Crypto and Gamblin'

6 43
Avatar for meitanteikudo
1 year ago

Maaan! I don't know what just happened but it seemed like I just experienced those "instant karma" thingy that I like to watch on Youtube. I just opened up my console to play a game. But then I remembered that I should write tonight, I was torn between playing and writing.

I thought that if the game loaded a bit slower then maybe I could start writing and I could just finish a little later. But then the game loaded so fast so I had this insane thought in my head that's just straight from the "first-world problem" memes: I thought that it sometimes sucks to have a fast internet because you don't have to wait for things to load and you won't have time to do some other stuff and you'll be right into the game.

But then as the game loaded, it prompted that it needed to update. I pressed OK and now, it's still downloading that 30GB of update. It says that I still need to wait for around 60 minutes, so here I am, writing. Just my luck, right?

Speaking of luck. I was out walking earlier in the neighborhood just trying to get some air. I noticed that there were a lot of people on one particular place. And just like any normal person in the same situation would, I walked to the crowd and stuffer my nose to see what the fuss was all about.

There were a couple of guys playing pool. They were playing 10-ball. And then the guys gathered around watching were betting. In short, they were gambling. So I just stood there and watched, I figured I could just make tambay while I wait for the time. And back to the word luck, I think that I don't have much of that, that's why I ain't much of a gambler.

Don't get me wrong, I know a lot of games that could be used for gambling. From toss coins to playing cards. I know a lot. I played a lot of them too. From a simple game of in-between to even complicated stuff like poker. I play tong-its, lucky 9, blackjack, quaho, and even baccarat. Although I know how to play all that, when it comes to getting lucky, I'm not very good at that. That's the reason why me and gambling don't really mix well.

I played my share of games. I also won and took home some winnings once or twice, but never really a significant amount. I used to play bingo with the elders in our neighborhood during daytime and I think that I went home with actual winnings just a couple of times. All in all, I'm still losing by so much more. Luck really isn't on my cards.

Betting with sport games is a little different though. It may have something to do with luck but there's so much more skills involved. We used to bet on basketball games where we were the ones playing. It would start as fun and friendly like losers have to buy drinks for the winner to $10-$20 per person. And when the stakes go even higher, so does the physicality and underhanded tactics. Sometimes it gets so bad that you're literally running for your life. Now that's a kind of gambling that I would never want to try.

And another form of gambling that I haven't won once yet is trading crypto. 🙄

If I said it once, I said it a million times, trading crypto is gambling. Heck, even just simple buying and holding a cryptocurrency is already gambling. You really don't know what will happen after you get a hold of a certain coin. Will its price go up and you win, or will the price go down and you lose. Or will it pull the rug and make you miserable? You don't know. Unless of course you are one of the whales that could sway the buying and selling pressure of an asset. How would that work? Well, if you hold enough percentage of the asset, you can somehow influence the market and in turn predict whether the value goes up or down. You sell a bunch, price goes down, you buy a bunch then it would be possible to drive the value up. But for someone like me with just a miniscule amount, everything is a gamble.

And all of these gambling talk reminded me of that one song by Kenny Rogers called The Gambler:

You got to know when to hold 'em, know when to fold 'em
Know when to walk away and know when to run
You never count your money when you're sittin' at the table
There'll be time enough for countin' when the dealing's done

I don't know about you, but I think that he's got it spot on. Right on the money!

Heeey!!!

And it has been another edition of my freewriting series, Late Nights, Drunken Thoughts. It certainly is a late night but how I wish that I was drunk right now.

Anyway, I reqlly appreciate you dropping by and I wish that we could catch up soon. That's it for me and until we read again...

Sweet dreams!!!

Author's Links

Noise | Torum | Twitter | Hive | Publish0x | Blurt.blog

Telegram: meitanteikudo

Would You Like to Earn Some More?

Passive income with your internet (gain $5 instantly by using my referral link)

Play some games and earn.

Series    : Late Nights, Drunken Thoughts
Title     : Crypto and Gamblin'
Published : 16-May-2022
Author :  © RB

11
$ 2.34
$ 2.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @pajeroz
+ 1
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
1 year ago

Comments

We are all gamblers here anyway...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

for real. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gambling in games is trend now a days. I left betting from couple of years. I just enjoyed the sports only. Congrats you have better internet connection than me. Here still we have 4G speed that is compatible slow and not enough to download 30GB in few hours. We should never lose hope in any case. It will complete soon and everything will be fine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha It is completed and I am yet to play it. Lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree, crypto is a legal gambling and it doesn't guarantee that one will always make profits.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yeahh... just like in life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago