Fish Balls / Chicken Balls (pinoy street food '6')

28 45
Avatar for moneymakinghub
3 years ago

If balut is the most infamous street food, then fish balls are arguably the most iconic. Many Filipinos grew up eating it so for us, fish balls are the quintessential street food. They’re basically balls of flour made with some type of flaked fish meat.

[bad iframe src]

Of all the street food dishes we tried today, fish balls were the ones I was most excited about. I left for the US at barely 14 so this was probably my first time to have them again in almost 30 years. Unlike banana q or turon, a stick of fish balls wasn’t something you could easily have at home, at least not the authentic kind. I remember my mom bringing home frozen supermarket fish balls once, but they just weren’t the same.

To be honest, the fish balls we had today were more like that supermarket variety. They were crunchier and bigger, unlike the soft, flat-ish fish balls I remember from my school days. I made that observation to Ren and she agreed. These seemed different from the ones we grew up with. Evolution of street food I guess?

Speaking of street food evolution, these weren’t around in our youth either. We were surprised to find that the fish ball vendors of today also sell chicken balls. They’re bigger and almost double the price of fish balls.

[bad iframe src]

Even though they’re not how I remember them to be, eating fish balls today brought back a flood of fond boyhood memories. Growing up, I remember how pushcart vendors would wait outside our school with pans of deep-frying fish balls. We’d gather around the pan and stab fish balls with thin barbecue sticks before dunking them in one of three sauces. I didn’t know what was in the sauces back then, but one sauce was brown and sweet, another was spicy (vinegar with chili), and the third was a combination of the two. I always went for the sweet. Good times. 🙂

Expect to Pay: Around PHP 2 for every 3 pcs of fish balls, PHP 2.50 for every 2 pcs of chicken balls

Kindly visit also my other articles about pinoy street food.

https://read.cash/@moneymakinghub/balut-pinoy-street-food-1-d402889d

https://read.cash/@moneymakinghub/buko-pinoy-street-food-2-c329c3fa

https://read.cash/@moneymakinghub/banana-q-kamote-q-pinoy-street-food-3-cd0813ec

https://read.cash/@moneymakinghub/chicharon-bulaklak-inihaw-ad87d4c7

Thank you for reading this article.

36
$ 0.00
Avatar for moneymakinghub
3 years ago

Comments

I tried it great and it is really delicious, I want to eat something like this again. I can't wait to prepare something like this again, and to watch your posts you have a big sub from me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, you better try it again if posible.. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahemn my tempora kandin jan sir? 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wala pa po.. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was away from and really missing' our filipino dishes. Tried this and oh lal la...i love it.😘 my kid hates fish bt with a little trick, he bought it. He loves it so much!😍 thank u so much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try it if posible... :) my kids like it too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My fave too! and tempura :) I don't like the chicken..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have a lot of choices sa tusok tusok.. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wahhhhhh im craving for thissss I wish I didn't open your article 🤤🤤🤤 give me some pleaseee I miss street foods like this. I will go to town later for sure to buy some 😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try to buy it again later.. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes for sure hehe uhm can you add sponsor block on your any articles? Please

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really missed these kind of food😔 Kwek Kwek and fishball are my favourite😍 . After classes we go and buy these food with my classmates and enjoy eating it but sadly we can't do these anymore because of the pandemic happening right now😔I wish my friends and I will eat those foods again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We're all missing this kind of street food.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sad I missed it so badly😔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think this is the most famous streetfood, by that simple taste and affordability to buy by people.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, i think this is the cheapest street food you'll ever had..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah no one can defeat it cheapness

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cheap but really addicting food

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I miss eating this food

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just try it now madam.. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay

$ 0.00
3 years ago

super i love the fish ball, thats my one of my favorite especially the kikiam.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, very cheap in value but it reat taste good

$ 0.00
3 years ago