Job Interviews, Assessments and Anxieties

28 68
Avatar for mommykim
2 years ago

September 01, 2022

How are you guys?

It's been a couple of days since my last update here as I was busy with offline works. I've been finding work left and right, going through job sites and finding suitable works that would fit my experiences.

To be honest it's really hard finding work and the waiting also frustrates me as I can't do anything but wait for results.

Just this week, I already received interview schedules and gone through exams and assessments and honestly my nervousness and the feeling of like being new into going through interviews and exams really hits me.

Earlier I had my interview as a store head manager. Before going on my interview, I ran a background check on the company. At first, I thought it's a networking company as their products are food supplements but as I read it all they seem to be not engaging in networking schemes.

I also did some reference check and also checking some questions that the interviewee might ask. When I arrived at the place for the interview there are already two waiting to be interviewed. I just kept quiet and continued checking some questions and possible answers while listening to the other two talking about getting some job offers.

I admit I am very timid and easily get intimidated with other people that's why I don't engage much so I just listens to them, and it made me belittle myself more and more. I didn't graduate college as I only study until the first semester on my second year as I preferred working already than studying so listening to them makes me hopeless on the position that we were scheduled for interview.

When it was my turn for the interview my anxiety attacks again and it made me want to back out on the interview as I felt like vomiting, and I feel nauseous already. I was determined to go back home when the interviewee ask for my presence and said not to be afraid as she doesn't bite.

The interview was really very light, and it seems like I was just talking to a casual friend. We talked about my past work and my experiences, and she talks about the company like it's really simple to understand and she kept telling me not to feel burdened as she's making the conversation as light as possible as she doesn't want me to be agitated, maybe it was shown in my face, and it made me felt ashamed as I really didn't have confidence at all.

The exam was done in between the interview and honestly the questions are really easy as I have experiences with purchasing and administrative works. It seems like the interview/examiner was quite satisfied with the results, so she kept on talking to me after the exams. Looking at my resume and then asking me questions.

The one thing that made me annoy of myself is my voice. I can't speak loudly, and the interviewee needs to sit closer to me just to hear me. She even asks me about my age even though it's already stated in my resume. Dang! This little voice of mine is one of my downfalls sometimes. The assessment also followed right after, and she told me I was fit for the job except one thing. I need to engage in sales, and it means I need to go out and introduce the product to people mostly those who were working out and I need to bring a lot of equipment on site which it not what I expected as I thought I only need to handle the branch but the need to go out and introduce the product to many people face to face is really not my forte.

She quite understands my side, looking at my resume, I am more skilled in office work than engaging clients mostly crowd of people.

Going out from the office site where I was interviewed it made me think that finding job that match your experience is somewhat hard especially during these days. And commuting from one place to another is also an addition to my anxiety. I've been traveling back and forth to engage with interviews and exams and it's really troublesome.

I can't just sit still and wait for the food to be placed in front of me, so I kept on applying online, sending my resumes and application to companies that's looking for admin assistant or even purchasers as I am quite used to those field of work.

Tomorrow, I also need to attend to an early examination and also an interview on the other one. Travelling from home to the city is very costly and a broke me always suffers. I don't want to trouble my parents more so I am desperately looking for a job so that I can help them not trouble them. My son kept on pestering me of the things he wants to do while I'm at home, but my mind already wanders on the possible job offers that would be open for me.

In the past few days that I'm at home, it really bothers me as I am getting used to seeing my son every time I wake up and having coffee with my parents and then seeing Papz off work. Being used to the daily routine at home scares me as I don't want to be permanently living in luxury while Papz was the one working instead of me. My parents pamper me even though I don't have work which really hurt my pride, but I didn't show them those emotions as I don't want them to misunderstand me.

Mum told me to rest for a couple of months, but I can't do that. Now that my son is already studying, I need to work harder and the need for a job is a must for me.

These pressures really did not do good to me as I kept on failing every time I apply, or it must be because I lack the knowledge to do so.

I just want to scream as I am really frustrated having no work and having of no help to my parents at all. I kept troubling them and it's really unhealthy.

Reality sucks once you got nothing left on you.

@mommykim

10
$ 7.23
$ 7.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 5
Sponsors of mommykim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mommykim
2 years ago

Comments

Why man nag resign ka sa imong past work madam? Maayo unta ma hire naka soon..praying for you.

Abi naku graduate ka madam undergrad pud ka diay same ta pero solid imo work experience ba abi ko graduate ka..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

dili madam....until 2nd year 1st sem lang ko kay imbes padung ko mag enroll for 2nd sem ni diritso ko sa company nga ako gusto applyan unya hired on the spot man hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my! Nag resign ka na po from your previous job? Hope you can find another one sooner.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes mamsh naghahanap pa ko ibang work

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Goodluck po! May you have a positive results soon :) Fighting!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thank you teacher....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahirap talaga pag walang trabaho, tulad ko, heheh Kaya push mo Lang yang pag aaply.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

kaya nga eh...desperado na ko ngayon na makapasok sa trabaho kasi mahirap talaga pag walang budget

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aja momsh.. sayang to na very qualified ka except kay naay sales... same ta di kaau ganahan ug f2f interaction

$ 0.01
2 years ago

introverts be like aigooooo mao jud ni isa sa mga bad traits nako nga di kaayo ko mo take up ug challenges

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gogigiooo for thw win ang ferson kaya mo yan te hehe sa una lang yung kaba good luck po fighting

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thank you beb...ngyon ko lang talaga na ramdaman ang struggle sa pag aaply nang mga trabaho

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are such a good daughter to your parents and a responsible mom to your son. Many people would just be content to sit at home and fee load on their parents/relatives, but you aren't one of those people. I hope you will find a job suitable for you ASAP. All the best.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i just don't want to be a bother to them as they're of age already

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aigooo noona good luck sa pag hahanap. Mahirap pero push. Makakahanap ma din ng tamang company for you. Kahit wag na tamang tao basta tamang company ano. Harharhar - fightuuuu

$ 0.02
2 years ago

walangya pero sa totoo lang ang hirap pala talagang maghanap nang trabaho baby ger

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha, abah guato din ng tamang tao ahahahaha. Totoo naman talaga yan Noons. Kaya tyagaan kapag gusto talaga makahanap naku saka palakihin mo boses mo. Gusto mo pahiramin kiga mg boses hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis kaya mo yan.. kausapin mo ang sarili sa salamin. Try lang ng try, mahirap man pero makakahanap ka din ng work na swak sayo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

sana talaga beb...struggle is real talaga pag walang trabaho

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nag resign na diay ka didto sa Banilad dapit nga workplace nimo madam? Ngano man?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes madam...wala na mi projects mangud unya on call nalang ko sa office

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fighting mommy! Ganyan na ganyan din feeling ko before nung nasa interview at assessment stage pa ako. Pray lang mommy. Tatagan mo din loob mo po. Magkaka work ka din, soonest! 😇❤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

sana tlaga baby...super stress man diay ning tambay lang oi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala madam, d ako updated.. Ano nangyari sa previous work mo?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

wala na kaming projects madam at on call nlang ako sa work ko kaya nag decide na kong maghanap nang ibang trabaho

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mommy ramdam ko yung feeling mo nung before the interview. Yung mag wait ka. Ako kabado din talaga sa interview. Iisipin mo lagi na ano kaya mga possible questions na itatanong nila. Kaya mo yan mommy. Positive lang palagi mommykim and pray to God. 🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks beb sobra jud ang kakulba beb ay as in...back to zero ko when it comes to experiences sa interviews

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gayud mommykim. Normal lang na mommy. Labi na kung dugay na ta wala kaagi ug interview usab. Maong makulbaan ta pag ayo mommykim.

$ 0.00
2 years ago