Singing My Heart Out

17 43
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Experience, Karaoke

Music is embedded to our systems. Be it a good thing or a bad, it depends on who you ask. But I can't think of a scenario in my mind that music is bad. Well, aside from its inappropriate use of course.

Music tends to alleviate stress or mellow us down in times of pressuring moments. It can cradle us to sleep or it can wake us up when we needed to be active. Some people can't help but sing when they are feeling happy and in the mood.

Fact. I love to sing. Another fact. I don't know how to sing well. But nevertheless I find singing so intricately intertwined with my moods. I sing when I'm so glad and I can also sing to release the hurt and sorrows I am bearing. And that is why karaoke has been a big part of my life.

Early Karaoke Gig

From as long as I can remember, our family's past time has been singing along with karaoke. I can recall that my father used to sing with a karaoke machine back when I was a small kid. He used to sing with those minus one cassette tapes and sometimes, he will record his session on another cassette tape. From that point on, I was fascinated with singing karaoke.

Image 2

Nowadays, I try to stretch and work out my vocal cord and try singing karaoke every now and then. I'm free to do what I want in my own house right? And before you ask and bash me, NO, my neighbors haven't complained yet and I try to not really disturb anybody. We're not the type to wail all night or early in the morning. We just chill.

This is one of the activities I really missed with this stupid pandemic. Yes of course, even if we had our own machine at home, there is still that something entertaining queuing your song and waiting in line for other people to sing. Passing the mic, sharing the mic, it's really amazing, all those concert feels.

Image 1

Sing Along Parties

We Filipinos really love to sing karaoke. In every occasion, and you know our culture, we always find ways to celebrate, there is always some occasion to celebrate in our own ways. Birthdays, holidays, festivals, christening, first salary, and even monthsarries are celebrated here. And when there is a celebration, food, drinks and some music are constantly involved. Some other times, when a group just decided to get together, a karaoke machine will be rented to add flare to the party.

And you'll be surprised, even on my great grandmother's wake, we rented a karaoke machine. And creepily enough, while my aunt was singing Spoliarium by Eraserheads, one of the guests collapsed and died then and there. And from then on, we don't even think of singing that cursed song.

Facts About Karaoke

Speaking of fatal karaoke songs, it is a well established practice here in the Philippines to not sing, as in never, never ever sing the song My Way by Frank Sinatra in karaoke bars or anywhere that is a public place and many drunk people are gathered.

The song is known to bring a certain load of misfortune to the performer and even death.

Also, the Philippines hold the record for most in-home karaoke machines. If that does not say how Filipinos love to belt out their notes, I don't know what is.

It is also a Filipino that is recognized as the patentholder for the karaoke machine. Robert del Rosario was acknowledge to be the man behind the karaoke machine. However, scholars attribute the invention of the machine itself to a Japanese entrepreneur, Daisuke Inoue. It was said that the invention came out from a band cancelling their gig in one of Inoue's restaurant. Apparently, he asked people and customers to sing along with some music.

No matter how much I love doing karaoke however would not hold a single candle to the world record of the longest karaoke session. This is awarded to Leonardo Polvirelli who sand 1,295 songs for four days. The session was about 101 hours, 59 minutes and 15 seconds. Now, I really don't know if he was really singing all through out that duration but I imagine that he was given some breaks between songs maybe. Can you imagine that though? I don't think my vocal cord could withstand that kind of stress.

Wouldn't it be amazing if he was just singing a single song for that whole time? That will be crazy. And what if that song was Baby by Justin Bieber? LOL.

Hey there!!!

Oh lala! Thank you for being here again. And way to read passed through my ramblings about this little sound machine. What about you? Do you like to sing? Do you like to do karaoke? What's your favorite song to sing on it? Wanna duet? LOL

Hey! Apparently, singing karaoke is good for the health. It's also known to relieve stress and another good thing about it? It builds connections and a lot of fun memories. A lot of my fun and happy memories are actually connected to it.

Anyway, that's it for now and as always,

Cheers!!!


References:

SlideShare 2018, 6 Interesting Facts About Karaoke, accessed 9 June 2021, <https://www.slideshare.net/platinumkaraoke/6-interesting-facts-about-karaoke>

Singing Machine 2017, Amazing Karaoke Facts, accessed 9 June 2021, <https://singingmachine.com/blogs/post/amazing-karaoke-facts?_pos=1&_sid=e2d65a73d&_ss=r>

Lead Image : https://time.com/5665650/best-karaoke-songs/

Image 1 : https://www.newscientist.com/article/2194074-ai-autotune-makes-your-terrible-karaoke-singing-more-tolerable/

Image 2 : https://www.ebay.com/i/332901368391?chn=ps

7
$ 12.54
$ 12.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @dziefem
$ 0.02 from @Lejay28
+ 2
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Experience, Karaoke

Comments

Justin's Baby was first English song I listened. From that day on, I listened many singers but most of them were rappers like Eminem, pitbull etc

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh then, you're into the pop genre.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yop

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love singing even though I'm not good at it, especially when I'm alone! πŸ˜† But sometimes when I got a courage, I'm singing at karaoke. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah! Just sing your heart out, we own the world while we sing. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a roller coaster of funny stuff and creepy facts! I don't know what to feel anymore. LOL

And that real-life Spolarium thingy? Whoa.. I got goosebumps.

Karaoke is VERY fun for me, too. I have done this once with my college friends and we had the greatest time that day . I hope we can do it again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yey! Let me hear you sing. LOL

BTW, you're right now that I read it again, the tone is all over the place. Hahaha what a mess. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's a good thing naman hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha alright. Thanks for that. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love singing but I think singing doesn't feel the same way.πŸ˜…πŸ˜… My voice is good only in the bathroom because of the echoπŸ˜…. But still I love singing in karaokes when there is special occasions. My father is a good singer and can play a guitar too. I don't know why I didn't got that talent from him.πŸ€” My Way of Frank Sinatra is his favorite piece.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You don't know how to sing or play guitar? But your name's Freddy.. that's too bad. LOL

Ah yes, the bathroom acoustic, I feel like a star too when I'm under the shower, I feel like I can hit any note on any song. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I heard that some people say that singing can help to live a long life, they say that singing can help the life span of man. Hihih I don't know if there is a scientific explanation of that hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep, just don't sing My Way in a bar full of drunk people, your life wouldn't be long enough. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha korek, you be killed due to singing instead of enjoying singing for a long life haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha that's true!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We also love karaoke, we don't do it often but when we do we gather as one. We had one earlier with just my phone and a Bluetooth speaker, anyhow we enjoyed it so much. We are not family of singers but we do sing in the right tone though πŸ˜… at least not so pretty voice but not out of tone 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well it does not really matter, what's important is that you enjoy and we are not disturbing the whole community. hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago