Dragon Fruit Plant

45 78
Avatar for sham
Written by
3 years ago

Dragon fruitΒ is a food that grows on a climbing cactus called hylocereus, which you'll find in tropical regions around the world. Β The plant's name comes from the Greek word "hyle," which means "woody," and the Latin word "cereus," which means "waxen."

I have tried to eat these fruit way back 2017 few weeks before my due date. My uncle told me that these fruit was very healthy and nutritious.

These morning as i talked to Sir Mike:

Me: Sir, do you have a Dragon Fruit, I want to have that plant. I am planning to bring some in our province including the seedlings of the Fig Fruit.

Sir Mike: Yes ma'am, we have. Come I'll show you. It's not properly cared but it is Dragon Fruit Plant.

We walked to the area where the Dragon Plant.

Me: Can i have one sir, i want to re-plant it in a small pot so that i can easily bring it once its OK to travel going home to our province.

Sir Mike: Sure ma'am, you can pick on them.

Me: What color of fruit does these plant have sir?

Sir Mike: Its a red one (hes referring to pink one ). I know it has three variety, red yellow and white. I have a yellow in Cavite, ill give you one when we come back from there.

Me: Ok sir, Thanks a lot. πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™

Then i got a small pot and pick one, Sir mike provided me a soil; transfer it to already and I am hoping it will live

He advice me that the plant is a dessert plant like cactus that always need sunlight, so we put it on a safe area. I put inside the garden with a small gate to avoid it to be stolen.

Benefits of Dragon according to the article that i read;

  1. Low Cholesterol

  2. High in Fiber

  3. Antioxidant Rich

  4. Heart Healthy

  5. Skin Care

  6. High Source of Potassium

  7. Vitamin C

It will take years before it will produce fruit, it will need proper care. Time passes quickly and one day we will wake up its produces fruit already.

I really wanted to have these plant so that my child may know and somehow eat some of these in the future in our own harvest. It's memorable for me because i eat these fruit during my pregnancy on my daughter, that was my first and last time eating it. It was given by the neighborhood of my uncle who has that plant. I am being sentimental in some way..

I'm really am hoping it will live..πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™

120
$ 1.68
$ 1.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for sham
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Wow its look like delicious,my mouth is watering even I'm not never been eat it before,because I cannot afford to buy .But because of your article and those benefits that you mention I will to try to buy some to taste it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gardening is my hobby too !

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I tried that fruit its really good. :) im planning to plant dragon fruit in my backyard. I hope that it will bloom and grow well

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeahhh goodluck, for both of us. Looking for our success regarding dragon fruit planting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have only a little place for it.. Well i hope it will be successful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Always hope for the best. Goodluck..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well you're lucky you have dragon fruit near you , i haven't seen one in here our place but i know that they can strengthen your immune system. Dragon fruit is high in vitamin C and other antioxidants, which are good for your immune system.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Been looking for this since 2017, the first time i tasted the fruit. Buying seedling of this plant will cost to much, so im lucky i meet someone with this kind of plant. πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great you should plant some now that you have seedlings.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow i love dragon fruits and i also cultivatwd dragon fruits in my garden though my garden is small for i have planted it because its a costly fruit in our country and its price is so high in the market and thanks for giving benefits about dragon fruit and keep uploading more and more 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woww its nice to know that, may i asked whats the color of the dragon fruit plant that you are cultivating, i would be glad to know it. Thank you for having time reading my article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the informative article,Im sure that i will try to taste some of that later hehe:)

$ 0.00
User's avatar Ki
3 years ago

Sure... the one thing that encourage me to have this plant is its benefits fot the heart. Im not ill that is the reason, it is good for the heart

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah,I have heard of the dragon fruit plant before because of its numerous health benefits. Almost in all searches i make to find natural cures to some diseases,the dragon fruit mostly makes the list.It even helps to prevent scurvy,which is reddening of the gum and looseness of the teeth.This is because it contains vitamin c in it.Nice piece. Kindly subscribe back.Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and thank for the time reading it. Ill do that..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow its look like delicious,my mouth is watering even I'm not never been eat it before,because I cannot afford to buy .But because of your article and those benefits that you mention I will to try to buy some to taste it . I always have constipated now i knew that dragong fruits have high in fiber thank you so much for the information .I hope more article and information you can share .God bless us

$ 0.00
3 years ago

looking delicious.... i want to eat these fruit.. i never eat these fruit.i think its taste is too sweetπŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Here in our home specifically our backyard, we have several dragon fruit plant, soon to be harvested. Honestly, there are several types of dragon fruits, we have here is the red one, which I think might take 2 months to produce a fruit.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thats nice, do you how many times in a year it bear fruit?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is very good plant I really like this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes thats true thats why before ive been looking forward to have these one. Then the right person come and gave me one. Im lucky and thankful for him.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are dragon fruit and cactus related?. We have also here in the house year ago i brought them from my aunt's place San Sebastian Luna. But until now it's like just starting to grow and maybe it will take long years to bear fruits.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it is..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope that your plant will bear fruit po! We actually have one in our house and it's able to bear a fruit already

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeahhh... thank you, i am hoping so.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My mother also planted dragon fruit in front of our house.And last month it has already flower.Now,the fruit is slowly growing.Hopefully next month we can already harvest it.It so delicious fruit.It is different from any othey fruit that we eat.There are different color inside of it.Hope that dragon fruit in the photos you have shared to grow healthy so that you can also harvest its fruit.😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow.. that good i really wanted it so much. I want to witness how it bloom flower and become fruit

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes,its flower is different from any other flower.The color of its flower is white.You will see it when your plant already grow.😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What color of fruit does your mam have? That plant was color red according to the one who gave me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know.hehe.Maybe it is white because its flower is white.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thats nice, i intended to collect all color, they are 3 color red, yellow and white.

That is red, and the one who gave me that has yellow also and promise to give me again some so i am missing a white one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope that your plant will bear fruit po! We actually have one in our house and it's able to bear a fruit already. Take care po!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you.. im really am hoping. Going to take care it properly..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really love to eat this fruits.. The texture is so soft, taste good and delicious. The color is so nice. We buy that here 200 pesos Philippine money per kilo 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah thats true, being so expensive is one reason that we can barely eat and have a taste of these fruit.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True dear, its about two pcs of dragon fruits for 200pesos imagine πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.. Only two person can eat also.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That 200 pesos is already a budget of one family for the meal. Very expensive.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautifull

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thats good for you to be able to plant that fruit. I havent eat that fruit ever since it is not available here in our place,I dont see someone selling it in fruitstands in here. I just saw it in online selling and really expensive,haha. But I really heard it has a great and lots of health benefits,maybe thats what it make so expensive.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeahhh... thank you. Yes that true it has a good benefits, its good for the heart is the reason why i wanted to have these plant.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow nice can i have 1 pot of it.. πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‡ thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago