Espresso Coffee at home ☕

7 26
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Hey guys! How about a cup of coffee for all?

Ok, I am blessed that I haven't lost the ability to smell and taste food and drinks, thank God almighty for that.

Despite the hard time battling Covid in a not so favorable environment, I can't be too harsh either and not acknowledge that it has it's perks, like drinking Espresso Coffee every morning.

Today I wrote a post about it on Hive, on a community dedicated to coffee and all related to it. Let me share some of that post with you, so, shall we?

Do you know what a Greca Coffee Machine is?

Well, I wouldn't be surprised if you don't, or maybe you do, but not by that name. Let me show you what I'm talking about....

This baby is a Home Espresso Machine, one we call in Venezuela a Greca Coffee Maker.
I was familiar with this type of machine since I was little because my grandma on my dad's side had one at her house.
The one you see there on the picture is my sister's Greca Machine, in fact she has three! Look 👇👇👇

This made me think more and more about the name and where did it came from so I did a little research.

The original name is Moka Pot, also called Greca or Macchineta and was invented in Italy in 1933 by Italian engineer Alfonso Bialetti.

I won't explain the workings of the machine or anything because I hardly understand them myself, what I do know is that is a very cheap and quick way to have good quality Espresso Coffee at the comfort of your own home. It also provides a serene environment because the whole house impregnates with the coffee aroma while the machine is doing it's thing, it's amazing, you fell a warm hug of coffee even before tasting it, and you almost feel like you're in an Italian coffee shop just enjoying a cup of coffee and a beautiful view.

My mom and dad have their stories involving a Greca Pot. Dad for instance used to say that his grandma only drank coffee made on that pot, and every morning before going to the mill, she rolled up a cigarette and brewed her coffee. One morning the ash of the cigarette fell into her cup and she didn't noticed and drank it! She said it was the best coffee she ever had, crazy lady!.

Mom on the other had, remember that my grandpa, a mechanic and very strict man, was very picky with his coffee, and even had a ritual for the afternoon one, after a hard day's work, grandma served him his Greca Pot coffee cup and then he poured a splash of whiskey to make what they called "Carrajillo", what I know as Irish Coffee.

For me, brewing coffee in a Greca Pot is a mix of emotions and memories, of times long past, of longing and of love, of family and life it self. Now that I'm sick with Covid, the best part of my day is the morning, when I smell the freshly brewed coffee, amazing! Thank God for that ❣️



Check out my wonderful sponsors and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty


This is 100% Original Content.

The images are both mine and from Unsplash.



See you next time.

✨✨ Blessings ✨✨

@rebeysa85

January 19th, 2022.

7
$ 2.37
$ 2.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jento
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
+ 4
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

Espresso has never been my thing. But I do love coffee. But for me just a regular cup of Joe will do. I know a lot of people who definitely like it though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can I taste a coffee 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can I have a cup of coffee? heheehh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also had one of those, I left it ready at night, the next day I just turned on the stove and went to the bathroom, when I left the bathroom the coffee was ready. Excellent coffee. I hope you recover soon, apparently you didn't lose your sense of smell.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A cup please!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Devil is here. Make one for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh it's still from the oldest coffee machines. I used to have one, too. It's not too bad to brew in a brewpot, either.

$ 0.00
2 years ago