Cicvara, the dish I loved the most

18 64
Avatar for milos1998
3 years ago

I often remember my childhood, so I miss some dishes that I ate during my childhood, so this delicious dish called Cicvara is very easy to make.

Cicvara is one of the oldest Serbian dishes, because ethnological data show that it has always been cooked in areas inhabited by Serbs. The oldest recipes are written in the monastery books and in them cicvara is prepared from cereal flour, primarily wheat, but also rye, barley, oats… And since corn "swam" the ocean and began to conquer European fields, corn flour has taken over the role of the main ingredient cicvara. There are also lard, oil, butter and cream as essential fats for a good cicvara and, eggs, vegetables, sour cream, various types of cheese, which bring the taste to - perfection.

Cicavara ingredients

1/2 kg of cheese - fatty or full-fat cheese, semi-hard if possible

2 dcl of water

2 dcl of milk

200 g of cream - old cream goes best

corn flour as needed - white or yellow

sol

How to make homemade antique cicvara

Put water and milk in a sherpa and heat. Crumble the cheese or cut it into leaves and put it in boiling milk and water to cook. The fattier and older the cheese, the full-flavored cheese, such as sheep's or goat's cheese.When the mass starts to boil, start pouring the flour, stirring the mass constantly. Stir until the mass is even. Add the cream and continue to stir for about 10 minutes.Try cicvara if it is salty enough, if not add salt. If you have strong sheep's or goat's cheese that is salty and old cream, you probably won't need salt. Stir until the dough becomes gummy from the melted cheese and until the cicvara starts to float in the released fat. When that happens, the cicvara is over. Sprinkle the top with chopped primrose or some other spice plant for decoration. Or pour sour milk over it.

The dish is delicious and divine, I hope you liked this recipe, I recommend you try it.

18
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for milos1998
3 years ago

Comments

Good food like it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow,delicious can I have some :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Montenegrian call this cicvara, serbian katchamak...this is actally not the same, but very similar

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think it's delicious ... I'll try to do it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see that someone is eating cicvara and porridge, these are two completely different dishes, such as porridge.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

short but sweet

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It’s certainly one of our oldest dishes but I don’t like it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great dish 😀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love this and popara... Popara with cheese and fermented milk (kajmak)..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is very similar to kacamka, except that cheese does not go into kacamak

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, I can't believe I was thinking about cicvara yesterday.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for providing those recipe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like it ..I love cicvara

$ 0.00
3 years ago

great article my dear freind

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have not taste it till now. It's a new for me. I think I must try the above procedures to make this delicious Cicvara dishes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i like to eat cicvara, and i eat very often

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cicvara is also a dish of my childhood ... When my grandmother and mother make cicvara, it is a real pleasure ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago