We Are The World, Sing It!!!

4 39
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Great! You're here. Let me share you something. This is about a song that means a lot to me. This song has been a part of my life from way way back when. I'd just like to reminisce some moments with you, and if it's okay I'll start.

If you have been following this line of articles, you've probably known by now that my family and I really love to sing karaoke whenever we can. But this isn't just a household thing, this extends to our farthest relatives. Well first off, if you are not familiar to what I am blabbering about, you can read the past few articles in this line of stories:

But if you are all caught up, you have my deepest and sincerest gratitude. Maybe one day I'll sing a song for you. But back to the matter at hand.

A karaoke machine or what we call videoke, is a staple piece of equipment whenever we have an occasion, a gathering, a celebration, or just a session with family and friends. Whenever we get a chance to get together in one house or place, there will always be some drinking and singing involve.

And as you know, we Filipinos have a lot to celebrate. Sometimes I just think that we keep coming up of occasions for an excuse to get away from life and its intricacies. We celebrate the usual, New year's, Christmas, and other universally accepted holidays. Matter of fact our Christmas season is the longest season there is. As soon as the 'ber' months come in, so does our Christmas spirits ushered by Jose Mari Chan.

Aside from these, we also celebrate, birthdays, festivals, paydays and just anything we can make an excuse out of. But the occasion that this special song comes in is January 1, New Year's day.

During every New Year, it has become our family's custom to hold a reunion amongst ourselves. It's a chance for most of our relatives to gather and to keep in touch with each other. Of course with the help of Facebook and other technologies, we stay in touch from time to time but face time is better every single time.

Relatives who are leaving in far away cities or provinces goes home to our hometown and celebrate the new year as one and a really big family.

Food, drinks and gifts are shared and we have a lot of fun catching up with each other. And when some people are knocked out due to alcohol and everyone seems to be on the festive mood, we line this song up in the machine to entertain the whole clan.

The song? We are the World by USA for Africa.

The song was recorded in 1985 and it was written by Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie. It was performed by USA for Africa, a collection of leading artists in the music industry at that time, led by Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie. For the complete list of singers who contributed to the single, you may check out the link down below.

It was a song with a purpose. We are the World was written as part of a campaign to fight the famine experience by that time in the African region where at least a million people died in the catastrophe.

Message and melody aside, I think this song appealed to us as our sort of anthem during these reunions because we can involve everyone that is present in the event. In reality, there are a lot of singers who shared the stage to record and perform that song, and that means that we can pass the mic around to many people and join the fun of singing.

In karaoke, at most, there could only be 4 persons singing at the same time, but with this song we can have several people singing and sharing the stage at once. I think that's the main reason why We are the World is always sang whenever we are all together and having fun.

I know the song by heart so I can sing any part of it but my favorite part to do is either the first lines or Michael Jackson's part of the song. Yeah, I feel like a star. LOL

So yeah, I think if our family's lives were in a show just like in modern family, I think this song will be our theme song.

Hey there!!!

Thank you for visiting me once again and going through this mess I call an article. How was your day? What about you though? If your family is in a sitcom, can you think of a song that would best describe your lives?

I appreciate your time spent here, I know that it would be valuable anywhere but you decided to spend it with me here, and for that...

Cheers!!!


References:

Lead Image : https://www.eatthis.com/cdc-covid-spread-singing/

Wikipedia n.d., We Are the World, accessed 18 June 2021, <https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/We_Are_the_World>

8
$ 4.75
$ 4.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Mr_Trenzs
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
+ 3
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

It's not a mess. A very good post that I had to read to the finishing lines. The song " We Are The World" rocked our air waves in the 80s. How I wish such sings are repeated in this generation again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeeep songs that are massive hits nowadays are pop. Not this kind of amazing song.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Karaoke is very famous in every occasion in philippines and people really love it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's for real.

$ 0.00
2 years ago