Buko (pinoy street food '2')

2 15
Avatar for moneymakinghub
3 years ago

Buko is the Tagalog word for young coconut. I’ve lived in the Philippines most of my life and I never thought of buko as street food, but I guess you can say it is. Aside from being used in Filipino cooking, fresh buko sold in wooden pushcarts is a common sight in the Philippines, even in big cities like Manila.

Buko vendors will hack the coconut in front of you and serve it with a straw so you can drink it on the spot. If you don’t want a whole coconut, many vendors also offer buko juice made with condensed milk and strands of freshly grated coconut meat. I actually prefer the latter because it’s usually served chilled, but I find fresh buko juice to be refreshing even at room temperature.

[bad iframe src]

I didn’t know this growing up but buko juice is said to be very good for you as well. Apart from being an excellent way to stay hydrated, it’s also known to prevent kidney stones, reduce sugar levels, regulate blood pressure, and improve digestion.

Thank yoy for reading this article.

Kindly visit also my other article regarding pinoy street food.

https://read.cash/@moneymakinghub/balut-pinoy-street-food-1-d402889d

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for moneymakinghub
3 years ago

Comments

Very healthy beverage just like a clean water. :) this is one of the best juice for me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Buko was the most known tree in our country, so many resources we get in that tree and make it a usable things,and of course as food and sweet beverage to drink

$ 0.00
3 years ago