Amaury is irrelevant, until he isn't

30 548
Avatar for micropresident
3 years ago

Today, Amaury released an article on his proposal for the next DAA. It seemingly came with a declaration that this DAA will be what ABC is implementing for the November protocol upgrade.

A lot of people in the Bitcoin Cash Cryptocurrency Network are angry and upset that Amaury has made a decision about what he is going to include in the ABC Bitcoin Cash Node software. It's worth examining why people are upset about his behavior.

All feeling are worth examining, because at their core is always a golden nugget of truth. And, understanding the truth allows for making effective decisions about behavior. Feelings alone motivate us to action, but they do not motivate to right action without understanding.

At its core, Anger is generally a secondary emotion. It covers up for a primary emotion that reveals our vulnerability. I would argue, that most of the anger right now is due to individuals feeling afraid, attacked, offended, disrespected, forced, trapped, and pressured - feeling powerless.

And to this, the question is raised: Why do people feel slighted about Amaury's decisions regarding what he does or does not do?

There are many people who claim that Amaury is not relevant to the development of Bitcoin Cash, and then at the same time they are upset and angry whenever he makes a decision they do not agree with. So what is it? Do the decisions of Amaury coercively impact anyone?

I have previously argued that Amaury was both in charge, and not in charge, of Bitcoin Cash. People choose to believe whichever one they want. However, the group of people who continue to assert that he is not in charge, are the very same people who are perpetually upset when he makes a decision.

Their anger implies that they do believe he is in charge. They really do believe that they cannot function without his cooperation. They believe that Amaury should, or should not do, particular things.

Now, I don't think that Amaury handles his responsibilities as lead maintainer well at all. I think he's absolutely horrible at them. Yet, he is the lead maintainer of Bitcoin ABC.

But, ultimately anger is not productive, and continuing to be angry while denying the core of the cause of the anger is even less so.

Those people who are angry with Amaury have several paths they can take:

  1. Continue to believe they do not need to interact with Amaury in the way he wants, and never get any productive work done.

  2. Accept that Amaury is in charge and interact with him in a way that is pragmatic.

  3. Accept that Amaury is in charge of protocol development, and take concrete steps to make that no longer true.

The third option is likely what is currently happening. However, I wonder what he will be replaced with? Every vague proposal sounds like he will be replaced with, something akin to, a dictatorship of the proletariat.

We all know how that ends.

If there is actually a better proposal for how things should be done, I'm all ears. I don't know of one; and I know of no historical examples of any other functional decision making systems.


54
$ 5.39
$ 1.28 from @sanctuary.the-one-law
$ 1.00 from @Marco
$ 1.00 from @Mengerian
+ 11
Avatar for micropresident
3 years ago

Comments

I always wondered about the state of BCH and centralization, I don't know who Amaury is but I assume this situation isn't good for the project. I stopped mining bch a while back when the network failed to mine a block for hours. And I always thought Roger ver was in charge of BCH. Anyway I hope something changes soon.

$ 2.00
3 years ago

I stopped mining bch a while back when the network failed to mine a block for hours.

Anyway I hope something changes soon.

https://blog.bitcoinabc.org/2020/07/23/announcing-the-grasberg-daa/

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So Grasberg is a modified form of ASERT? That seems to be a nice compromise. Unless Toomin and ABC team were shouting in those debate videos.

$ 1.00
3 years ago

All I remember was that everyone was very cautious about accepting it with the prediction that in fact was about to come through: No submission of the code for ABC to review in time. So instead of 'gatekeeping' or whatnot, Amaury again 'compromised' like he actually always does while hating to do it, in light of 'the community' expecting it from him, he simply went on to come up with a proposal that actually can be implemented in the next update.

There might be a few technical issues for other devs, like Silverblood pointed out, and it is important to commuinicate and clarify them. But again 90% of the rest is creating dramatic narratives. Focus on the 10% real issues raised and connect to ABC.

See where it goes. Pretty sure it's possible to come to a conclusion.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Roger Ver is in no way in charge of BCH. I must say it is eye-opening to see so many people in the industry, even BCH miners, that do not know the lead dev of ABC who created the BCH fork in the first place or think for whatever reason, that Roger has any more than marketing and investment influence, which any other person with capital would have as well. I think many people dismiss BCH as well on these grounds, because they hold grudges against Ver, justified or not, which is also a huge issue for BCH. I am thinking about big players like Paxful. I can only speculate, but it looks like decisions to support BCH next to BTC are tainted by CEOs that think its 'RogerCoin', while it actually would fit their intended use case much much better.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Facts. I literally thought Roger Ver and Jihan wu run BCH, I'm going to do more research about the devs but they really need to show their faces and build a community of users as read.cash is the only site I've met other users using BCH no one even talks about it on twitter anymore.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Love the picture!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂😂😂 I just like the meme.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

GREAT WORK FROM AMAURY

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why we can't counter the possibility negative effects of DAA into BCH. But still I'm looking for the bright side and let's just hope for the best future of BCH.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Micropresident talking about feelings.
Nice trolling, but plain and boring.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How about a traditional capitalistic shareholder voting? Wtf do you even mean by the proletariat dictatorship?

$ 2.00
3 years ago

People like you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Holders of Bitcoin Cash are not investors. That would imply they made an investment in some team that is doing work. They have not. ABC does not issue coins or profit from them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

so because the programmers working for Apple dont issue tokens, the AAPL shareholders are not investors?

$ 1.00
3 years ago

You really have some feelings for Amaury.
Quite some posts about him. Don't be afraid. Be happy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do have feelings regarding Amaury. I don't have feelings FOR Amaury. I'm happy dating a lovely woman.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok then

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A great work from Amaury and the team. Thanks for that. I hope people will be more understanding and respect the decision. I am one who believe on the talent of everyone who proposed about the DAA but let's just combine our minds so that, BCH would be a success. Kudos! Keep the positive vibe and let's build together.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

An immediate DAA solution is necessary,
any further delay risks ruining marketplace credibility.


$ 1.10
3 years ago

If there is actually a better proposal for how things should be done, I'm all ears.

A better proposal: https://read.cash/@JavierGonzalez/why-bitcoin-cash-need-the-bmp-1a6ab975

$ 2.50
3 years ago

It is not a better proposal, and we've been over this. I'd be happy to engage you in a public, formal, written debate.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article Shammah! Some thoughts:

Feelings alone motivate us to action

I'm not sure the emotivist perspective is necessarily absolute, but I understand the arguments of the article so in order to keep it practical I'll continue...

At its core, Anger is generally a secondary emotion. It covers up for a primary emotion that reveals our vulnerability. I would argue, that most of the anger right now is due to individuals feeling afraid, attacked, offended, disrespected, forced, trapped, and pressured - feeling powerless.

It is telling that even when using the link to back up your position, you missed one of the key feelings they use in their pyramid- frustration. There's no doubt a lot of that is being felt throughout much of the community. And you are right, that leads to people feeling powerless. But a feeling of powerlessness that stems from frustration of not being heard/taken seriously is much different than powerlessness that stems from offense or disrespect of other less virtuous aspirations. The first case is "ego done right", while the latter is "ego done wrong."

Part of the divide is that you believe many of these opponents to ABC are actors of "ego done wrong", but others (myself included, to an extent) believe some of the issues raised are reflections of "ego done right."

There have been very good contributions by people from the community. Does Amaury have to accept them? Of course not. I wouldn't want him to if he didn't believe it to be best for BCH. The problem, based on his actions, is that it seems he has not given them the open mind and collaborative spirit that is expected of someone so influential in the space. That is the problem being highlighted. And I sympathize with Amaury. It's clear he has felt bad blood for years now. It's time people put on their big boy pants and cut that sh!t out. But Amaury can't keep touting himself "benevolent dictator" of anything if the adjective is just a catchy part of the phrase.

Their anger implies that they do believe he is in charge. They really do believe that they cannot function without his cooperation. They believe that Amaury should, or should not do, particular things.

Is this an unpopular opinion? I agree with it and I thought most did as well? That being said, expecting that someone "should, or should not do, particular things" is not blasphemous. If you meant "should, or should not do, what they want" is one thing, but if they expect Amaury to have "the quality of being well meaning", as benevolence can be defined, I see no problem with that.

The third option is likely what is currently happening.

I hope not. Maybe I'm naive, but I don't even think most of the "opposition" really want that either. They just want Amaury to understand the responsibilities of his position to it's full extent, including the less attractive aspects of it.

This does not mean he needs to "bow to groupthink" or even "placate the masses", but I understand the criticism when there has been no "real" effort to engage with the community on an issue that affects a lot of different people and groups. The DAA Developer meeting was a breath of fresh air. Things really seemed to be moving in the right direction and after a few more days of public discourse I'd be able to defend Amaury and ABC's actions much more easily, but the fact that the Grasberg DAA was published so quickly, officially and matter-of-factly feels disingenuous at best.

As a viewer from the side, it sometimes feels outright crazy that so many people can be standing in the same spot but looking "out" and seeing such different views, totally forgetting that they are LITERALLY STANDING IN THE SAME PLACE. That place is making BCH p2p cash that's accessible to everyone. Developers, maintainers, etc: Leave politics to the politicians. Take a day to meditate and be thankful for the good that is being done and that is still left to be done. Try and see the same people you've become frustrated with as potential other versions of yourself. Forgive yourself. Forgive them. Move forward.

Cheers!

$ 8.08
3 years ago

Part of the divide is that you believe many of these opponents to ABC are actors of "ego done wrong", but others (myself included, to an extent) believe some of the issues raised are reflections of "ego done right."

I don't agree with assessments like ego done wrong. I don't think there are wrong emotions. Frustration is a secondary emotion, just like anger -- though they often appear together. My assessment should probably have included frustration as in "anger or frustration." My oversight.

There have been very good contributions by people from the community.

I agree.

he has not given them the open mind and collaborative spirit that is expected of someone so influential in the space

I agree.

Amaury can't keep touting himself "benevolent dictator" of anything if the adjective is just a catchy part of the phrase.

I have told him many times that "benevolent dictator" is not a title you can give yourself; although he has. Benevolent dictator is a title given to you by the people you work with.

Is this an unpopular opinion?

There is certainly a huge divide on the topic. See the responses to my previous article: https://read.cash/@micropresident/the-cryptocurrency-of-theseus-what-is-our-identity-and-why-are-we-fighting-16ff0d1b

And the reddit thread: https://www.reddit.com/r/btc/comments/hi5eo3/the_cryptocurrency_of_theseus_what_is_the/

That being said, expecting that someone "should, or should not do, particular things" is not blasphemous

I'm not arguing that it is blasphemous. I'm arguing that it's not practical. You have a 35 year old man, whom you have observed for 3 years, and still expect him to behave as if he is someone he is not.

I hope not. Maybe I'm naive, but I don't even think most of the "opposition" really want that either. They just want Amaury to understand the responsibilities of his position to it's full extent, including the less attractive aspects of it.

I think that depends on the individual you're talking about. There is definitely a cohort of people who think that the decision making mechanism needs to be replaced. There are comments all over telegram chats, reddit, and various slacks.

the fact that the Grasberg DAA was published so quickly, officially and matter-of-factly feels disingenuous at best

The Grasberg DAA was published so "quickly" because it was being actively worked on for weeks prior. It seems to me, that any time ABC publishes a proposal it is immediately met with criticism -- criticism that they even published something.

I think the problem is that it came with a matter-of-factly statement; but that's not what people complain about -- including you just now. At some point, something has to be published.

Try and see the same people you've become frustrated with as potential other versions of yourself.

Is this advice to me? I'm not at odds with any of these individuals, but I am tired of the behavior of constantly trying to replace the decision making mechanism without a clear plan for something else workable.

It's constant drama, but no real plan to succeed. I will continue to point that out until they create a better mechanism, and take steps to make it real.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't want this to take over the comments, so i'll try and be brief in my responses:

I don't agree with assessments like ego done wrong. I don't think there are wrong emotions. Frustration is a secondary emotion, just like anger -- though they often appear together. My assessment should probably have included frustration as in "anger or frustration." My oversight.

My point wasn't that there are wrong emotions. I was trying to explain the merit of those emotions relative to the stated goal. As a third party, I think it is good to "step in" from time to time to try and understand why things got to where they are now and where they may be going (that includes emotional responses).

There is certainly a huge divide on the topic.

Asking "is this an unpopular opinion?" was a bit playful. I'm very aware there are some people at the extremes with others that support a "change in power". Even still, I think there are enough in the silent majority that this is not reflective of a huge divide. I'll admit that I do not have numbers and I could be wrong.

I'm arguing that it's not practical. You have a 35 year old man, whom you have observed for 3 years, and still expect him to behave as if he is someone he is not.

That would be the point of "social pressure." It doesn't have to be toxic. In fact, I would urge people closer to Amaury, not further away, to be those who criticize him as they'll be the most practical and most effective. Not to "change him", but to give him more perspective on things as they are.

I missed your linked article, but I read it now and it's very good. I read the Reddit discussions from time to time, but cannot say i'm aware of all of them.

The Grasberg DAA was published so "quickly" because it was being actively worked on for weeks prior. It seems to me, that any time ABC publishes a proposal it is immediately met with criticism -- criticism that they even published something. I think the problem is that it came with a matter-of-factly statement; but that's not what people complain about -- including you just now. At some point, something has to be published.

Isn't this a part of the issue? Working on something for weeks that is by default incompatible with other node implementations? Why was this not brought up before, or even during the DAA developer meeting? It feels like a "don't show the cards in your hand until you're ready to play them" move, one which the DAA meeting was trying to make irrelevant, amicably. Further, it only strengthens the view of some important people that George's "You do you. We will do us." is less about healthy meritocratic competition and more about categorizing and alienating.

The matter-of-fact statement IS part of what I was complaining about (but yes, it is amongst other things).

Is this advice to me? I'm not at odds with any of these individuals, but I am tired of the behavior of constantly trying to replace the decision making mechanism without a clear plan for something else workable.

No, it was addressed to "Developers, maintainers etc." from the line before. It was a general comment about clearing heads and regrouping.

It's constant drama, but no real plan to succeed. I will continue to point that out until they create a better mechanism, and take steps to make it real.

As you should. The vast majority of us really do just want a better future through BCH. Healthy public discourse is essential to that.

$ 4.00
3 years ago

I am just wondering what makes the Grasberg DAA better then Toomim's. To me Toomim's proposal AND written code is simpler and more concise. Yes, it does not have the correction for the "historical drift" -- who cares, really? But it is simple, tested, solid and has easily reproducible tests.

To me this seems to be something other than a technical argument.

$ 2.10
3 years ago

because it will be like all the dictatorships of the proletariat, that what they know is to speak, speak, and continue speaking and not solve anything because they do not know how to produce a good, what they know is that everything falls from the sky, that is all they know

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a very nice presentation. It needs to be taken care of. Any delay results in loss of market credibility.

$ 0.00
3 years ago