Learning From People You Call Friends

43 79
Avatar for tired_momma
1 year ago

You've been there for others when they need you but when it's time that you're in need, you wonder why they are not available to be of help.

Last Friday night, on the way home, unfortunately, our car broke down. We had a flat tire. Good thing we are on the back road so it's not a busy road. My husband always brings a jack and other tools for emergency purposes like this but since we just change our car so the tools were left on the other one. We have a spare tire at the back but without tools, he can't get it to change.

So we went back in the car and the first person that my husband thought of calling is his friend. Let's call him David. David always calls him when he need help with his car. We have a big garage and almost complete tools. Sometimes he comes 2 weeks straight to fix his car, welding and everything. Too much electricity, I have to say.

When he needs a hand on something, he calls my husband. When he needs to borrow some equipment. When he comes to the house and it's dinner time, I cook for him too. When he is looking for a job, my husband told him where to go. But he said he needs a car. So my husband lends him our van. The van broke down, it's the clutch. He didn't fix it. And he got no money to buy a car so my husband lends him money and now he got a job. He said he is making good money doing delivery. Wondered why he isn't paying what he borrowed. He must have forgotten.

My husband calls him but it keeps ringing just. He didn't answer the call after many attempts. So we call my brother-in-law who is not far from where we broke down. And within 10 minutes he's there with the tools we need. And didn't take long for them to put the spare tire.

When all is good we are back on the road, we head home. And we see David. On his car, on his phone. He is not even far from where we broke down. He has his phone but didn't answer our call. He didn't even bother to give us a return call to ask why we call him multiple times. Nothing. Isn't it just disappointing?

We are all different. We can't always expect other people to be like us. Some are great. Some are like David but we still call them friends. Friends come in different forms. Try to be the ones your friend are grateful to have in their life.

This is not the article I enjoy writing and it's not my vibe but still, I need to express how I feel even in writing.

HAVING FRIENDS IS GOOD.

HAVING REAL ONES IS A BLESSING.

BUT YOUR FAMILY IS THE BEST FRIENDS YOU CAN HAVE. TREASURE THEM.

Do you experience having a friend like David?

29
$ 7.15
$ 6.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 16
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
1 year ago

Comments

bad friend david selfish david. hypocrite david. shameless david. I will never forget the good or bad done to me. I've experienced this too many times. I come to the aid of anyone in need. But when I'm in trouble, no one is there for me. I hate this situation. I am also unemployed for yuan so you understand I don't have a lot of money so there is no one around me. But if I had a lot of money, everyone would be with me. this is so bad and sad

$ 0.00
1 year ago

OMG that's really bad of David. Let me just say he did that intentionally. If not, he ought to have returned those calls back or check on you guys at home. Thanks to your brother-in-law for his time and tools

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh! how sad to hear about it. It is so disappointing. Though we didn't expect anything in return when we are helping but we are hoping to get the same help when we need it the most. Hopefully ma konsensya din sya for not answering the call or even call you back.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

para sakin din...family lang matatawag kong one call away friend ko...not that I don't trust my friends,siguro nasanay lang ako

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I always have my family as my friends. They never disappoint me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's so bad of him, it's so disappointing but thank God you now know the type of person he is. You just need to be careful around him. So many people we call our friends but they aren't even closer to it at all. I like the fact that you pour out your mind about it rather than keeping it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Can def relate po. It's just a random share, pero I wonder why I am not that lucky in friendships. Haha. I always end up getting disappointed because I always get less than what I deserved. Over time, naghehesitate na tuloy akong magbigay ng hanggat kaya ko, kasi parang sila wala namang pake sakin.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

We know people better in time. Don't always hold on in a one-sided friendship. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks a bunch, I had to learn my lesson the hard way. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's very bad me calling someone and not picking my calls, especially when it's a known person. They don't even know if the caller's life is at risk

