Please Forgive Me (Appreciation Post)

53 77
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Songs, Blog

If you are already reading my articles, you probably now acquainted with the fact that I am an avid fan of karaoke. Well if that's not the case (awww.. too bad, :( ) , you may read my previous article about that here : Singing My Heart Out .

Next thing I wanted to do is to unfold this scroll called my playlist and tell you the songs that I almost, always certainly sing in a karaoke machine. So without further ado, shall we start then?

The first one on my list has been a favorite song of mine from the early years of my childhood. You see, everything I knew from songs back then came from my father. He's a huge fan of good songs too, he will always play the radio and during the days when he's off work, me and my sisters will be awakened by his voice singing along with some minus one tapes.

Alright, I got sidetracked for a bit there, but the first song on my playlist is "Please Forgive Me" by Bryan Adams.

It was released back in 1993 under the album "So Far So Good". Wow, wait. it's released 1993 and I was just a toddler then. Anyway the song was so good, with Bryan's kind of husky beautiful voice, the lyrics' meaning were just made more times powerful. I don't know why I feel the pain from his voice, maybe because every single time I try to sing this one it hurts my throat, I lot, when I am trying to copy his voice. He's just too good.

I already loved the song from back then, but as I was growing up and knowing some of the stuff about love and relationships, the lyrics was slowly taking shape and I am starting to feel it more and more as I was beginning to understand what he was trying to say.

Lyrics

It still feels like our first night together
Feels like the first kiss
It's getting better baby
No one can better this
Still holding on
You're still the one

That was just the first stanza of the song but isn't it just so sweet and oh.. the feels can you feel it? I'm guessing that by that time, they have been together for years but the intimacy is very much alive, it is still so fresh. As he says, it still feels like their first night together, feels like the first kiss. And if we are to remember our first night with our loved ones, isn't it magical? Can't you feel the butterflies not only on your stomach but all through out your body? Knees feeling weak, and every bit of you is tingling?

What about your first kiss? Wasn't it enchanting? I remember being frozen in time from the sweetness of her lips, the taste of wet gentle lips. I was shaken to the core. No one can better this, he just said that she was the best in just the most romantic way.

But when he said, "still holding on, you're still the one" that just gives us the hint that they were maybe going through a rough patch. They maybe having troubles at the time but still, he was head over heels in love with her. I think that's what matters. Don't you agree?

Matter of fact, one look at the title, you can guess that this is some sort of a break up song. It's like the guy singing his regrets towards his estranged lover. But if you think that, then let me say, "ah huh! You're wrong! Boo boop." There's no break up pending in the meaning of the song, well at least in my opinion.

The refrain and the chorus goes :

So if you're feeling lonely, don't
You're the only one I'll ever want
I only want to make it good
So if I love you a little more than I should

Please forgive me, I know not what I do
Please forgive me, I can't stop loving you
Don't deny me, this pain I'm going through
Please forgive me, if I need you like I do
Please believe me, every word I say is true
Please forgive me, I can't stop loving you

See? What did I tell you? There's no pending break up right? Because they're already broken up. He was saying that he was wrong and asking for forgiveness. But is he? Is he truly asking for forgiveness sincerely? I mean, all he said and all he was asking for forgiveness are all good and so romantic things. It's like saying sorry but you really don't mean it. It's like saying sorry sarcastically. It was like playing a game with someone and you say, I'm sorry that I beat you, I'm really sorry if I really am so good in this game, I could be a pro or something.

That's just lunatic right? But maybe the scenario is like this, they are separated but not mutual, now the guy is annoying the girl to be back together, even goes on stalking her. Now that's not really a good thing right? Not at all. So yeah, that's really something you need to be sorry about.

But still the melody, the overall charm of the song is there. And 10/10 I'd still sing this in front of any machine even if the meaning was a bit toxic and overbearing.

Wait what was that? You were right? What about? Lol, okay okay, you were right from the get go if you think that this was some kind of break up song. I'm sorry okay, Please forgive me, I know not what I do. :)

If you haven't listened to the song yet, have a go at the video below (not mine). You won't regret it, I swear.


References:

Lead image :

Photo byΒ Luis QuinteroΒ fromΒ Pexels

Video via Vevo.

16
$ 21.01
$ 20.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.10 from @dziefem
+ 5
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Songs, Blog

Comments

Man, you're teasing! I miss going to karaoke bars 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah yeah. I hope this pandemic ends soon so we can flock back to those :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

duet tau 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay bet. Go!! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

can't wait

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Classic songs lang talaga malakas πŸ˜… one of the nicest song I ever heard when I was young

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobraaa. Ang ganda weh..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala yata sa pamilya namin na mahilig magkaraoke, yung mga tito ko napakalala. Anyways, sample naman po diyan ng kanta na willow ni Taylor haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy di natin kaya yun.. Gang white horse lang ako. Hahhahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's one of my favorite songs too but I don't remember singing it on karaoke but quite often on my phone playlist. Napakanta tuloy ako nong ibinigay mo ang lyrics hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah nice! That's the goal. Sample!! Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not a fan of karaoke. Lol. Haha πŸ˜‚ I just listen and criticize! Ahhaha πŸ˜‚ and my parents love this song. Heard them sang it on karaokes! But the feels of the song is alive. Will listen to it later!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep. So much feels. :) Try singing along na din. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha baka umulan amp

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hindi yan.. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a very nice song. Palagi ko to naririnig sa mga nagvivideoke. Hanggang 3 lines lang ata kaya ko nitoπŸ˜…πŸ˜… Maganda pakinggan mga old songs o baka old soul lang talaga akoπŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah, maganda talaga pakinggan. di ka nagiisa. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bakit ganon, hindi ko alam ang kantang yan? Forgive me hahaha. Puro ilokano naririnig ko madalas dito samin e haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ala eh, asang lupalop ka ba? Pakinggan mo na at baka magustuhan mo yan. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ewan ko rin po ba kuya HAHAHA. sige po pakinggan ko. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

heehe.. go. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hmmmm made me wonder if the girl forgive her...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm.. if it were you.. Will you? Just hearing that song...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

depends on what he does.. "i know not what i do" this is bullshit LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha sometimes, nay, most of the times we really don't. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll say it again.. it's bullshit πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha yep maybe, pero pag tatanungin mo naman "What did I do?" Mas magagalit naman ung girl, kasi sasagot siya "Ginawa mo, hindi mo alam?" Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

eh baket ba kasi nde alam ng mga boy ang ginagawa nila.. its just weird na yung hindi alam ng lalaki kung ano yung mga pinaggagawa nila LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah you know what? Boys kasi just do things, they think afterwards, tapos naman kadalasan, wala lang un naman basta ginagawa lang kasi natural lang. So ganito one time, ung couple manunuod ng sine. excited sila pareho pagdating ng mall, then bumili sila snacks, after nun wala na sa mood si girl. Anong possible nangyari? Take note magkadikit sila all the time ah? Tingin mo what happened in that short while?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi ko po ito napapakinggan sa videoke kapag may kumakanta sa mga kapitbahay πŸ˜…πŸ˜… dahil di ako magaling kumanta hanggang pakikinig nalang ako ng mga kinakanta nila😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahaha mang agaw ka ng mic. tapos birit na. haha try it, it's fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha baka wala na po kasing kumanta kalag inagawan ko ng mic πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha ayun nga lang. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Asuss pa humble pa to's @Zhyne06 πŸ˜„πŸ€£ pangtawag ng tanggalan kaya boses moπŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol ka. Tawag ng tanggalan guro hahahha. Wag kang ganyan baka ma discover ako. Biglang yaman hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ayyy syempre pag ganyan.. Sample sample sample!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahahaha wag baka bumalik si bagyong yolanda 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah hindi yan. sakto naman tag ulan ngayon, hindi halata. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, nice explanation po, but i like the song it's my life po, lol, though mgnda din po 2ng kantang 2 n in demand din po sa videoke po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha in demand talaga no? haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, opo, in demand po, lol, ika nga paborite po, hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha oo naman ayy. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo, lol, prang bed of roses lng po, hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah pambanatan no? Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, pmbanatan po ndi pmpalakasan? Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

banat na banat na kasi mga ugat at litid mo nun pag kinanta na yun. hahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, ah, un po pla, lol, opo, pti ngalangala nyo po eh kita nrin po pg un po knanta nyo, hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo, lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Way back when I had time for karaoke, I always sang this one. I loved the last part but my friends quiz me when I sing it the best I could.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like quiz you? ask you questions?? I don't follow. Hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Avid fan din ako ng karaoke πŸ˜…πŸ€£ Pero di ko sure kung love ako ng mic. Basta kanta lng din ako. Panoorin ko nga to. Mukhang maganda. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah alin? Ung music video? hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago