I Got A Crypto-Related Job Offer! Shall I Take It?

7 47
Avatar for remofm
Written by
2 years ago

I know it’s still premature to share this because nothing is final yet. But I’m just so excited to tell you about it!

A New York-based crypto website wants me to be part of its team.

Is it time for me to get out of my comfort zone by taking this opportunity?

Sponsors of remofm
empty
empty
empty

How It Happened

Last October 13, I received an unexpected message on LinkedIn from someone outside work. I was just about to sleep that time when I thought of opening my profile. I had that feeling that there was something that I missed before I ended my day.

True enough, someone from the cypto website Aliens.com reached out to me. As indicated in the screenshot above, the guy offered me to be part of the video production team for the site. He specifically wanted me to be one of the producers.

Honestly, I had no idea about Aliens.com. It was my first time to hear about it. So, I immediately searched it on Google. Upon confirmation that it did exist, I replied to him and asked for more details about the job. I was quite ashamed because I sent a late response.

More Details About The Job

After exchanging some more messages the next day, he emailed me a document that contained the tasks and responsibilities for the job.

In a nutshell, the website wanted a producer who will write scripts for 3 to 5-minute crypto-related videos for their YouTube and TikTok accounts. Exciting, isn’t it?

At least for me! Because everything that was written on the job description mirrored my responsibilities in my current job as a Senior News Producer. I felt that I was a perfect fit!

Except For This

I may be a pro in writing and journalism, but I’m still a newbie in crypto. This is why I’m having second thoughts about this opportunity.

Writing about crypto is like writing sports and business. As mentioned in my blog about how journalists work from home, writing about sports and business is not my thing. I can write about the pandemic, politicians, elections, entertainment, feature stories, interview questions, name them all. But sports and business news are really a big no no.

Shall I Take It?

To prove that I was really a good pick, I sent him some of my blogs from read.cash and some of the news stories that aired on our programs.

Moments later, he called me and we talked more about the job offer. He said the following:

  • He will arrange my interview with the general manager of Aliens.com.

  • There are 5-6 candidates for the producer role.

  • Candidates will have to write a script according to the topic that the GM will provide.

  • The salary will be in USDT.

  • I can work part-time.

So, nothing is really final yet as of this time. I expect him to reach out to me again next week for the interview with the website’s general manager.

After reading his unexpected message on LinkedIn up to our phone conversation, I have been contemplating whether to accept the job.

Upon consultation with the people closest to my heart, I have decided to give it a shot! This is all new to me which makes it more exciting!

However, I’m still half-hearted. I’m thinking to stay in my current job since the elections are approaching. I don’t want to brag but the company needs me now more than ever. I can’t leave my fellow soldiers on the battleground.

How This Opportunity Came

If you’re wondering how this all happened, that’s because I have an updated LinkedIn profile.

Right before joining noise.cash and read.cash, I fixed my LinkedIn profile first. I added all the necessary career information, attached my latest CV, uploaded a new profile picture and cover photo, and followed some industry leaders. I also included in my bio that I am a “crypto beginner”.

I have become more active in the employment website where I also share my read.cash articles and interact with users, mostly my officemates and former work colleagues.

So if you're looking for a job, I recommend updating your LinkedIn profile too!

Again, nothing is final yet about this crypto-related job offer. I will give you an update once everything is finalized.

Thank you for reading! This is remofm, a full-time journalist in the Philippines. I mainly write about my fitness journey, property investment, cryptoverse, and personal experiences as a journo who lives in the city.

How about you? Have you got a similar job offer? Tell me about it in the comment section below!

#career #job #opportunity

 

7
$ 2.40
$ 2.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
+ 2
Avatar for remofm
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Wow that's great! Ano balita? Kinuha m ung job?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi LucyStephanie! I published the result just now. You may want to check it out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lols. Onga pala may linkedin account ako! Gosh. But that sounds like a good opportunity sir no? Any more news from them?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's exciting! I'm still waiting for them to contact me again. The guy just emailed me today, asking for my latest CV. He said he's going to forward it to the NY team. I'll let you know what will happen next.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I understand it correctly, the offer is not a full time but just a part time job.. Why don't give it a shot then? I mean if you're hesitant because you don't want to leave your current job, then try to tell them the truth and ask them if they are offering only a part time job, how long do you need to work for them in a daily basis.. And then try to weigh it in.. If that won't exhaust you then grab it..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the inputs, Khing14! I appreciate it. I would really love to believe that it's part-time. Because the job description (photo 3) said it's a "contract role with full-time commitment". But the guy you reached out to me said that it can be "part-time". I don't know which is which. This is one of the things that I will have to clarify to them. Thanks again, Khing14!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah.. If it's just part time, grab it

$ 0.00
2 years ago