Break a Rack!!!

12 54
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

The balls are all set in a triangle formation. 1,2,3 to 15 are carefully organized on the far end of the table covered in green tightly-woven worsted wool. The cue tip hit the white ball and boom the set goes wild and the balls are scattered all over the pool table.

Cooperation

That may be the last word you can think about when you're given an individual game such as billiards as a topic. But back when I was playing pool and trying to impress ladies with my way around the table and my gracious way of handling the stick, we open play games of 8 ball by pair so cooperation is a really vital aspect of it.

We would pair up with girls, preferably newbies with billiards, and then play a classic game of 8 ball but by pairs. I would also slip up some kind of trick shots just for the heck of it we just hope that billiard balls weren't the only round things we are holding and the cues aren't the only long and hard things when the night ends.

Fireplace

I have always dreamed about having a lounge or a room of some sort with a billiards table in the middle and a fireplace on one side of the wall. Just like what you would see in a classic film with a classic study.

And then you will have your friends over and play some pool while drinking beer and getting cozy by the warmth of the fireplace. It's situated somewhere cold and would have some snow, ideally.

Balance

Balance is the basis of the game of billiards. From the table to the players, everything should be in balance. Just think about it. The things we use to play billiards are balls. Perfectly round and smooth balls. Wait, that sounded dirty, but I swear to you that I meant no trashy comment with that, I am saying perfectly round, smooth balls, with the purest intentions and utmost innocence.

As for the players, they should master how to keep their balance while aiming and thrusting that cue back and forth, and in and out of a hole made by the index finger and the thumb. Alright, again, purity and innocence.

Hill

Playing billiards up the hill? Well, nice try. You wouldn't normally think that anyone could connect the word hill with billiards. But for someone who follows professional games of billiards or pool, the word hill is all too familiar. The phrase "on the hill" is often used in billiards to indicate that a team or a player is just one rack away from winning the match, or in simpler terms, on the verge of victory.

Hill-hill is also used by commentators to indicate that both players or both teams are just a rack away from bagging the overall victory. So, honestly, you did not expect that, right?

Writer

I have been a sports writer before. I have written articles for boxing, basketball, and volleyball. And to speak frankly, I do not think that I would be able to write an interesting piece from a match of billiards.

There would just be a lot of "pocketing", "poking", bouncing around, and leg raises in that article. So I was thankful that I wasn't assigned any billiard matches during my short stint as a sports writer. Whew.

Hey yo!!!

I guess if you know me by now, you also know what on God's green Earth this article is. It's another prompt entry to our Prompt Factory community. This article is written utilizing the writing prompt given in What's the Word? #PromptFactory .

Well, what can I say, writer's block is a daily struggle. You don't know when it will hit so it's really good to be ready when it does.

Although I have used random words to fulfill the entirety of the article, I chose to keep them connected to a single theme or topic, which in this case is billiards.

That being said, I bid you a good day and pray that you know that I always appreciate your time spent here, and as usual...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise : https://noise.cash/u/MeitanteiKudo

Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=meitanteikudo

Twitter: boynextdoor1409

Telegram : meitanteikudo

Series    : Prompt Factory
Title     : Break a Rack
Published : 12-Nov-2021
Author    :  © RB

18
$ 5.27
$ 5.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 3
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

My older brother used to have a place to play billiards, I like to learn to poke white balls, aim at the ball written with numbers, but for me this game really requires high calm and concentration, because filing the mind is a perfect weapon, that's my difficulty, my mind is often disturbed . but this game is very fun.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha true this is also a game of concentration and focus

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Umm i'm a big dog of billiard and many more. I loves sports not only for my body strengthening but also for my enthusiastic.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

that's a nice habit you have. keep it up always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do always love playing billiards. We had a billiard pool before and I played most of the times with tricyle drivers in our area.😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oh wow, are you good? Like pustahan good?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't even know how to play this sport but when I hold the stick in the billiard I feel like I'm a pro hahaha justbkidding but I want to leanr this, I just played volleyball and badminton though.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oh yeahh.. It's quite easy to learn, but it takes a lot of talent to be good at it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've always wanted to write anything about sports too kaya lang I don't know how to use the correct terms para maging sport's news talaga

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe yep, you need to play the sport to be familiar with the jargons and make it sound organic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

PromptFactory to save the day! Baka.magganto ako mamaya. 😂😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahah alam mo yan.. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago