˜‚ He got a personalized cloud too 😁 Thank you my dear and advanced Merry Christmas to you and your family as well!πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Always good to read your life progressive stories. Wish you to have a Happy Cristmass !😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Experiencing a white Christmas is something I look forward to in my life. I hope it will come true. Pero the freezing cold πŸ₯Ά I don't think I can stand it. Simpleng ulan lang dito, umaandar na arthritis ko. Ano pa kaya jan. Although the coldest temp we had here is 15Β° and that is really cold already πŸ˜…

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Hihi, madam patong patong na thermal ang sagot! πŸ˜‚Pero sa totoo lang malamig pa rn lalo na sa tenga din! Lamigin ako e saka medyo may arthritis πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kaya ngaaa. Masakit sa tenga. 😳 Juskooo, di ko kayanin arthritis neto. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dear you have to come with your family in my country.A few days ago here was snowing like a crazy.We have 50 cm snow now.Your kids could make snowman and many more here.When is so much snow outside my kids like to make snow angels,skiing,they like making small snow-bowling,....Your snowman was perfect dear.I wish that you will have White Christmas because of your children,Tia and Jigz.I can imagine how would they enjoy in snow.I will pray for White Christmas in your place!

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Wow!!!! Really???? Where are you dear? Would love to throw my kids in that deep Tia would like it. But I say it only looks magical having snow but 50cm deep will be a horror to my bones it's like walking in the freezer lol. How long does it take to melt it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow!!!! Really???? Where are you dear? Would love to throw my kids in that deep Tia would like it. But I say it only looks magical having snow but 50cm deep will be a horror to my bones it's like walking in the freezer lol. How long does it take to melt it?

I am from Slovenia dear,small country in Europe,near Italy,Austria.My husband threw away snow for 3 hours.If we would wait that will melt it then we have to wait spring time.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I can believe that! That was hard work! And lol the waiting till spring made me laugh. It will take forever if just going to wait. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So beautiful landscape. I hope it will snow again. I have tree small kids and they are also looking forward to snowing again. Last year in my country was snowless. I imagine it was great experience for you because you come from warm country.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Yes, the kids would love and keep asking me everyday. You know they always see it in the tv now. I can imagine them throwing snow to each other and having a good laugh! πŸ₯° Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Always good to read your life progressive stories. Really good and for our younger selves, momma is motivation.

Thank you

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you dear @KJPR007! Thank you for your nice words. I hope you are doing well. Christmas is coming! πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😍😍😍😍πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pangarap ko makahawak real snow.. Dati kala ko dto meron .wala pla ,,😒

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Totoo? Sa Hongkong walang snow? Haha akala ko rin dito may pasnow kada December once in a blue moon lang pala πŸ˜‚.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? Kala ko lage.. Sa china meron dto wala . hndi umabot 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

North Ireland is an awesome place especially in Winter. I would love to see there and at least spend 2 weeks in a cold winter 😎😎

$ 0.05
3 years ago

We want to go somewhere warm when it's winter lol. But yes, that's how I dreamed it before just a week of winter to see. Love to experience things that don't happen everyday.

How are you doing @idiosyncratic?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Doing really fine ^^ When winter comes, I only want to see everywhere snow white and the pure silence of snowy days. Even I dream of reading books next to the fireplace for several hours. However, the climate change had severe impact on ecology and my desire is turning into an unrealistic dream for many of us πŸ˜‘πŸ˜‘

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes, that's what Mum says so. Climate change and too many cars on the road. I can imagine you sitting in a rocking chair beside the fireplace! πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's really fun to play in the snow. Making snowmen and throwing snow to each other is even more fun. You are having a great snow experience πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Haha, yes you're right! πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also love to see snowfall, but I love to see these things and the cold that comes inside us feels very dangerous. Because I enjoy winter with fire, sitting in front of the fire and then enjoying the cold. But I enjoy watching all the people who make a snowman and play with snowballs, but before I do it myself, I start to feel the chills of the cold. I'm glad you participated in the completion of this snowman. Good job My Friend

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Hahaha of course my friend! I have to be able to help at least in sticking the carrot πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Just like you I enjoyed winter with the heater on lol.

I'm not really for the cold. I wish I could walk with a heater on πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I laughed a lot thinking all this because it's really interesting. And Yes what is the fun of winter heaters, Wow

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My friend I can feel the chills right through my bones. πŸ˜‚ Does it snow there too? Always?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, not at all. We went to enjoy the snowfall some years ago, But now, remembering that moment, I start to feel cold, but it's also fun.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My dear, I forgot to have fun when I'm cold! I think if we're not used to heat I will not get used to eat no matter.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, My Dear, you are right

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kakainggit, hahahaha.. I always dreamed of white christmas, i guess dream na lng talaga sya, hahahaha. And baka mamatay din ako sa lamig, namamantal kasi ako pag sobrang lamig. Sa mga pictures mo pa lng nilalamig na ko.. I am happy for you, you're shows it all..

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Nag picture lang talaga ako tapos takbo sa loob ng bahay! Grabi ang lamig kakapanginig πŸ˜‚ Tayo kasi galing init kaya dream natin to pero kapag andun ka na at nafeel mo na ay ayaw mo na! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha,,, sabagay

$ 0.00
3 years ago