$ 0.05
1 year ago

That's true!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People like David is everywhere,true friend will come in your hard times not only in good,there are people who only see you when they need help for their necessity but cannot count on them in return.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Friend in a need is friend indeed. Actually there are many people around us that just get their own benefits from us. When we need them they didn't bother to hear us. We should beware of such selfish people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Owww. We should stop calling the Davids in our lives friends. Sorry. But it's time to cut them off.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aigooo, yong hindi naman sa pag aano pero sana yonh akala natin na mas tutulungan tayo yun pa pala yong mismong walang pake if ever mag ask ka ng help. Parang friend kalang kapag need ka ee. Aigoo, kapag sakin ganyan paranh nakaka tampo lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The reality of life momshie. Hay, sad lang and disappointing talaga. May mga tao na di marunong tumanaw ng utang n loob. But at least you and your husband is not like David momshie.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Momshie sa bait ng asawa ko ay sa totoo lang sobrang kapal ng mukha ni David. Ako naman Momshie ay hindi madamot na tao pero ayokong naaabuso ang kabaitan lalo nat hindi naman tatanggi ang asawa ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan din ang asawa ko kaya minsan inaaway ko na, hahaha.. Pero ang reason nya is di baleng tayo ang pagdamutan, wag lang tayo ang magdadamot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm not surprised momma because I've dealt with people like David all my life and I am still dealing with some right now. They are parasites...they want to feed off you but would never allow you feed off them. This is why I don't confuse loyalty with people who only want to use us for their own gain. David has no shred of loyalty in him and as humans, he is always quick to forget the good he has received until he needs a new one.

My uncle did the same with us. Other family members. Some of my friends too. I've learnt never to go to certain people no matter what because I know what their response would be. I've decided to save my energy for those who are worth it and not those who just want to use me. It's shameful but David would soon learn the hard way.

Your good heard and that of your husband allowed your brother in law to turn up. Good people can never be stranded no matte is betrayed they are.

$ 0.10
1 year ago

You know dear, in my life I never encountered this kind of David. I know that he is my husband's friend. That even tomorrow he shows up in our house and needs help, my husband will still, without hesitation will help him. That's why as a wife I'm getting mad. He knows he is not going to pay him but he still lends him. And I'm not that bad but I know it's not right. He's taking advantage of my husband's kindness. I don't like that. I'm not selfish. But my understanding doesn't understand him being so thick. It should not be a big deal but I can't help but let my feelings out.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

You have every right to feel that way. There are so many Davids that loves to take advantage of someone's kindness and I usually cut off people like that. It's wickedness with total disregard for consequences and I detest what David did. I wish you husband would just turn away from him for once so he would understand how selfish he has been. It's really not fair. He is a user! What a shame.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmmm, disappointed but not surprised madam. That's why we shouldn't expect too much from them. That's life 🤷‍♀️

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Sa totoo lang kasi Madam buong buhay ko ngayon lang ako nakaencounter ng David na sobrang kapal at abusado. Pero atleast nakita din ni husband na he cant count on him and he is only good when he need him. Kami naman ay hindi madamot pero ayoko ng naaabuso lalo na asawa kong di makatanggi sa kaibigan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's so true madam. May mga abusadong tao talaga na i take advantage ang kabutihan ng tao. At least, you discovered his true colors na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Friends like David are not reliable. Imagine when he was needed the most and yet he failed. That’s just bad

$ 0.05
1 year ago

It's nice to have a friend that you can't count on, dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It really is ..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gosh saddening and super nakaka disappoint hayss. Kaya family parin talaga ang unang tutulong saatin, that's why maintaining a good relationship in the family must come first

$ 0.05
1 year ago

That's true, Sis. ❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ma, I would say everyone will not be the same. We all are indifferent and it takes a real friend to be who he or she is. Your husband played his role as a good friend to him which is his own way while his friend is another personality. That is human for you.

I have had similar experience too but what do I do? Though it's disappointing but I understand that A will never be the same way as B and so, we should just ignore and keep doing our best.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

We all get disappointed but also we understand that in this life there are friends that are not like us and just like you say just the way they are. We all have different characters. Friends come in different forms. ❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sister we need real friends these people are not more able to be called as friends. It is sad your husband needed friend for help but he didn't respond well.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

It's good to have family that is your friend!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww that's sad to hear that a friend that you used to help can't return the help to you. Hays, may mga ganyan po talaga person na di manlang marunong tumunaw ng utang na loob

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Except less pero nakakadisappoint pa rin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A grabe din friend nyo na yan, sana nakita nya kayo right after receiving all that missed calls at ng mahiya nmn the next time he asks for help or borrows stuffs from you.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Sabi ni husband okay kahit hindi magbayad ng nahiram dahil hindi na sya ulit ulit makakahiram. Nakakadisappount lang talaga na kahit anong bait mo, may abusado talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes I agree that true friends is a blessing. Many are like davids around and some I know too. That is why, I am too picky now because many are like davids in our neighborhood and it gives me a lesson to know such.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

It's good to help friends in need but it's also good to have friends that will be there when we are the one who needs help.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is human for you, expect less. Thank God your brother in-law was available.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I should know better. And yes my brother-in-law save us that day! Family is the best friend we can have.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes momma family is the best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago