The Great Wall of China

Avatar for mostanzid.123-
3 years ago

The Great Wall of China, the largest man-made project in the world, is a series of ancient fortifications built in northern China. Although named the 'wall', it is an integrated defense system including not only lofty and solid walls, but also massive signal towers, barriers, barracks, garrison stations, and fortresses along the walls, together forming an insurmountable line, for thousands of years, to protect the territories of ancient Chinese states against the nomadic tribes from the northern steppe. This long wall, just like a gigantic dragon, winds up and down across deserts, grasslands, mountains and plateaus, stretching approximately 21,196 kilometers from west to east of China.

Renowned as a UNESCO World Heritage site since 1987 and one of the Seven Wonders of the Medieval World, the Great Wall of China is not just 'medieval'. Early in the 7th century BC, several ancient states built their own boundary walls, which were later connected by Qin Shi Huang (259 – 210BC), the First Emperor of China, and known as the '10,000-li Long Wall'. In the following 2,000 years, many dynasties continued to consolidate and extend the Great Wall, for not only defense, but also border trade management, imposing tariffs, and immigration control.

The Great Wall's military use faded away, but now as an unparalleled architectural feat with historical significance, it is certainly the No. 1 iconic attraction in China. There are wall remains found in 15 provinces of China. The well-preserved sections we see today were mainly built during the Ming Dynasty (1368 – 1644), among which the most popular are around Beijing, including Badaling, Mutianyu, Juyongguan, and Simatai. A day tour or a long hike along the Great Wall allows you to travel back in time to feel the thousands of years’ vicissitudes and the ethos of the ancient Kingdom of China.

Where is the Great Wall of China located?

Location: north China, East Asia

Total Length: 21,196.18 kilometers (13,170.70 miles), half of the length of the equator

Length of Ming Great Wall: 8,851.8 kilometers (5,500.3 miles)

West End: the First Fire Tower of the Great Wall, in Jiayuguan of Gansu

East End: Hushan Great Wall, in Dandong of Liaoning

Course & Coverage: 15 provinces and regions, roughly from east to west – Heilongjiang, Jilin, Liaoning, Hebei, Beijing, Tianjin, Shandong, Henan, Shanxi, Shaanxi, Inner Mongolia, Ningxia, Gansu, Qinghai, Xinjiang.

See More Great Wall Maps

Which Section of Great Wall to Visit

The official survey by the National Cultural Heritage Administration of China reveals that Inner Mongolia, Hebei, and Shanxi are the top three regions boasting the most Great Wall relics. The walls, crossing 26 degrees of longitude, and not machine-made, appear in totally diversified status and sceneries. Generally the walls in east China are kept in good condition, while those in the wild northwest have been heavily weathered or damaged.

Beijing, owning only 5.38% of all the wall relics throughout China, has the quintessence of the Ming Great Wall. The best-preserved and most-visited sections are generally within 130 km north of downtown Beijing.

First-time visitors to Beijing: Badaling, or Mutianyu

Return visitors: Juyongguan, or Simatai (with Gubei Water Town)

Experienced hikers: Jiankou (wild and dangerous)

Best sections out of Beijing: Shanhaiguan in Hebei, Jiayuguan in Gansu, Zhenbeitai in Shaanxi

56
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Swca.ch
Avatar for mostanzid.123-
3 years ago

Comments

One of the wonders of the world for sure. Want to go there sometime.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes.... dear...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice comnts. I subscribe you. Plz...subscribed me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Subbed back :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love this place very much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes dear....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks dear...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks... dear...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wlcm

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks....dear..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Famous place in China, I plan to visit Great Wall but there is Pandemic so maybe soon if everything gets back to normal

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes.. dear...this is great for chaina

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes yes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks....dear...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

very nice broo ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks..dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i saw a movie which name a great wall

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes dear...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I subscribed youm plz back me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's beautiful... I also love China's technology

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes... dear...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You look preetty nice sister... Not be broken plz. I stay with you by cmments like. You also stay with me plz.. By comments like. Pls subscribe me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Smiles..we are one here. Done

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot...❤❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

❤❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks...dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i comment on your post. but you do not comment my post. if you subscribe me and comment. i will do again

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ok

$ 0.00
3 years ago

💙🧡❤️💛

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Impressive pictures and the wall. Do you travel a lot?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes.. i travel in my own ability

$ 0.00
3 years ago

May be you love to travel...dont know...but willing...i subscribe you.. Plz..u also me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So beautiful place

$ 0.00
User's avatar Avi
3 years ago

thanks..dear...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I subscribed you. Plz stay withe by subscribe me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

a famous place everyone wants to see

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes dear... thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm subscribe your profile, Please subscribe me..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

alrady done... dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

done... you do it also

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know you are a good man. So plz stay with me by subscribe my id and see many important thinks...article...etc.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks..dear... love you..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Best wall in china border

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow I like your article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks dear,,,,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Someday I'll go there and take some beautiful pictures and also travel to whole world to see our beautiful places

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes dear......

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I subscribed you. Hope that you will back me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks dear...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you ....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I learned a lot from this post. Thank you for giving me such a beautiful post. I hope to get more posts like this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks..dear...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most wlc

$ 0.00
3 years ago

💙🧡❤️💛

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks...dear..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wlc

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very nice dear keep sharing 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago

done....dear...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder how hard working the people in the time of it's on construction are. I wish to go to that historical and biggest man-made wall in the future.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks...dear...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Plz subscribe me . I already subscribed you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure. I'll look into your articles dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you for giving me such a beautiful post. I hope to get more posts like

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks dear....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This wall has soo many rumors

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope one day i can visit this monument

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes..thanks...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

very beautiful place💜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That wall is like the famous wall of Jericho

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks...dear..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks....dear..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The great wall of Chine is really an amazing buildings. Many times i have read that the Great Wall is visisble from the Moon. IS that really ture? lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes.. it visible from mooon. thanks...dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your comment is prett nice as like as you. I stay with you by subscribe.. Cmnts like you. Plz u also subscribe me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful article my friend.. Very amazing wall and its really one of the best trademark of the country.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes.. it has a history....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks..dear...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am subscribe your chanel.plz subscribe back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes. thanks dear ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Previously it was said that the wall was visible from space also, but that has been proven wrong I think.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The wall is well renowned

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice information. Subcribe me I will back you. https://read.cash/@prince90/15-benefits-of-mango-8d320044

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice information. Subcribe me I will back you. https://read.cash/@prince90/15-benefits-of-mango-8d320044

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice photograpy.please subscribe me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice article dear, plz subscribe me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now I know .Thank you I got more information from this article .I hope someday I go there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is mind blowing to think how they built it, how many years it must have taken, how many people must have died.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will visit here after corona virus pandemic. My all procedures have done before lockdown. But corona didn’t let me go there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes..dear....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can u subscribe me? I have just subscribed u

$ 0.00
3 years ago

done dear....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow so awesome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks..dear..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks...dear..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wlc Dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like the place...so nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks...dear...

$ 0.00
3 years ago