Finally, Here's What Happened To The Crypto Job Offer That I Got

13 39
Avatar for remofm
Written by
2 years ago

After weeks of waiting, and writing a script and storyboard for a crypto-related video, the decision is finally here.

No more long and flowery introduction.

The crypto website REJECTED me.

Here's what happened.

Sponsors of remofm
empty
empty
empty

Interview With The Website's General Manager

This story started when I got a job offer from a random user on LinkedIn. You can read the full story here.

Fast forward to the interview.

Last October 20, the website's general manager emailed me about the initial interview. After a short exchange, we agreed to virtually meet on October 22.

The interview went well. The website's GM was really polite and friendly. She was not intimidating at all. The virtual meeting was more of a conversation than an interview. We talked about the website, my current job, and of course, crypto.

In the end, she said that I need to write a script and create my own storyboard for a 5-minuter YouTube video. She added that further instructions will be emailed within the day. The virtual meet ended after 15 minutes.

Writing The Script And Creating A Storyboard

She asked me to write about this topic: "How DeFi is changing our financial systems?" She gave me 3 days to complete the script and storyboard. October 25 was my deadline.

After reading the email, I felt cold on my spine and shivered. I had no idea about what she just sent me!

Being a crypto beginner who just started joining this new world, it was a real challenge. My 7-year experience as a journalist had nothing to contribute. Plus, it was also difficult for me to research, write, and create my output while still fulfilling my duties in the newsroom.

But of course, I didn't back down. I gave it a shot!

Right after my work shift, I immediately researched about DeFi. I read countless articles from different crypto websites and watched videos on YouTube. I did all that on the night of October 22.

The next day, I wrote my script. Even after reading and watching about DeFi, it was still hard to write about it. It was also extra difficult to complete the script because I had errands to do and some responsibilities to fulfill in the office.

But I tried my best. It took me until October 24 to finish my script. I was sleepless for two nights. My fitness journey was even compromised because I had no time to workout and prepare my meals.

On October 25, the pressure was on! I just finished the script but my storyboard was still empty. So right after my work shift, I went straight to my laptop to make one. It was another difficult task because I never made a storyboard in my entire life.

Again, I tried my best. Fortunately, I was able to create one. I submitted my output just an hour before the deadline ended.

The Waiting Game

The next day, I didn't get a response from the website's GM. So I tried to follow up with the guy who messaged me on LinkedIn. He said that he also had not heard from the GM, too.

On October 27, the GM finally emailed me and said that they were still evaluating the submissions of all the candidates.

I waited. I stopped following up the entire week but I kept my eye on my email and LinkedIn profile. I was expecting them to message me anytime.

But there was nothing. The people who were friendly and enthusiastic to offer me a crypto-related job went silent.

"You Are Not The Leading Candidate"

On November 3, I followed up with the website's GM again. Still no answer for a day.

Until on the dawn of November 4, I saw a notification and read her name. I was excited to read her email!

"Thanks for following up! Unfortunately, you are not the leading candidate for this role but we are definitely keeping you in mind for future opportunities when we expand to do daily news update videos! Keep working on your crypto knowledge in the meantime!"

I was REJECTED.

It saddened me to think that I spent almost my entire weekend, temporarily stopping my workout routine and preparing my meals, and canceling some of my errands, just to complete the script and storyboard. I felt like a waste and the dumbest person in the cryptoverse.

It broke my heart. I pitied myself.

At least, for a moment. Here's why.

After reading the email, I immediately informed the guy who messaged me on LinkedIn about my fate on this crypto website. Here's what he said:

"Sorry to hear that. I will keep you on file though when the time comes that they wanna move forward with the more news forward video content. Thanks!"

Lessons Learned

His message uplifted me. Because if you read the GM's email and the guy's message, there was one thing in common: news video content.

I realized that I was not the dumbest in cryptoverse at all. I was just not the perfect fit for the writer/producer for the website's video outputs because what I created was more inclined to news than a feature one.

I was not also a loser because this experience helped me understand everything about DeFi and how it can challenge the banks, open my mind to new opportunities, and accept rejections while continuing to improve myself.

I told you in the first part of this story that I was half-hearted to accept the offer whenever I got positive feedback. Since we're already here, this might mean that the news industry still needs me, especially since the Philippines election is approaching.

Thank you for reading! This is remofm, a full-time journalist in the Philippines. I mainly write about my fitness journey, property investment, cryptoverse, and personal experiences as a journo who lives in the city.

Have you experienced the same rejection from an employer? Tell me about how you dealt with it in the comment section below.

5
$ 2.67
$ 2.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.05 from @projsendaheart
+ 2
Avatar for remofm
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

My question was answered after reading your article po..., those moments when we can say "charge to experience".., still, a realization after rejection 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, mayora! Sa 3rd line pa lang, sinabi ko na para wala na masyadong basa nang mahaba. Hihi. My experience with them was still worth it. At least 'di ba, I gave it a shot and I learned from my mistakes. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po, hindi ko na sana babasahin ng buo, pero nakakhiya naman.., nyahahaha.., hindi man nakuha, atleast may natutunan 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm about to complete University graduate in this upcoming 2022! Soo i'll face this problem for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe in you! Rejections are gateways to success. You'll get used to it along the way until you reach your gaol I'm saying this because I need it too. Goodluckk on your job hunting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I've experienced of being rejected as well. But unlike your experience, that company where I applied for a specific position did not come back to me after the face to face panel technical interview. ..they did not reached out to me or informed me that I did not passed , etc..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's more disheartening - not getting feedback after an application. But our rejections made us better today. Thank you, Khing14!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, indeed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Was that paid? Ang effort gumawa ng script and video tapos walang bayad? Kasi in terms of online job, may chance na scam ka. They just took your video and they will use it on your end. I hope I am wrong. I hope you got paid even though it was just a testing phase for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oww. Thanks for the heads up, itravelRox! I didn't think it that way. But it's really possible! The sad part was I wasn't paid. I'll monitoring their website and channel to see if they'll upload my work without my permission. Salamat ulit!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron kasi tinatwag na paid test. Kahit article writing, web design, admin tasks binabayaran ako. If di gusto ang work ko, at least im paid. next time pa bayad ka na. Hehe! Nakakahilo kaya JD mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Noted on this, itravelRox! Thank you for letting me know because I had no idea. Grabe. Next time, I'll demand na from the employer. I didn't realize kasi na, oo nga noh? Ngayon lang ako nakapag-apply na hiningian akong output. Kapal ng face. Haha. Kasi usually 'di ba, a portfolio is enough. Thanks ulit, itravelRox!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No prob

$ 0.00
2 years ago