Kids Hate Sleeping

48 57
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

When I was young we have to do as we were told. No buts and most of all no complaining or else you will get a good hit with a magic wand. The magic wand comes in different forms and sizes whichever my Mama or Papa get their hands on first. You take your pick!

We are required to sleep early and the afternoon nap is a must. They always say we need it to grow. But don't believe it, I didn't grow that much! They also threaten us that if we don't take our nap between 2:30-4:00 we will not get "merienda". That's an afternoon snack. But who doesn't enjoy food? We are always looking forward to eating banana cue or turon with matching palamig sago at gulaman (pearl and jelly drink) from Ate Lina. She always sell those and is very good at cooking pansit and spaghetti for merienda.

We are 5 siblings and if we don't feel like sleeping we have to pretend that we are so we can get a snack. Pretending to sleep is a very hard job as you have to act really good to make your parents believe that you are indeed sleeping when you're not. I always think that they only want to get rid of us so they can be in peace doing their thing.

Then at night we have to be in bed. Oops, we don't have bed that time. I mean we have to sleep as early as 7pm so we can get up early for school. That time we can only walk from home to school. A very good exercise that we hate because we didn't sleep at night and our body and mind was not fully awake. We're like walking zombies.

And then fast forward to me having kids. And just like me and my siblings, they don't like to sleep either. They hate the word bedtime! You know as soon as I say bedtime they both have their ways and think of any possible ways not to. Here comes,

"Mummy, I'm hungry."

  • Like of all the time that they can eat, that's the time they choose to be hungry. Even you reminded them that they just ate an hour ago.

"Mummy, I need something to drink."

  • They will even try their luck by asking me to make them hot chocolate. Ah, NO!

"Mummy, just 10 more minutes!"

  • The 10 more minutes that end up into an hour till I'm the one who fell asleep waiting for them to sleep.

Pretending to Sleep

  • They are very good at this. High skilled professionals with matching eyes twitching. Oh I have a good laugh when they are trying so hard to look like they are sleeping. Just as we were when we were young!

Playing Phones/Gadgets

  • Oh many times with Jigz! Caught him many times and when I do the phone flies up to the air when I startled them with my presence. And then telling me it will help him sleep. Hahaha. Don't me, Jigz!

You will only know that they didn't sleep especially Tia because you will see the evidence all over the place and on her face.

The poor unicorn and dog becomes a victim of a child who couldn't sleep.

And if you can't sleep just put make-up on, Charaan! It works! I'm sleeping now, Mummy!

Like most of the kids here asleep by 8. Tia and Jigz are still up at 11 and it's very hard to put them in bed even when they are tired. That's why I don't really get rest and peace not 'in'. 😜 Even if I put them to bed at 9 they will still be up. And ever since Tia was a baby she never takes a nap and stays up late no matter what we do. Until now.

I wish I tried hard when they were a baby for them to have an early bed routine. Or maybe there's techniques I didn't know that might actually help me.

Any hacks, parents?

If only they know that when they get old, they will not be able to sleep even if they want to. And no one will give them a "free snack" but they have to buy or make their own. If only I knew, I could have slept when I was told to do so.

I somehow missed being a child who only worries about how to convince my parents that I'm asleep so I can get a snack.

Thank you for reading.

22
$ 5.14
$ 4.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 11
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Comments

Where have you been, Momma? Is everything alright? We missed you here and on Noise. Please, get back when you can and a short message that you are alright would be fine too. Stay safe and healthy. Love you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol this is very hilarious as I can relate to it. I don't have any kids yet, but a lot of times I have to look after my aunt's children, or sometimes they sleep over. It's always hard getting them to sleep especially if one of them is still awake the other won't want to sleep. I always have to force them if it's too late because of school the next day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sarap naman ng tulog ni baby tia friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your kids are just too funny. Perhaps they are trying to pay back for what you did too when you were young 😆 Kids, especially when they are watching their favorites TV show or doing something which you must not distract them, they make sure to finish it even if they would take the nap or go to bed eventually. Lol Look at how Tia looks so cute while sleeping. Hahaha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I forgot to mention about that tv thing. Every time I turn it off I look to their room and it's on again but no one admits who turn it back on. 🤣 Oh they are full of life!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂 Children with their acts and they know how to pretend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They only fall asleep when there is nothing to venture into... Every parents always desire their children sleep more every hoildays for the best reason, you know what I mean... 😆 Disturbance...

Peace

OkanlaDavid

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha, we need some me time too lol 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should have change your channel name to "momentswithTiaandJigz". Hence i haven't seen you any marks of tiredness

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Just being a Mom is one. 😜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha,, they'll realize that someday sis. Haha I feel you on that. I wish I could have slept when I was younger, now I am thinking that I still should not sleep because I need to make more money for them. Haha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's right. And sometimes I'm just too tired to sleep. Cheers to us Mommy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The unicorn looks like a clown with that red lipstick 😂 Tia is a comedian. I also did a lot of these things when I was younger, always pretending to be asleep when my mom comes to check up on me, but as I got older she learnt to just leave me alone 😆

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Save her from being stressed, dear lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha....that afternoon sleep was the most hardest thing for children, and I remember how my mother was used to threaten us for that. I pray Tia and Jigz also change their routine, and sleep early, but I know it would be really difficult..lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, she wore that makeup on, by herself 🥰😂 Not sleeping at 11pm for a child is not really healthy, just being inquisitive; do they perhaps, sleep more during daytime?

I'm not a mother yet, I haven't experienced such, but have you tried reading them a bedtime story? Lol 😂 I've watched movies and I've seen this work. But not so sure Tia and Jigz would fall for this.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Bedtime story? Ella has at least three stories and I'm the one who gives up lol. I let them run round to tired them out but never works. 🤣

I wish you luck in the future but surely you will be a brilliant Mom!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry ate pero natawa ako sa article mo tonight. Haha. Yung different in shapes talaga eh. Misman oblong, minsan triangle, minsan rectangle.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Minsan pa nga lumilipad yun bhe pg tumama na lang sayo talaga saka mo malalamang masakit pala!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Puro lipstick ang stuff toys hahA, ang baby ko madam parang si Tia ndi pala tulog, pero since tinatabihan ko sya at naggagalit galitan ako ayun nakakatulog din

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Halos lahat tapos mantsa na. Kaloka tong anak ko talaga!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, yan pla parctisan nya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cute tlga ni Tia madam..may make up pa haha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ay naku madam lahat n mineyupan pati mga walang kamalay malay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha ganyan noon din satin no, di oa natin alam noon, sana pala nag imbak ng maraming tulog kasi di na natin makukuha yan pag lumaki na tayo aguy hahaha.

Prro natawa ako kay Jigz hahaha. Ganyan si Mommu noon ee ako naman nagapaggap lang na tulog ta mumulat na ulit. Tas mahahalata ni mommy nagalaw ung pilik ko baga hahaha ee di huli. Minsan mangingiliti pa 🙄🤧🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ang taas ng nilipad ng cp nung nagulat e! Nagkatakutan kami. Mautak pa nga non saka talagng palo ka! Sakit kaya sa pwet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can understand what you are trying to pass across, I wonder why kids over there detest sleeping. Here, kids take a nap only a few times, but by 8, they're in bed, maybe it depends on training, maybe not!!. Probably had you also not pretended to sleep, your children won't now. You know...?. Children inherit certain traits from their parents. Let them enjoy your attention now that they can momma. In a couple of years now, I guess they would be adults 😊😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

No matter how tiring the day was for them they will not rest. They keep going and still have loads of energy. Oh I give up in the end. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cute😍😍 Dati pinapatulog talaga kami ni nanay kaso ayaw namin ,mas gusto naming maglaro. Kaya ngayon pag pinapatulog ko anak tapos ayaw ,sabi ko sa kanya mag malaki na siya mas gugustuhin na niyang matulog tapos hindi makatulog lalo na pag nasa school or work😅

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Kaya nga kung alam ko lng natulog sana ako ng natulog nung bata at nakkapagod maging mtnda.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko noon momshie, kaag pinapatulog kami eh may katabi or may hawak na wlis yun bantay nami. Hahaha. Tapos minsan pinaatulog lang namin un bantay tapos kanya kanya takas.. Naku kung alam ko lang na kapag malaki ka na or adult na eh bawal na matulog sa tanghali, naging masunuring bata sana ako noong bata pa, hahahaha!

As always, Tia is so cute!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Naku si madir momshie ay walis tambo at tingting para daw tumulog agad. Makakatulog ka naman din sa tkot e. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha, minsan nga nagkakapaluan pa bago matulog eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha 🤣 Tia looks good at it like seriously Am a professional on it when I was little

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh Esther she's wild! 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol 🤣 and I love her pretends

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dati lagii talaga ko natutulg tas pag d ako natulog ng hapon wala ako meryenda tsaka bunot ng uban ni papa haha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yan ang una nating trabaho huh taga bunot ng uban 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also missed the good old days that we are told by our parents to have some sleep, especially in the afternoon but I'd escape quite often. But now, most of the time I am at bed because anytime by now if I am lucky enough to land a job, I know I probably miss sleeping, a lot. 😅

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Same here lol. Those were the days. Good to look back and regret hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand you Mooma but how can such a young child like Tia be up till 11 ahh she likes night. Young kids doesn’t like being forced to bed until when they prefer to sleep. I think that’s the idea.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Darling, even if she's sleepy she will fight for her to stay awake. And you can wait forever if you stay with them till their sleep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maam na experience ko po yan mag pretend na matulog. Pinapatulog din po kasi noon ma'am pag tanghali na at hindi kami pwede lalabas pag walang tulog. Hindi kami pwedeng mag laro sa labas pag walang tulog kaso minsan ang problema kahit anong pilit hindi nakakatulog. 😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Tapos may palo pa! 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo ma'am totoo po yan pag malaman na wala pong tulog. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Daming alibi sis.😅 Ganyan din kami noon sis. Tinatakot din kami noon na pag hindi natutulog sa tanghali, di na daw lalaki.hhaha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Di naman ako lumaki sis. 🤣 Fake news.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahha, me too sis.😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago