With a Lot of Love and Patience.

23 42
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

My first steps as a professional were in special education. They were years of working life that I dedicated my time with commitment and vocation to education. Little by little, as time went by, they turned into a total of 25 years dedicated with heart and care in the special education modality, where I was armed with a lot of patience, tolerance, empathy and love. These are qualities that over time I polished, or rather, transformed my character. It is not easy to work in special education. I did it for 25 years with a population of children and adolescents with mild and moderate mental retardation. And some years with learning disabilities in elementary schools. Although I also treated blind children, adolescents and adults and deaf mute school population, but only in brief activities such as in sporting events where special competitions were held or in verbenas to expose works that they made.

Most of the population I treated had difficulties in one or more areas. In general, I could summarize 25 years of love and patience as follows:

I worked with a lot of people with Down syndrome, they are the most caring and loving people I have ever met, they have no evil in their hearts, they are angels from heaven. Some years I had one or two teenagers with mental retardation and motor disabilities, with mobility limitations which made it difficult for them to move around the facilities and to get them on the transport we had to carry them between several adults and raise the wheelchair. And then we had to take them down among several adults when they arrived at their stop at home. Every day we had to do the same thing, since the school bus did not have a wheelchair ramp. Several educators had to be on duty on the school bus accompanying the bus driver. In this transportation, there were always eventualities with the students that required the accompaniment of the staff. On many occasions, a student suffered epileptic seizures inside the transport unit. There are many stories that could be told later.

Sometimes I dealt with ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder), I especially remember an impressive teenager, I keep beautiful moments of him, especially I remember that he knew all the important dates, the birthdays of personalities worldwide, countries of the world and their capitals, it was incredible his level of concentration to repeat the date that was asked and instantly, after repeating the question several times as a way of searching in his memory the information, he gave the answer to the question. I also treat cases with Asperger syndrome, which is a difficult population to treat, since they have limitations in social interaction and in the acquisition of communication skills, it is very difficult to know how they feel since they do not openly express their emotions. But like the ASD cases, they have a privileged memory even though their disorder affects their brain development.

Where I was armed with a lot of patience and tolerance was with the population with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). I think it was with these kids that my hair started to turn gray. Because these kids are super physically and emotionally draining. And I wasn't dealing with one at a time, but with several, at the same time because I had a lot of population and I couldn't individualize the therapies, it was exhausting. At the end of the workday, I would get home and I didn't want anyone to talk to me for a long time to find my essence again... hahahaha.

I remember several cases of adolescents with obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD). To my memory comes the memory of a young man who could not be near a light switch control. It was annoying that every time I turned on the light the young man would turn it off. I sometimes let him do it freely, without any control over him, especially because he repeated that behavior all the time, and sometimes when I was concentrating on writing the report of his personal case I let him be, it was when he turned on and off the light repeatedly, it looked like a Christmas tree ... hahahahahaha.

I remember with much love a child with moderate mental retardation and sensory impairment. He was a beautiful 9-year-old boy, who was visually and hearing impaired in his right eye and ear. His right eye was completely white, blind. And completely deaf in his right ear. These are cases that touch my heart and that I will always remember because in their time I dedicated a lot of love to connecting with them....

Then I worked for about 5 years with learning difficulties in children and adolescents in elementary education who presented comprehension and communication problems in the areas of reading, writing, and mathematics. In this modality my work was a little easier, I did not arrive home so emotionally exhausted. This population was not mentally retarded but had difficulty in comprehension and communication in some academic areas.

Those were times of much love and patience that I lived to the fullest. They helped me to grow and develop in a work that I have always carried in my heart, serving people with special educational needs made me grow as a human being, I learned to be tolerant and to have empathy with other human beings, especially towards the needs of others. My profession as an educational psychologist is marked in my heart until the end of my days.

Then I began a stage in andragogic education as a teacher at the undergraduate and graduate levels. And as a teacher in graduate thesis juries. Many stories to tell as a teacher in research methodology, stories of much pain and tears from students who were in their last semesters of their university careers. Many stories will be told in due time.

I look forward to reading your comments.

Thank you to my followers and sponsors for always supporting me. You are the best.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

Pictures from unsplash.com

11
$ 3.17
$ 2.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
+ 7
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

Working with patients with behavioral problems or simply working within the behavioral area, leaves us with many joys, it is true. As a physician I know it leaves me with many satisfactions. However, the stories we meet on a daily basis are sometimes devastating and sometimes leave us with so many mixed feelings within ourselves. However that is the job, to improve thanks to the activity of teaching or the activity of cooperation in health. It is always beautiful to hear these experiences. I send you a big greeting from Venezuela

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is true, all my work experience was hand in hand with a great multidisciplinary team. Working as a team with pediatricians, neurologists and psychiatrists was rewarded by improving the quality of life of people with special needs. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I am from Venezuela anyway. In Barinas you have a new friend. Greetings

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I so much love teachers, not just being patient but also for their unwavering love

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, being an educator is a great honor for me. Thank you for your encouraging comment. I appreciate it very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome dear. More power to your elbow

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey te admiro no todo el mundo tiene el amor, la dedicacion y la pacioncia para la educacion especial. Ya de por si enseƱar no es cosa facil y le ha colocado tu extra, de verdad te aplaudo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you my friend. I really appreciate your words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The teaching profession is very respectable. Teaching people with disabilities creates a different feeling of love in oneself. I have a lot of desire to be engaged in such work. I salute you for your tolerant teaching profession.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your kind words. It is true, in special education you have to be very tolerant. Patient. Empathetic. And above all to have love for others with disabilities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's not a career path for the weak in heart or patience. Kudos to you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your beautiful words. They are very much appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks like it was a rollercoaster for you. On the plus side, these are memories you can look back to fondly and be glad for the experience.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have many fond memories. All positive. To tell you the truth, I don't remember anything negative. Because those who love what they do are full of experiences and all of them make the professional who loves his job grow and develop

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are really a loving and angelic soul and I can literally say those children are lucky to have someone like you look after them. coping with normal children on its own could be very exhausting, talkmore of children with special needs. Indeed not everyone possess such a level of patience.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Working in special needs education requires a professional with a lot of patience and dedication. It is beautiful. A great profession.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. What a great journey of you. I salute all the teacher who specialized special education and teach those students who needs special treatment.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your words. I love my profession. I carry it in my heart until my last days

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seeing the work and experience you have done, I have huge respect for you now. I have never met someone who treats kids and people like that and that for 25 years. I hope one day I will be able to contribute to something like that even for a just a bit as I'm a bit impatient guy haha!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you friend for such beautiful words. You make me smile... hehehe... dealing with people with special educational needs really makes you develop patience, empathy and tolerance. I recommend it to you... hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its a long journey of yours. I am in job more then 9 years and i achieve trust and love from my co-workers.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's good that you are already working and leaving footprints among your coworkers. Congratulations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your experiences are too good to read and for sure in your part its fulfilling and remarkable as you venture life. This kind of stories and memories is all I want to build in the Long run, to take good care of those who need care and encouraged them in a nice way where they will the loved and happiness they need.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your words. These memories are what make good stories because they come from the heart. I hope that in the long run you too will reap fond memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago