A Holly Jolly Christmas.

10 40
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Have a holly jolly Christmas
It's the best time of the year
Well i don't know if there'll be snow
But have a cup of cheer...

Written by Johnny Marks

Merry Christmas my dear BCH family!!

What can I say that hasn't been said already by so many people? This year is coming to an end and for many people has been a great ending, but for others, tragedy has come to knock on their doors, like that unexpected acquaintance nobody likes and shows up to make you miserable.

I've been on that side of the door, maybe in a different scenario, but I know what it feels like there's nothing to be happy or cheerful, and with that, I've also learned that God doesn't give us anything we cannot handle and does not put us in situations we cannot get out of. So, I think of those people who are less fortunate and hope and pray to God they can overcome the difficulties they have, and also, celebrate the blessings given to me and my family this Christmas.

I apologize in advance if this turns out to be a boring article ❤️ ✨

Christmas Eve.

I woke up in a foul mood, I didn't sleep well at all and was pissed that my sister decided to bring from Caracas the same stuff I was making here, Black Cake and Bread Ham. She knew I was making them here so she could've chosen anything else to bring but no, she make the same I did and decided to bring that and that made me angry.

The other thing was that my brother who is in Argentina sent some money for us to buy a Christmas present for our nephew, but instead of sending it sooner to avoid us the trouble to go out on Christmas Eve, he send it exactly on Christmas Eve so, guess what? We had to go out to the madness of downtown and the crazy last-minute buyers to get the present. also, we ended up paying more because, unlike other countries, over here the prices go up rapidly and without any shame whatsoever. We got the gift anyways...

Back home, I calmed down, because my sister, her husband, and my beautiful Nino had already arrived and he great us, me and Gigi with such love and happiness that any sign of anger I had gone away.

I saw what she brought and when she saw what I did she said:

Didn't I tell you that I was bringing those things?

Yes, you did? After I had already bought everything for the bread and baked the cake!

Well, hubby likes your cooking better than mine...

I laughed so hard I snorted, because joking or not, he does say that, with my cooking and moms and Gigi's. He tasted my bread and said that mine was better haha, and she was smiling, well, smirking until he asked why I didn't put cappers and hard-boiled eggs in the filling.

What?? In what universe Venezuelan Ham Bread has cappers and eggs?

He then told us a story in which he was at a bakery in Caracas and they served him a piece of Ham Bread with puff pastry and that had cappers and hard-boiled eggs. I've never heard of such a thing, and I lived in Caracas and my dad was from Caracas and he never mentioned anything like that, except the puff pastry thing, that he did talk about and he loved Ham Bread with puff pastry.

This is not with puff pastry and I made that from scratch.

Later on emerged some family drama, not on our side, on my brother-in-law's side. He had a pretty nasty discussion with his brother over the phone and it was as bad as they come. You could hear the pain in his voice, and that was heartbreaking, I mean, he's a little obnoxious sometimes and loud, very loud, and he's not used to filtering his thoughts before opening his mouth but this time the truth was on his side and hearing the frustration and pain in his voice that was really sad.

He then ate some more and ask me to come with him and my sister to buy Ice, Drinks and a Power Extention for the cellphone chargers. I took the chance to give him a small tour throughout the town but it was just to give him time to calm down and get centered.

"If Saint John has it Saint John gives it..."

When we got back home they went to check in the hotel, while I was preheating the oven for the Chicken and making the Salad, ah, and decorating the cakes.

By 7 pm we were all dressed up and me? I was pretty, pretty exhausted! And there was plenty of night ahead of me, so I drank some soda and ate chips and chilled out while the chicken was cooking. I took some pictures of mom and tried to post something on Noise, but I got a nasty and rude reply from one of the moderators of the community I was posting in so I deleted it and didn't post anything else for the day.

While that episode made me angry I decided not to give in, I was with my family, we were having fun, we were together and that was enough for me and wasn't going to ruin it by replying to that nasty moderator.

At 10pm we sat down to eat dinner, and mom gave grace, a beautiful prayer for all our family members the ones that were, the ones that weren't, the ones with shared blood and the ones that are family by extension, plus, all the people around the world.

The bread my sister brought...

My brother in law ate more than anyone of course, and my nephew was laughing during the whole meal, everything is a party to him, he's just too cute. At 1am they left after saying Merry Christmas and putting Baby Jesus in his crib/manger.

Christmas Day.

We were up at 7am, 7am on Christmas Day.

Can you imagine it? Haha maybe you can.

Anyways, We ate breakfast, a good old cup of coffee with a warm piece of Ham Bread, my sister's Ham Bread, since that was the one we picked for the dinner and following breakfast. Mine were still packed and ready for whenever the other one run out, which was going to be soon, meaning that when they arrived from the hotel that was going to be the one they were going to have.

They came in at 9:30 am, Nino was saying Ho-Ho all over the car, he was so excited to see what was under the tree. My sister won a personalized Santa Gift Bag for him last year, so his gifts weren't wrapped, they were in that bag.

We got him a Cuatro ( a Venezuelan Typical Instrument) and they bought him a Police Station Car Track and an Avengers Toy Gun.

By 11am they were leaving, because they had a Christmas Lunch scheduled with my sisters In-Laws. After they left, me, Gigi and Mom, closed the house doors, Mom went to her room to watch her beloved Christmas Movies on Youtube and Gigi and I watched Alice in Borderland on Netflix.

We ate christmas dinner leftovers and just rested a much needed rest...

This morning I got up so late, at 9am, asking what day it was!.

I was and still am on the lows, but satisfied that we had a very nice Christmas without alcohol and loud noises, just the family talking and having a good time.

And what else can you ask for on Christmas?

It's not about the gifts and the luxury you might display, it's about unity, closeness, bonding, caring, cherishing the time we have left with those we love, that's what matters, at least to us is like that, and while some people may think it was boring, for us it was A Holly Jolly Christmas.



Check out my wonderful sponsors and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty


This is 100% Original Content.

All pictures are mine taken with my sister's Techno Spark 6Go.



See you next time.

✨✨Blessings✨✨

@rebeysa85

December 26th, 2021.

8
$ 2.80
$ 2.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Porwest
$ 0.05 from @Jijisaur
+ 3
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

How beautiful you look, the table is a spectacle, very nice celebration. Congratulations

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh! Its nice to know you had a jolly one! God bless and more blessing to your family...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you dear, I hope you had a great time too 💙🎄🎅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm craving with your food hehehe 😁 Anyway, so true that Christmas is not all about the fancy gift and luxury place, what matters is the love.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww thank you, the chicken has herbal butter beneath the skin to make it more juicy 😁

Yes, love is the most beautiful thing we can ask for, the laughter of the kids, the warm hugs of our parents, the complicity between the siblings, it's just amazing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Holly Jolly Christmas. I got the flavor of bubbling life, spreading love, passion, anti-passion, and empathy throughout the entire article. Enjoy a peaceful and happy time ahead.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you dear! I hope you had a great time too. Wow, such beatiful words you say ❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I enjoyed Christmas with regular food and serious thoughts about the common mass. https://read.cash/@Unity/christmas-and-the-common-mass-14efba5a I hope you would like it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful as always! We woke up at Christmas eve to eat and chit-chat haha! And then the next morning the actual Christmas, I woke up at around 8am because I stayed up late. And then I sleep at 11 am again haha!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you Jiji! Haha I cooked on Christmas Eve and ate on Christmas day haha, watching Netflix and enjoying some peace and quiet after my sister left. We still are eating leftovers!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago