From seeds to plants - The story of my Balcony Garden.

14 49
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

I came back home and found some of my plants were dying. A few were savable but I had to uproot three of the plants - periwinkle, butterfly pea, and pumpkin. It was hard to accept but this is what it is. Fortunately, I kept some of the seeds from last year. So I decided to plant them again with the hope of seeing the beautiful fresh plants in a few days.

And I'm not disappointed!

Unfortunately, the soil of the pots dried out and looks like they need nutrition too. I added some banana āĻ¸ā§‡āĻ˛ and eggshell before planting the seeds. That was not enough so later I added some coconut pit as well.

As I have mentioned there were three types of seeds I had - periwinkle and butterfly pea flower, and pumpkin seeds. I kept them in a box for almost a year, was not sure if they are good till now. But seeing the spouting gave me hope.

I planned 6/7 seeds of butterfly pea and pumpkin flower in a hope that it will grow at least one. And guess what? I got to see only one seed per pot till now. hahaha...Maybe that's why they say, dream big!


Butterfly flower seeds.


Anyway, here's my pumpkin plant. It's just two days old but will not take long to grow.



And here's the tiny periwinkle plant. There were almost 20 seeds but only two plants came out. While adding a coconut pit to the pot I accidentally ruined one. And now I only have one. Let's see if it survives or not.

The butterfly pea flower is growing the best till now. It's looking great, isn't it?

I'm thinking about germinating some more seeds as I got only one plant per pot. Also, my mom gave me long beans, coriander, and cucumber seeds. I hope I will prepare some more soil and plant them in a few days.

This small achievement makes me so happy. It's not about the final product but the process, seeing them grow and occasionally giving some flowers and vegetables is all I ask for.


7
$ 0.08
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.02 from @Gianna-B
$ 0.01 from @Kawsarr
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Im really amazed how people could grow plants when everything i plant withers and die 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahaha... I also have many failure stories. Don't worry, keep growing. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just like my little vegetable farm. I wish to try planting those butterfly peas soon. They say halve bread is better than none

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would love to see yours. It's amazing to be able to grow something by our own, right?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At least you didn't loose hope when it wasn't growing out. Congratulations to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, it was frustrating but I was praying for the best. Thanks :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats, I am currently growing parsley and lost it because its been very hot and the soil dried out. Perhaps, the next set. Though my bitter ground is really thriving but my chilis aren't.. Some wins and some loses...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parsley needs a lot of moisture in the soil. Try it next time. I also grow bitter ground sometimes. Yes, it's sometimes winning and sometimes losing. Thanks for sharing :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, fun and frustrations... Bitter grounds are easy, just sun even grow on rubbles... Hihihi...water them, they love water too and many sun! Good luck

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree. Bitter grounds are easy. I do try the easy ones though. lol. Good to talk to you. Have a good day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats my friend. It's growing already my friend. I'm happy. I remember my experience too my friend. I was really happy when I saw, it was growing already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's a blessing to grow something on our own. Thanks for your inspiration.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend. It's a blessing from the above. You're welcome. ❤ī¸

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😊😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago