Discipline from my Parents to my Son & Nieces

32 42
Avatar for mommykim
2 years ago

April 01, 2022

Contrary to what the generation today where the kids were much pampered and living conveniently with the fast approaching technology, I as a kid didn't have such luxury.

I always said that I and my sister were raised by our strict parents especially Papz. He's not in the military or in army like Madam Jane's dad but he's really strict at us especially about our education. He disciplines us like we're in an alpha squad, but because we we're all girls so let's just rephrase it that he disciplines us like we we're in Charlie/Delta Squad.

There are different discipline Papz made that I didn't I am doing on my son and nieces, not on purpose though but it became just an instinct I guess. Apologies to all parents out there if I am screwed like this.

Stand/Hands Up

Basic as you say, but way back when I was a 1st grader I was standing for an hour with my hands on the air. Back then, when the teacher punishes us it's far worst than my father because she'll make us sit on the air(it's when you're bending you're knees acting that you're sitting) for half an hour. If you have little stamina well you'll probably faint. Papz, on the other side, let us stand and put our hands up and recite the numbers 1-100. As a first grader I only can count up to fifty for I'm a slow learner so I kept making mistakes so I need to be vigilant with my counting until I make it to 100 and let my hands and legs rest.

Now, on our kids (my son and nieces) I only let them stand if they're pissing Mum off. At first I would tell them to stop playing around especially at night. I can tell them five times only, if it exceeds and Mum kept on telling them to stop, that's when I interfere and let them stand. Let them stand and recite the Guardian Angel Prayer. If they still didn't learn their lesson, especially my son whose the super hyper active of them, that's when I let them stand with their arms raised and not facing each other(there's one situation that they're laughing while standing because they find it hilarious at first). After five minutes, letting them sing the national anthem and then telling them to behave. I know I'm bad I'm sorry.

Ruler Hit

Okay let me explain on this one because I only did it one or twice if I'm not mistaken.

So Papz before always have this habit to let us recite the multiplication table when we knew how to multiply already. And he'll do that base on his observation over our grades. I, honestly am not good with all the subjects aside Mapeh. So when in Mathematics, my Ate(oldest sister) is very good in that, while the other sister is good with Filipino and History. What Papz will do is to let you put your hands in front and recite the multiplication table, one mistake and he'll hit you with a ruler stick.

Now, with the kids and their modules, I always review it with them for like five times before asking them questions. I kept repeating the stories and would ask the mixed questions but with the same answer. One time I was holding a paper ruler made out from a worn out folder and cut it by inch and made it my ruler.

Every mistake I hit them lightly so that in my next questions they'll be more focused.

Not done so no play

Papz don't want unfinished reports, unfinished projects. He's updated with all our school stuffs. I already said this that our house is just in front of the school. So if there are projects or exams, the teachers will inform our parents about it with the deadline of submission etc.

So when we arrived from school, Papz will immediately tell us "Igawas ang inyong mga reviewer ug ang dapat buhatunon una magduwa"(Take out all your reviewer and make sure to do the things you needed before playing). So if you have a lot of school works then playtime goodbye. You also can't do it in a hurry because he will check it one by one.

Now, since they're on modular, what I did is not letting them play if the modules are not done yet. Unlike us who grumble silently, my son and the second niece would easily pout right on my face. They'll show me that they're not happy about it but if I waver then the discipline I set up would be vanished so I stand firm on my decision and they have no choice but to do it since they can't escape if they're not done yet.

Additional...-my nieces follow what I say even though I only come home during weekends. So if I say this or that they would comply obediently. My son on the other hand, I can't even ask for help for he'll do it right away. Like he knows some of my needs. Like bringing water on our room while I work on my PC or switching the lights off if I kept squinting my eyes because of too much brightness.

Those disciplines are done not too often, only when they prioritize other matters aside from studying. I let them play around but I also became strict when they became hard to handle.

Those discipline were practiced when I can't control their behavior. I always told this myself as a parent that I will not discipline the kids the way my parents disciplined us but there are circumstances that words are not enough for them.

I admit what I did is not right, I just note it to self to talk it out with the kids first before doing so in order for them to know that I am not doing those because I don't love them, I did it to let them know their mistakes.


As I said not all parents are like me, and I know that my ways are sometimes out of bounds. There are other ways in disciplining your kids and it will depend on the behavior of the children on what kind of discipline you make.


I told myself that I will make my monthly report but guess I was too preoccupied today to even do that and just grab some topics from my drafts...

Criticisms are highly appreciated on this one.

Thank you for reading!!
@mommykim

22
$ 6.85
$ 6.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 12
Sponsors of mommykim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mommykim
2 years ago

Comments

It's a good move dear. As a mother everybody should do it. Keep it up.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks mate...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think discipline is very important and it is necessary for a good life. As the generation increase discipline should also increase. It not only makes the environment good but it also shows the good personality of a human being.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i hope everyone has that kind of mindset...thanks mate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako noon gawin ko na mga homework sa school kami nung isang kaklase ko. Kaya pag uwi, papakita ko na lang kay mama tas since wala na ako gagawin, manonood na lang haha! Un mga kapatid ko andun sa kusina kun saan di nila makita un tv pero naririnig. Syempre pag bata madaling maengganyo. Ayun lagi sila napapagalitan kasi mayat maya nakikinood sila haha!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hahahaha kami din di nakakapanuod nang T.V pag di pa tapos ang mga assignments kainis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Discipline begins at home wika nga nila hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

heheh totoo talaga yan madam...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And you are bringing the legacy to them. Not bad.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am still learning though, since generation today are unpredictable sometimes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha kalingaw nimo mommyy uyy. 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha tininuod biya na akoa baby hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also experienced such an act when I was young haha. Well I really admit that I deserves that those times. I also decipline my nephew and niece with just an look lol, of course I was also a child and knew the same feeling too. But sometimes they needed too, especially the boy haha. But It could see that day by day the behavior he had was changing to good.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

truelalala...you can see the improvement and the way they interact with you during lessons since they've learned their lessons lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay rana maamshy uy very light raman. Maajo pod para makahibaw silas limitations. Dili spoiled

$ 0.02
2 years ago

mao sad jud naa sa ako huna2 beb hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naranasan ko yang ruler ni teacher Noona Tas habang pinapasagot ka may nakahanda ng ruler ay talaga sasagut ka talaga lahit di alam ang sagot aigooo. Meron pa, yong mabato mg eraser. Sa panahon ngayon, pag ginawa tu sayo ng guro ipapa rmtulfo kana agad ee ,

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ay di ko na experience mabato nang eraser baby gerl pero chalk oo hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a very thoughtful article 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala ka nice marengs. Salamat ani, naa na pud koy nakat-unan na parenting. Hoping ma apply nahu nis ahung anak. Need jud e discipline mga bata karon na generation.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yes marengs pero kung madala pa ug storya no need nang mga physical

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me noonabels, Okay lang naman yung pang una sa mga bata. So that maranasan nila yung hirap at dina sila uulit maging makulit sa susunod. Diko pa nararanasan yan kaya makulit ako ngayon HAHA doon sa ruler hit is a big NO NO for me. Ayaw ko din disiplinahin yung mga bata kong pinsan sa ganyan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

not ruler baby gerl na yung matigas..kaya nga na specify ko na yung ruler made(D.I.Y) kasi gawa siya sa na cut ko na folder..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bakt naexperience ko yan mga yan haha dagdag nyo pa po yung luluhod sa monggo anlala amsakit kaya.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ouch sakit niyan....di ko na experience yan pero yung ate ko oo kasi matigas ulo hihih

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Math takaga pinakaayaw ko before pero mga kasaa ko sa bahay ang talino sa math, ewan ko bat ako naiba HAHAHAHA

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha pag computation talaga mahina ako langga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These punishments were to disciplines us to be the person we are today. I can relate in the matter of second punishment..lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

indeed it can make us a better person

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parents have different ways to discipline their children. My father will spank us in our butt when we did something wrong or we are being hard headed. He used slippers.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oh I also experienced this before but not from my father but from my grandfather...

$ 0.00
2 years ago