A Dream Come True

44 110
Avatar for rgPhotography
3 years ago
Sponsors of rgPhotography
empty
empty
empty

I have a new friend here in read.cash named @Eirolfeam2 . She had raised a question yesterday in one of her articles. And I gladly participated by commenting about it.

Her question goes like this: What is your greatest challenge that you have encountered in your life?

Please allow me to share to you guys my answer to her question by telling you my story. God bless as you read.

My alma mater is a state college situated inside the base camp of the Philippine Air Force. It is an aeronautical school they say that lacks aeronautical facilities. A small yet a very controversial school.

This photo is not mine. Credit goes to the owner

"Hey, what's the name of your school?" Students from other colleges and universities usually raised. "PHILSCA." Replied the PhilSCAnian. "PhilSCA what???"

Yes, it is a not so popular school. Infact, some sarcastically said that it is a school that is left behind by human civilization. But I tell you, it is where my world turned upside down- a place which proves that dreams do come true.

I was raised in a poor family. We are an islander. My schooling life belongs to those who study in a *weather-weather basis. If Papa had a good catch of fish, then I can go to school with baon. But if not, then I go empty handed.

During my elementary years, I went to school with a fifty centavos in my pocket. And for a food fanatic child like me, fifty centavos is a mortal sin. So here's what a young mind told me to do- during lunch break I would rush towards my Lola's house which was just half a kilometer away from our school. And when I am almost there, I then walk on tiptoe and my eyes on red alert status, carefully scanning the whereabouts of my grandparents. If they are inside the house unaware of my presence, then the operation-get-guavas starts. I get as many ripe guavas I could and then I brought it to school and sold it to my classmates. I was in second grade that time.

My play stage ended when I reached high school because my father started the rigid training for me. The goal was to catch as many fish I could.

Papa wasn't able to finish elementary but he was an aspirant of Charles Darwin's survival of the fittest principle. He once handed to me the bamboo pole and he told me to pilot the boat. I followed as instructed. Unfortunately, I haven't befriended the wind and the waves that time and so both suddenly struck the boat without informing me. Consequently, I lost my balance then whooops!!! Splaasssh!!! In the seawater I went. My father was all laughs, he said, "Hey, don't be too excited the fishing area is still over there not here."

One time, my father and I went fishing together despite the weather's disapproval. It was a must because our cooking pot was already crying- he (the cooking pot) miserably missed the rice grains and the fire.

As usual I was the one piloting the boat. I have mastered doing it this time. But the boat hardly moves because of the VFA. Oh no, not the Visiting Forces Agreement but the Velocity Forces Agreement of the wind, the sea current, and the waves. Nonetheless, I still managed to reach our destination- the fishing area.

When Papa saw a school of fish, he jumped off the boat and initiated the chase. Unfortunately, I was left on the boat unaware of the menace of being alone in the midst of untamed weather. The angry VFA started to strike hard and I found struggling in maneuvering the boat. I paddled hard... I was paddling for my life but my effort proved futile. The wind, sea current, and the waves joined forces together in dragging me away from my father. I could not help it any longer. Tears started to roll on my cheeks. I was paddling while crying and that was the turning point of my life. With full conviction and resolution, I told my self that I will never ever stay this way. I will get a college education no matter what.

Since that time, the passive student became active. From the slow learner class I was promoted to the fast learner section. To help finance my studies, I woke up early dawn to drive passengers to their desired destination through our pedicab. I resumed to driving after class too. My effort paid off and I have finished high school.

I opened up to my mother about my desire for further education but she was just silent- that was a defeaning silence to me. They were willing to send me to college but they can't afford it. But no, my decision was already firm.

I went to the city on my own. I did not know the whereabouts of the universities and the colleges there. But who cares? This is my dream, I will fight for it!

I went from school to school asking directions from strangers. I talked with school administrators and guidance councilors begging for a scholarship but all of them just turned me down.

One day, a high school friend told me about PhilSCA. He asked me to pay the school a visit. I did and when I was there I surveyed the school bulletin boards hoping to see posters or ads about scholarship. I found none. Frustrated, I decided to leave but then a tall and a slim guy positioned to post something. I took a peep and Good Heavens granted my wish. Indeed, they were looking for working scholars. Then exam and interview ensue and with the aid of the Divine Providence, I qualified.

PhilSCA is a dream come true to a not so fortunate dreamer like me.

I hope you have enjoyed reading my story.

How about you? What is your success story?

*weather-weather - a Filipino colloquial term which means unstable.

*Papa- father

*baon- snacks

*Lola- grandmother

*PhilSCA- Philippine State College of Aeronautics

@rgPhotography "Telling stories through the LENS."

