WFH : The Upsides

27 58
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Wfh, Experience, Blog
img 1

Starting this week we were back to a working from home set up and this is because of the sudden surge and rampant spread of the Delta variant of the CoVid-19 virus. I am not entirely sure about it but they say that this variant of the virus is more easily to be passed on compared to the first one, like the virus needed some more enhancement.

The rise of the cases was just really bothering and our company just decided to limit the physical contact among the employees and clients, hence a partial WFH scheme. It's partial since half of the working week, we will be reporting in the office and half of the week we will be working from our respective houses. And of course, this is on a per batch basis so the office will only be at 50% maximum capacity on any given day. And it will be easier to trace the transmission of the virus if ever an employee contracts it.

And in line with this, let me relay to you some positive observations in different aspects of life that I have experienced while working with this setup.

Wardrobe

We do not have a prescribed uniform in our office so every workday, I have to pick and choose an appropriate attire to be dressed up with. Although the dress code is a pretty lax business casual, it's quite tiring and a bit expensive to wear a different outfit every single day.

Some companies have those so-called "clothing allowance" in place of their uniforms, but our company does not have that kind of perk.

Given, neat and good articles of clothing are our investment to ourselves so we should not hold back on them but if you are working 6 days a week, it may, later on, become an issue especially if you care about your "fashion sense".

So in a WFH setup, this is not an issue since people won't really be looking at you aside from the occasional video chats. You can just put on any clean shirt and you're good to go. I'm attending meetings with just a shirt and boxers. I just make sure that the camera won't get what it should not see.

Time

Working from home can save a lot of people some precious time of their life. Sleep for example, while working from home, I can just wake up just in time for the morning briefing instead of the usual 5:30 in the morning just so I can prepare and do some chores before going to work. That's 2 hours or so extra hours in bed.

My commute to work is around 30-50 minutes depending on the traffic, so in total that is around under 2 hours back and forth. In a WFH setup, I can have those extra 2 hours to do whatever I want to do. It may seem small but if you add all those up, that's a big part of your life saved.

Money Saver

Aside from time, working from home can save you some money. They may not be that big because they may offset the use of your electricity while at home and all those overheads but in actuality, you can really save some money while working from home.

The expenses I incur when commuting to work are enormous and they will be slashed off when working from home, that's a huge saving for me and for others as well. The lunch/snack money I spend while in the office can also be saved because I can just eat whatever food we have at our house.

Breaks

Breaks are also an important part of any activity especially working. While in the office you can take some breaks here and there but it's not that relaxing compared to when you are working in the comforts of your own home.

I am working right from my own room. I have a table set up near my bed and when my back hurts a bit I lie down for a quick break and I come back more ready to go. Just be sure to come back and not fall asleep. You will be playing a dangerous game then if you close your eyes for a prolonged period of time.

Set alarms if you need to. Just in case. Better safe than sorry, you know.

Convenience

No question, this one is really constant for the pros when working at home. Everything I need is right at home. And since I am working as an IT guy, I really don't need much, just give me a laptop and internet connectivity and I am good to go. I imagine that this will not be the case for many people but at least for me, I find it convenient working from home.

Sense of Safety

And of course, I think this tops the list for the pros in working from home especially that the main reason why we are working from home is this pandemic. I don't really care about what others say, staying at home for me is still the best way of protecting yourself from the virus. No matter how small your office is, you will not know and you will never be sure where your coworkers have been. At least in your own house, you can limit the foot traffic and the contact of everyone in it unlike in the office.

With that, there is that sense of security and safety that you feel compared to working in a semi-public place like the office.

Hey hey from home!

Once again, thank you for stumbling upon my article and my page. I started out with this article writing the pros and cons of working from home but as usual, I got lost in the middle and just decided to make this one the positive side of my work from home experience. Of course, there are also those negative sides, or the cons and I will just list them down in a separate article so we can keep this one a bit short so it will be friendlier to the eyes and I won't see a TL:DR kind of comment.

And speaking of comment, I would love to hear your thoughts, about this article, about your WFH experience if you do have them, about me if you'd like. Kindly drop them down below in the comment section. You don't know how much I love reading your comments. They just mean so much to me.

As always, I would like to show my appreciation for your support with a heart felt and a meaningful toast, to you and me, to us...

Cheers!!!


References :

img 1 : https://news.cgtn.com/news/2020-03-21/Will-the-coronavirus-pandemic-make-work-from-home-popular--P2UECVqpbO/index.html

17
$ 9.25
$ 8.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Crackers
+ 8
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Wfh, Experience, Blog

Comments

A well written article, we need to look at the upsides in this pandemic I think. Like you say working from home means we do not waste time commuting and save on travelling costs too, though sometimes it can be hard to switch off at the end of the day and if there are deadlines to meet we end up working well into the evening. I like your comment about putting a pair of shorts on and just any clean shirt, I guess on a video call your boss wouldn't notice if you hadn't bothered to iron it, there are some upsides for sure.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep. And nowadays, it does not matter if you're in the room, bathroom or anywhere else in your house, you can use some really cool virtual backgrounds.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

truelalo to. enjoy working from home then and save. haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

pero dahil excited manatili sa bahay,, mas magastos ngayon sa bahay. hahhaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

More time to sleep and rest :D Also, prepandemic I had more time for myself since starting to WFH.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed! Me time is multiplied. I can't even complain about that. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At least you still have work. Yung ibang company nagbabawas dhl sa crisis.. And working from home is really so convenient.. Mkakapag noise at read kpa ng maayos 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And that's really true. WFH while making lots of Noise and surfing through read. Nice plan. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes sir It is from good anylsis and there is no doubt that the trend of the market right now is pet call now it has gone to train although it was very down last week and it was going on sale but now brother has a lot of opportunity in this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am one of those people working at home and I LOVE IT!!! <3 I am an online english teacher and my time is really just in my hands. I love how I can do my classes even without having to take a shower. HAHA :D I just love it. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahah no shower is the best way to work. :) I feel so cozy after a bath that I always end up lazing around to the verge of sleeping.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha 😂 Right? Lol 🤣 They won't be able to smell you anyways. Lol 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah yep. It's just our own self that will enjoy the smell of yesterday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We couldn't ry deny the fact that work from home ry have its advantages and you just mentioned it. As a student, this setup really gives me a lot of advantaged as well. I was able to save money and time. I can spend more time with my family and I am safer in our house.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

oh so you're still a student. Good luck to you. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are blessed enough to be allowed to WFH. I am grateful. I can only imagine how stressful it is for our frontliners

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep. I wouldn't want to be part of any of that. God bless them all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Still haven't experienced the WFH scheme. I think it'd be nice. Though I am sure there's be looots of distractions.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahah it will be and yes, there will be lots of them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't work yet still studying but I can clearly see the perks of working from home. 😊 One important thing for me is the safety since you won't travel anymore to work meaning there's no exposure to other people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep! That's paramount nowadays. Safety.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. I'm kinda getting the hang of working from home. This is convenient for me. No hassle in the streets. Of course, safety is secured.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's really nice. Less hassle, less stress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep safe po. Wherever you are right now. And happy working from home 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hehe I'm back at the office today. :) You keep safe too my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mga kapatid ko din WFH. Maganda sana kaso dito sa probinsya, madalas mag brownout at pawalawala ang Wifi at data.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay... ayun nga din ang mahirap sa ganyang setup.

$ 0.00
2 years ago