What Drives You? Motivation.

17 45
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Freewriting

Motivation. It is the driving force of any action we take. This is a goal-oriented reason why we do just about everything. I think that it is like the mental equivalent of a stimulus that will make our bodies yearn to accomplish something.

Motivation is intricately related to desires. Or maybe it can also be said that desires can be a form of motivation. Because when you desire something it can make you move your body in service of that desire, hence you are motivated by that desire to make that certain movement or action.

There are times that I hear the phrase "I have no motivation to do this thing..." or something along that line, then it made me think, that person just said that he has no motivation to do that thing but he's doing it anyway. Maybe it means that we can do things even without motivation. And then what is making him do that thing? It may be his job, he may be required to do it, or worse he is forced to do it. With that, it goes to show that motivation is not the only force that can make us do stuff.

Speaking of force, I think motivation can also be viewed as the first law of motion according to Newton, a.k.a. the law of inertia. If I am not mistaken it goes something like this: a body at rest will remain at rest unless a force is acted upon it, a body moving in a straight line will remain in motion unless a force acted upon it and cause it to stop. I forgot the verbatim but the idea is something like that. I think that motivation is that force that will make the body move or stopped, whichever the case may be.

Let's say I am sitting on a chair without doing anything. I will remain seated unless I am motivated to do something else. Or maybe I'm doing something, and I will remain doing so unless I am motivated to stop. That's the idea right?

Generally, I think we are all motivated by different things. Some their desires, some people are motivated by their beliefs and some by their intentions. I heard from an interview last night the phrase "There are two things that make the world go round, sex and money". And when I think about it, this guy, this homicidal maniac has a point.

Sex and money. I can't think of a thing that is a more powerful motivator than these things. Even from time immemorial sex and money motivated a lot of people to do ungodly things. The tales of Helen of Troy makes a powerful case of a war motivated by sex. Oh and yeah, a lot of wars are motivated by money. Blame patriotism, freedom, or whatever you want, at the end of it all it all boils down to money. Heck I think even this pandemic is motivated by money. Think about it, just think about it. Who profits the most during this time? Think about it. LOL, I am not starting a conspiracy theory here okay, just throwing some ideas out in the open.

Aren't we all motivated by these two things in actuality? People may answer the question "What motivates you to work?" differently. Some may say for money, for family, to make a living, because I love my job. Most of them are linked to one thing right? And you know what it is. Cha-ching!

Well, back to motivation. Although motivation can make us do things or stop us from doing so, I think that motivation alone can't bring us to that destination we set, or it cannot get us the object of our desire. It's just one thing. It's just part of the package. Along with motivation, we need the skills, the know-how and basically the means to do a certain thing.

Let's take writing for example wherein the ultimate goal is a finished article. Let us say you're motivated to write, you are eager to, but what do you need to write? You need to know how to write first. I am not sure if am delivering this message clear enough because I can't seem to organize my thoughts. And that's another thing you need to know when you want to write. You need to organize your ideas and concepts into a single cohesive work.

So what's my motivation behind this article? For that I am holding @Ellehcim responsible. This is part of @JonicaBradley 's weekly project : Writing Prompt #2: Motivation . She comes up with interesting prompts so if you're stomped down in a slump and don't know what to write, try joining this. It's fun.

Hey there!

Thanks again for being here and reading through this another freewriting session. I know and admit that this one is kinda rough around the edges and seemed to be a whole lot of mumbo jumbo but I swear I had fun with it.

Any thoughts? Wanna catch up? Drop by in the comment section and as always,

Cheers!!!

References:

Lead image : https://corporatefinanceinstitute.com/resources/knowledge/other/extrinsic-motivation/

13
$ 13.70
$ 13.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 3
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Freewriting

Comments

diko kinaya yung may pa law of inertia. charot hahaha

pandemic motivated by money? totally makes sense. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah Science syempre, first love. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My promt 2 na pla.. Mabasa nga 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep yep..Sulat na. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My teacher also tell us the same regarding there are two things that motivate a person sex and money. And whenever he had a class and we lost focus or energy he will automatically incorporate sex and money in his discussion and Tadaaaa everybody got interested 😅 what a sharp sense of motivation it is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahha yeah. We're all built that way. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha saddest reality

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nah, it's not that bad. We also do a lot of good in service of those.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know see how you view motivation as. I am also introduced on the thinking that motivation is not everything. It makes some senses that it is not ultimately the reasons for some certain things we do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeeep. :) wanting something isn't enough. But it's a start. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really like that people are using my writing prompt challenges to freewrite. I think the purest for of thought is related in the freewriting context. Our minds wander. It is so interesting to follow those wandering paths.

Thank you for participating! I hope you'll come play next week. too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeaaaah. Of course. :) this is fun. I like it when my brain is exercised. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me, too. I would like my body to get as much exercise as my brain!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the only thing I am able to exercise lately. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here. Other than normal daily routine like feeding the animals, milking the goat, and pulling weeds in the garden. I really need to get off my butt!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I got one word answer for that.. Family

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's pretty noble.

$ 0.00
2 years ago