37
$ 4.22
$ 4.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Summer5
Sponsors of rgPhotography
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rgPhotography
3 years ago

Comments

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very good article written by you ....its good and informative and its nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks @Fiza i hope that it can be an encouragement to the readers.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article.... We have a lots of dream but it never comes true..... I subscribe tou

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it with spices then fry.. 😊so nice your article Nssjjs snjs shjnzjsj Snksk Jsjks Jsjs snzjjz Skks Jsjsk Kzkns Uwishiw Hsus

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks @Pavel1

I'll visit your page too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry if I'm a bit too direct, but did your father die?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it's okay. But no, my father is still alive.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it's okay. But no, my father is still alive.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you @Biltz. Thanks for reading my article too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish your all dreams fulfill like philsca😊 I enjoyed your story a lot 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep on inspiring other peopleee! 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks. I hope that the footprints that I will leave will lead the young ones to believe that dreams can come true no matter how seemingly impossible it is.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You Keep dreaming big never put the limit on your dreams

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the lift @JohnCusack Yes I will try my best to reach my goals in life. Chasing dreams is tough but I believe that it can be done.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I enjoyed reading your story it's inspirational,keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks @Mishal I hope that my story will somehow inspire the readers to go get their dreams no matter what.

It can be done. If there is a will, there is a way to achieve it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Such a very nice and inspirational story of yours bro fro the time that i was reading your story i know that you are a good person keep it up and continue on reaching all your goals in life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks bro. All of it was only by the grace of God. I have nothing to brag about it. But i believe that by sharing my story others, especially the young ones, will possibly be inspired to pursue their dreams too. It wasn't an easy road. I remember for so many times, I was attending classes with just a glass of water in my stomach. I wanted to listen to my instructors but my craving for food was way louder than their voices. Its not easy but it can be done by God's grace. Thanks for dropping by bro @Annthony18

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is an amazing story. The sufferings ypu encountered molded you as who you are today. I am sure many people are inspired by your story.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks @Jabs That is what I am also hoping when I decided to share my story here. I was hoping to be an encouragement to others. That they too will go fight for their dreams in life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am sure you did.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're amazing!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you so much @Summer5 I really appreciate the $0.05 that you gave. I will strive hard to write more inspiring articles and be an encouragement to others, especially those who are in this platform too. I was also once a dreamer who was inspired to go catch my dreams because of the book I have read. That was written by John Maxwell. I want to return the same favor to our youth today in my own little way.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Never stop believing, of the truth dreams are achievable.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Pep
3 years ago

indeed, thank you for the cheer @Pep. Thanks for dropping by too. I'll go check your new articles too.☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. This is a good read. Thank you for sharing your success story to us. And you are so good at writing. I wish I had that kind of writing skills. Haha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahahaha! oh no. I'm flattered. But the truth is, it is you that I am looking up to. Your content is great and I really love visiting and revisiting your page. I'm a fan @Eirolfeam2 ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. Thank you for your thoughtful message. I wish you all the best on this site. I know your story will be heard. Just keep being positive. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I am hoping that too. I find this platform very interesting. Hehe you see, Im getting paid in doing the thing I love. And here I have met wonderful people like you too. People of the same interest as mine. Am happy to know you here. And I am looking forward to know more wonderful writers in this platform. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's good to know. Yes, there are a lot of wonderful writers on this site. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

great story Rg...very inspiring! Upvoted!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow! thank you so much @pusher I sincerely appreciate the lift. How was your article yesterday? Were you able to retreive it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wrote about it here: https://read.cash/@pusher/post-20bb021e

Please take a look when you have a few moments. =)

I hope you have a good night!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

sure i will. thanks friend

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A very inspiring story. Me my baon is 1 pesoπŸ˜† but I have biscuits. I also try Guava hunting with my friends πŸ˜† I miss my childhood while reading at your article it brings back some gold memories that I always Treasure. ❀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha! "guava hunting" LOVE IT! Nice term leejhen.

Yeah those years are gold. Best time of our life ever. Childhood memories always paint a smile on my face. Those were the days when we care less and we just enjoy and savor the moment more.

Thanks for commenting on my article. Happy morning to you. You better go to bed now πŸ˜πŸ˜…. Have some sleepπŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha I sleep like a chicken πŸ˜† I wake up the sleep then wake upπŸ˜† Guava huntingπŸ˜† as we will hide from the Guava's owner hahaha. Very unforgettable experienced

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha! you really have a unique humor. You made my day chicken πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚... Thank you and no more guava hunting alright? You'll easily get caught this time 😜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha yeah I can't run fast anymore πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahahaha! πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago