Recipe of Love

18 119
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Dear Prof,

Uhm, hi? Patty here, I really don't know how to start this one so I think that I just have to be upfront with you. I heard a lot of good things about you Prof and I have read a lot of your works. From the letters to the weekly publications on Cosmo and even on your own blog. I am an avid follower of your works, to say the least.

That being said though, I feel like I am an overly romantic girl for my age. I'm already 23 years of age and I am yet to be in a serious relationship. Sure, I have been in what you may call flings. I have dated online, and I went out with a couple of guys. But through the years, I still don't understand what it takes to have that meaningful relationship people call love.

Is it really like in the movies? Is it really like in the novels? Whenever I read your works, especially those letters of the heart, I tend to be confused since they seldom conform to Hollywood's basic idea of "love".

I am now a cook in a famous burger chain and we have this customer that would just come by every day and would just talk to me for hours on end on some days. He told me that he would drop by every day just to see me. I was flattered and I thought that he was just saying that but that fool, he really does what he says. I just hope that he wouldn't be obese after a year.

Anyway, I feel like he's a good enough guy to be given a chance but I just don't feel that "awww" factor or those butterflies in the stomach. But I am really at ease talking with him. He's funny and he talks a lot of sense.

So I guess my question is, how do I know if it's gonna work? Is there a formula for a great relationship?

Sincerely,

Patty

My Hearty Patty,

First off, my heart is just over the moon. My heart is really easily pleased when I hear something from someone who appreciates my works, I really appreciate you for supporting me and for reading my publications, that means a lot to me.

Knowing that you have been up to date with my works pumped me up and I am really excited to sit down and work on my response. So with that, I'll just put down this glass of scotch and let me figure out how to use this electronic mail or something. For this one, I'm going to wear my apron, pick up the spatula, and hit up the stove. Let me tell you what I personally think "love" is made out of.

Oh yeah, before I forget, "love" is not a type of relationship, that's important to know. You can be in love even without a relationship. You can also be loved without commitment, love is not as simple as man and wife, boyfriend or girlfriend, it's a whole other world than that. So in this one, let's just focus on what an ideal relationship is made of, fair enough?

But if you insist on what makes out "love", my friend who is an aspiring author has some exquisite views upon the matter. I share his convictions and ideas. Kindly read them here:

With that out of the way, let's start cooking, shall we?

4 Cups of Acceptance

Before any relationship can begin, there should be an "acceptance" agreement. This is also true on those sites or apps you use. Nowadays, before you can use an application or a service you will be presented with a lengthy and wordy document called "End-User Agreement", you won't be able to proceed to anything without clicking that "I accept/agree" button.

The same goes with a relationship, you shall accept the relationship first and foremost, and along the way, during the relationship itself, there will be new or hidden things that will come up and you will then have to choose whether to accept the new terms or to terminate the agreement. Think of the apps when they will notify you that their user agreement has been updated, it's like that.

Relationship, it's a series of constant acceptance and/or compromise.

3 Tbsp of Sweetness

I like my relationship like I like just about everything I eat or drink. Sweet. If there's no sugar and romance, I do not see any sense in continuing that relationship. Of course, this is just my personal taste. There could be relationships out there without the sweet nothings and romance, but I am pretty sure that I do not want a taste of any of those.

I live for the sweet nothings, the good mornings, the good evenings, the have you eaten yet's, the I love you's the I miss you's, all that, the whole nine yards.

2 Cups of Honesty

Honesty is one of the foundations of any relationship in this world. At least it should be. But I say that only two cups are needed, there's no room for radical honesty in a relationship. There are things that are better left unsaid, there are things the other person should not even know. Be honest, but responsibly honest.

There's this kind of honesty called brutal honesty that is just honest for the sake of being honest and not considering feelings, emotions and the total well-being of the other person. That kind of honesty is just selfish.

A Pinch of Mystery

We have an expression "familiarity breeds contempt...", oh, believe me, that's just oh so true. And in a relationship, since you are almost always with, by, or talking to each other, the familiarity is on the highest level. It's on the side of overfamiliarity. You know the ins and outs of each other and when that level of familiarity is reached, it's easy to lose interest with each other or even respect.

A little mystery here and there may prove to be useful in this case. I am not saying that you should keep things especially important things from one another. It's just, you don't have to know each and every little detail about everything in each other's life.

4 Tbsp of Respect

And of course, any relationship would not work without seasoning it with respect. Respect each other, each other's boundaries, and personal space. That's imperative.

All of those ingredients over an open and secured flame. The passion between you two should always be alive, and the fire should always stay alight.

I think that I have covered the basic recipe of a relationship and I hope that I was able to satisfy your cravings about the topic. Until the next one.

May your heart find what it truly desires.

Hi!!!

Whoa! I was so excited to receive another letter entry from the professor. It has been a while since he last published a letter of response to someone's love inquiry. And I am glad that it is of this quality. He never really ceases to amaze me.

What about you? How do you like the story today? If you have any reactions, comments and just violent reaction towards it, kindly drop by the comment section and speak your heart and mind out. I will make sure that the prof will read your entries.

If you would like to catch up the readings from the professor, you may check this link out : Letters of the Heart. I do hope that you liked this offering.

Anyhow, I will leave you to it and until we read again...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise : https://noise.cash/u/MeitanteiKudo

Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=meitanteikudo

Telegram:meitanteikudo

Twitter : boynextdoor1409

Series    : Letters of the Heart
Episode   : 016
Title     : Recipe of Love
Published : 01-Dec-2021
Author    :  © RB 

13
$ 5.96
$ 5.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.05 from @Jher0122
+ 3
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Give me some ingredients so ghat i can add mine haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah add some more. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paki add Prof 1 cup of commitment and 1 galloon faithfulness.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahah ang dami nun ah.. baka masuya naman siya. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Para hindi magloko sir🙈😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahha baka magsawa ka. hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can I have that recipe? I badly needed that though.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

heheh yes of course. :) Do your magic with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uhhhh proof i think i badly needed those recipe , can you pass it through me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha it's all yours if you want :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala, prof is back!

For me, one can't really say if it's real love worth trying, unless they go all the way in! Go, try nyo. If magwork, then good. If hindi, then next! Char. Hehe. On a serious note, I remembered Twice' Song here. Love ain't a Science, need no license, ganern.

As long as you consider yourself ready for commitment and all possible hardships that would come with entering a relationship, then you can try opening your heart for someone na.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

are you ready to open up to someone na? Yes or Yes? Hahaha you may be asking "What is Love?" well, don't expect a specific answer because as you say, Love ain't a Science. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Basta ako di pa. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

in time.. heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree on what proof said, for me those are really important. As for Patty, maybe you just didn't found yet your "the one" Youre still.young anyway, but who knows you are already inlove with that guy. It is just you didnt notice.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

heheh wow,, that makes a lot of sense..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww. I think Patty is already in love. She is just searching for affirmations. Haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahah yes, malaking posibilidad yun, di lang nya alam tunay na pala un.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago