My Online Ordeal With Scammers

14 38
Avatar for pejudear
1 year ago
Topics: Security, My Ordeal

People still fall for scammers, and i am not an exception. Scammers are heartless, they will play smart to make sure they take a huge part of your money, they are just so good in luring people into their traps with good stories. I don't where they learn such tricks from.

I was introduced by a friend to a data buying site. According to my friend, the site sells data at affordable rates. At first i doubted the genuineness of the site, because it was barely a month old. Since someone i know is already using the site, what stops me from trying it too. I signed up on the site yesterday, funded my account with some money, in the process of funding the account, i was asked for my bank card details which i equally submitted it so i can process the funding. Before clicking the submit button, i did a very huge mistake by saving my card details on the site.........there's no way i can take it back.

Everything went smooth the whole of yesterday not until this morning when i powered on my phone i got a message from my bank that i was debit of some amount of money. How? I asked myself, i can't remember performing any transaction after the one i did on the data site. How come i get this message. Somebody somewhere stole the $4 from my account, it struck in me that my card details i saved has gotten into the hands of thieves. I was so lucky that it wasn't my main account i used for the data buying, but i had to do something fast before they take another money that will be sent into the account.

I went to my bank later in the day, complain every to the customer care reps, and the only option i was given was to blocke the card. I accepted it, the atm card right now has been deactivated, and i have applied for a new one. I have learnt my lessons, not everything that appears cheap in the internet is good. Next time i will do proper research before i even think of paying for something online with my bank card.

The sole purpose of the internet wasn't meant to harm its users, but it has since become a den for fraudsters and scammers. Even with the level of technology advancement, one still needs to worry about online scams.

You shouldn't wait until you have been attacked by this people, you need to make sure that you've blocked every access that this people will use to capitalize on to steal from you.

Get A Strong Password

You definitely need a strong and unique password to keep your accounts secured. Personally i don't think anyone can hack my account because my passwords are always weird. If you can't make yours wierd, get a strong password, it could comprise of random numbers, uppercase, lowercase, and symbols (where possible). And make sure not to use the same password for all your accounts.

Don't Give Your Personl Informations To Every Site

You should be selective and cautioned enough to know the kind of sites you submit your personal informations like your bank card details, birth date, passport information, insurance policy numbers, and many others. If you don't trust the security of a site, don't enter your personal informations there. Not every online store is safe out there, be caution when dealing with anything online when it comes to sharing your personal informations.

Use Different Passwords For Each Of your Accounts

This is very important aspect in securing our accounts from fraudsters. If you use one pattern of password for your facebook, massenger, crypto wallets, and other accounts,when hackers have access to one of your account, it is so possible that they can compromise other accounts. Create unique passwords for each of your accounts, don't worry about how you will remember them, everything has been made easy through the internet. A password manager gives you the flexibility to access all your passwords anytime. The are so many of them on the internet, do your own research on what will be best for you and install it on your smartphone, guard it with a strong and unique password which you will always remember. Password manager is like a bank vault, it needs to be protected because it is keeping all other passwords.

Perform Passwords Update On Regular Intervals

You might not be doing this often since you already have a unique and strong password. But i recommend you update your passwords ones in a while. Updating of password helps when you forgot to log out of your account on a different devil you were logged in with. Make sure you take this measure to protect your account from fraudsters, spam-spewing bots, and scammers.

Don't Open Links From Unknown Sources

You shouldn't open even link that is been sent to you no matter how catchy it looks. Scammers now use links to get access into people's accounts, ensure that you make your own findings first about that link and where it coming from before you click on it. Don't fall for their tricks, be more wiser than them.

Becareful With Public Internet Connections

Using public WiFi hotspots can expose some of your personal informations to fraudsters. So it is adviceable that you move some of your personal informations that are so important to a secured physical storage. Don't give scammers, and hackers room to defraud you.

Closing Thoughts

Scammers are multiplying everyday with advance skills to get people into their net. The online world is where they commit some of their deeds, you should be wise enough to detect them when they come. Make sure to protect yourself, and informations very well

Image from HERE

12
$ 2.74
$ 2.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 3
Sponsors of pejudear
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for pejudear
1 year ago
Topics: Security, My Ordeal

Comments

I am always too careful with creating passwords. Though I use the same passwords for all my accounts and it looks so strong that one cannot even think of it. Having different password for me is not easy as I might not remember them again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's okay if you have a strong password that cannot be hacked. I made a point in the article, there are secured means to store your passwords if you have plenty of them. Try reading about password manager incase you want to have different passwords for each of your accounts later in the future. Thank you for coming around, you are the best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I suffered the same thing as you two years ago in Milan, Italy. Following payments made to some stores, I kept receiving messages that $ 2 and $ 3 were withdrawn from my account every few hours. The amount withdrawn, being small, the bank did not notice but I was still receiving notices from the account with the withdrawn money. I called the bank and explained. I was amazed to hear that the money was being used in Germany, a few hundred miles from where I was. I chose the option for 2 factors for any transaction, it's better to lose two minutes for verification than the money in the account. So, I get the message whether I agree with the withdrawal or not. So be careful!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You acted so fast. I don't just know if there are no better ways to track down this fraudsters. They are just getting more and more by the day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I get paid more than $90 to $100 per hour for working online. I heard about this job 3 months ago and after joining this I have earned easily $10k from this without having online working skills . Simply give it a shot on the accompanying site…

Here is I started.……… HERE====)> WWW.WORKBZ.COM

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope this is not a bait site, how sure are you of this information. A lot of people could be reading it anyways.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Scammers are everywhere we should be careful about them. Thanks God you didn't lose much. Yeah we should not share our personal data to anyone. You should blocked your ATM at once. I have eagle eyes on these sites and didn't even try to open them. You take it lesson for next time and don't worry about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was the first step i took to ensure my safety first before anyother thing. I deactivated the card, then apply for a new one which i will get in 3 days time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good you take step to save your further funds.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right dear, most of this sites needs proper scrutiny before you register on them

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry for your lose dear, I hope you get back your money if possible. This tips are top notched and anyone following it, will not fall victim

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks wrinkle, i am not too sure of getting back the money. But i know is that i have learned my lesson.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All these points you have given are the best to keep your account safe. There are so many who have lose their hard tokens and so, we should not keep our password anyhow.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should take this precautions to remain safe, so that we will not fall in the hands of this people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago