Belting it Out With Bon Jovi

17 45
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Karaoke

This one is another continuation of my karaoke series. In the past few articles I told you how fond and how attracted I am with the karaoke machines. I also started to tell you the songs that I used to always sing with it. If you haven't read the previous ones I'll link them here so you can catch up:

So now you're all caught up let's proceed with the next song, or let me say, songs on my karaoke playlist and all of these are from a single band who you may now have guessed is named Bon Jovi.

For those who don't know the band Bon Jovi here's a quick run down: Bon Jovi is an American rock band that is formed in 1983 back in New Jersey. Oh, I didn't know they were that old. I believe that even if you are not familiar with the artist, I think that some songs on this list will probably ring a bell, maybe two. So here we go.

Bed of Roses

I sing this song when I want to release all the doubts, the fears and the pain that I have hidden inside. The song has that perfect mix of slow parts, low energy parts and then those top of the lungs moment. Most of the time though, I can't do this stuff without some alcohol first. Well, it's a karaoke machine, and here in the Philippines, you can't do karaoke without some liquid courage. So after one too many drinks, I can really get into this.

The lyrics of the song also pierces a hole in the middle of the aching heart.

Sitting here wasted and wounded
At this old piano
Trying hard to capture
The moment this morning I don't know

You see what I mean? This is just the beginning of the forsaken song, and he's wasted and wounded already? What on earth happened to you dude? Okay, I guess another break up song. Another guy who made a mistake and is singing his heart out to be heard.

'Cause a bottle of Vodka's still lodged in my head
And some blonde gave me nightmares
Think that she's still in my bed
As I dream about movies
They won't make of me when I'm dead

Okay, I guess now we know what happened to him, why he's wasted and wounded over that piano. Whole vodka? I could maybe do it with brandy or rum, but vodka? I'll get my guts gushing out through my mouth then. And oh, don't start with tequila either. That's my literal poison.

If you are still not familiar with the song, the chorus goes :

I want to lay you down in a bed of roses
For tonight I'll sleep on a bed of nails
Oh I want to be just as close as the Holy Ghost is
And lay you down on a bed of roses

Awww. That's so sweet right? Well at least at the beginning, and then it escalated quickly to being a stalker of some sort. Now that I think about them, aren't I always singing with this obsessive mindset? LOL. Overall, it's sweet and kinda badass-y, so why does the girl still don't want to get back with him? Who doesn't want to lay in a bed of roses right?

Now as you close your eyes
Know I'll be thinking about you
While my mistress she calls me
To stand in her spotlight again

Alright, now we know the reason why she wouldn't want to get back with him. The word mistress explains a lot doesn't it?

If you want to hear the song here you go:

So you heard now maybe you want to sing along now, come let's do a duet:

Wew. That was tiring.

Someday I'll be Saturday Night

Now you're all warmed up and your vocal cord has been stretched good, next song. This song has always been stuck on my head the very time I heard it. The beat, the melody and the overall arrangement of the song is more inclined to the upbeat type but it still rocks the roof away.

Although the song is up tempo and sounds so alive, the contents of the song are quite depressing at first. It tells a story about a bum who lives in the basement with nowhere to go, and then there's prostitute who was raped when she was young, there's this indecisive suicidal folk and then this someone who feels out of place in his own body.

However, this song is a song of hope and optimism. Although they're a bit down in their luck at the time, they are still looking forward to a party where they are accepted and could feel alive, because someday, it's going to be Saturday Night. And you know what that means, partyyy!!!

Now I sing this song when I am down, and after finishing it, I'm suddenly full of energy and quite pumped! But again, quite drunk. So now I am not sure what has lifted my spirits up, the song or the alcohol. I'd like to think it's the song.

Here's the chorus so you'll see the positivity:

Hey man I'm alive I'm takin' each day and night at a time
Yeah I'm down, but I know I'll get by
Hey hey hey hey, man gotta live my life
Like I ain't got nothin' but this roll of the dice
I'm feelin' like a Monday, but someday I'll be Saturday night

Alright, now you know how the song goes, mind a little bit of a sing a long?

You Give Love a Bad Name

This one here, this one goes out to all the playaz out there man, who're tired of all the bullshit man. Alright, back to rock genre. This one is a song that you can really feel if you can relate to it.

Have you ever fallen for someone who you thought was an angel from the beginning but it turns out that he or she was the devil incarnate in the end? Okay, maybe that's a bit of an exaggeration pardon my bitterness but, have you ever known someone like that? A person that you gave all your love to him or her but she trampled it with her Prada stilettos, alright again, I'm deflecting.

An angel's smile is what you sell
You promise me Heaven, then put me through hell
Chains of love got a hold on me
When passion's a prison, you can't break free

Oh right, I bought whatever she was selling and then I didn't know that it was a one way ticket to hell. The chorus is just a simple iteration of the lines :

Shot through the heart
And you're to blame
You give love a bad name (bad name)
I play my part and you play your game
You give love a bad name (bad name)
Hey, you give love, a bad name

The tune is pretty catchy and you can shout all the hurt if you want, this song allows that much vocal violence, just shout and cream to let all those poignant memories go. After singing, or screaming this song however, I don't think that I could really do another song properly, there's just much stress on the throat after.

It was fun right? Now you think you can do it? Try it!

Man, you're amazing. Are you going through something? We can talk about it over beers or something? What? You think I'm drunk, no way man. I am not putting this bottle down, you know what? I don't have to listen to this, why? Because this is not your life, it's my life!

It's My Life

Now this one's a staple especially when my father is joining is for the karaoke fun. This song is like a motivational kind of party whatever you might want to celebrate song. We can't just go on without singing this one especially when everyone's all tipsy and up on our feet, whooo! Party!

Try singing this song and soaking in all the lyrics I promise that you will never feel so free. But make sure you don't disturb other people too much okay? But yeah, just singing this song is so freeing, it's cathartic really.

This ain't a song for the broken-hearted
No silent prayer for faith-departed

And I ain't gonna be just a face in the crowd
You're gonna hear my voice when I shout it out loud

What did I tell you huh? This is really not a song for the broken-hearted, so after letting all your emotions go with this one, you won't be broken hearted.

It's my life
It's now or never
But I ain't gonna live forever
I just want to live while I'm alive
(It's my life)
My heart is like an open highway
Like Frankie said, "I did it my way"
I just want to live while I'm alive
It's my life

Whoa! Can't you just feel all the freedom, not a single care in the world, sing, shout, scream, jump and dance around, it's your life!

Did you listen to it? Ready to end this one with a bang? Grab that comb, that mouse, that whatever that long, electrical, pink colored thing you have there and use it as a mic and let's be one in rocking this thing out!

Hey man I'm alive!!!

Lol, enough singing. Let me ask you one thing, how's your voice? Lol I hope you enjoyed this little sing along. Thank you for visiting again in my oh so random page. I appreciate it so much and let's grab a drink and continue singing,

Cheers!!!


References :

Lead Image : https://www.bandwagon.asia/articles/sing-karaoke-anytime-with-joox-s-new-feature-and-join-be-the-star-campaign-2020-asia-tencent

All videos are courtesy of Youtube.com

12
$ 7.40
$ 7.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Glez
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 3
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Karaoke

Comments

That 80s -90s song really isnt getting old compared to those new songs released as of todays generation...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, it's incomparable. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of my friend is big fan of Bon Jovi. He once suggested me to watch bed of roses and it was quite good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really is. Gets stuck in your head easy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh Bon Jovi is my daddy's all-time favorite rockstar. Every Sunday morning habit of my dad is to play his albums on our old karaoke player.

Our favorite duet is the Bed of Roses hahaha it's classic and it's never gonna end in the music industry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's awesome! Rock on! :D Agree, that song will never lay to rest. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang kay dzeim.. Bout songs dn.. Maka interpret nga dn kpg wala na maisip na topic 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So how'd you say it? Jeym? It's close to your name, Jane, daym. LOL Haha, simple eh. Naisip ko lang gumawa ng ganitong series, may pinagiipunan kasing "musically inclined" na product. Hahaha kaya all proceeds ng mga articles about music and stuff, dun punta. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May ginagawa ako. Bumalik kc ako sa pakikinig ng kpop. 🀣 stress masyado sa bloggng kya back to hobby ako lol..kakarelax lng

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah ano ginagawa mo? Yown oh. Army ka? Hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isa lang ang hindi ko alam - yung Someday I'll Be Saturday Night. Pero the rest, alam ko na.😁 Yung It's My Life at You Gave Love A Bad Name - sinasayaw namin yan sa discohan datiπŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh talaga ba? Lakas maka taas ng energy nun no?

Someday I'll be Sat night, first time I heard it, eargasm! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I kinda feel proud that Iam familiar with most of the songs mentioned here. Hahaha! My vocal chords are asking for a break now. x~x

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh for real?!! That's really nice! You can be proud and you have such a great taste in music mademoiselle. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh.. merci beaucop!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaa nice!

$ 0.00
2 years ago