The Wayback Machine: Combat Censorship & Fake News

36 182
Avatar for scottcbusiness
Written by
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
3 years ago

I send a very politically controversial source to my roommate, but when he goes to open it, it’s been deleted. Now what? Enter the Wayback Machine. View deleted web pages, edits, and really anything in the archive saved over many points in time.

The reason this is so important is that erasing sources, facts, history, etc. can be extremely dangerous and highlights the fragility of our present knowledge. Whether you are writing an academic paper for school or developing scientific research, if someone can remove your sources, they can ruin you. That can’t happen now with https://web.archive.org/ because you can prove the existence and content of your sources.

 

Another great example is when the media writes articles to enrage people for clicks and views and then say half a year later, they change a bunch of the terms used and the wording so it’s not as inflammatory making them look better and take on less blame. Given the outcomes and consequences of writing said article have already occurred and they got their money, it’s fine for them. On the website, it doesn’t tell you what they changed, but enter the Wayback Machine, and now you can see for yourself.

 

There are many use cases for this, but I think it’s extremely important for combatting censorship and fake news today. We have access to fact-checkers like Snopes and Politico, but I didn’t have a good resource for looking for deleted data or finding exactly what was edited before finding this resource.

 

Will you start to use the Wayback Machine now? Have you already been using this? Are there any other good resources like this? What are your thoughts on cancel culture, censorship, and fake news? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below and don’t forget to like, share, and subscribe!

94
$ 2.16
$ 2.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of scottcbusiness
empty
Avatar for scottcbusiness
Written by
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
3 years ago

Comments

Hi Sir. I'm sorry in case you feel offended. I also wrote an article about it for you with the intention of sharing your idea. Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's awesome, I'm not offended

$ 0.00
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
3 years ago

Okay Sir. Thank you so much😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great inpormason

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its a really awesome post . i really astonished to see your post. its helpful for us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice post.useful information.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sir, your article is very good, there is a lot to learn, which will help us in the future. I will never miss your article , and I am not giving upvote, sponsorship from anyone, and not giving points from the read cash, now if you please help, then I will be forever grateful sir, I will pray for you all the time. , I hope you will help me, thanks in advance

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it looks nice and very useful sir

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your post are always informative. You always provide a worth information thanks a lot. And keep us updated.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice to hear about it.. Thanks for the articles

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everything is fine . Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for writing and talking about this as I always forget to look things up when they've been altered or deleted on web.archive.org. This will definitely be something I use in the future to find out what has been deleted and why.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! I don't know that this is even possible and I don't know that there is something like a Recycle Bin in the world wide web. Thank you and i'm looking into it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! I didn't know that there is such a tool like that. Well, thanks for sharing this with us. I will definitely try this tomorrow for work. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's very unique way back machine. I'm only using mobile phone is it okay to use it? It's applicable?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This looks like a very good innovation. I will try it out

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I respect you very much. Because every one of your writings gives us some knowledge. I always follow you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love the wayback machine, and the implementation in the brave browser

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sir, your article is very good, there is a lot to learn, which will help us in the future. I will never miss your article , and I am not giving upvote, sponsorship from anyone, and not giving points from the read cash, now if you please help, then I will be forever grateful sir, I will pray for you all the time. , I hope you will help me, thanks in advance

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice written post ....i like reading it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your kind of imformation..It's very halpful for our bright future.. I try it every time..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article.pls subscribe me back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

love you brother for shared interested post. thank you so much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very important article, like it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi mate! I use the WM since 10 years ago, and It helped me to recover my old own websites designed to my portfolio. Great tool, and better review, as always!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice and great piece of information sir

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks for your information.... plz back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

interesting wayback machine👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks Sir For Sharing It

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great

$ 0.00
3 years ago