As Usual

14 61
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

"As usual", a simple phrase that describes a simple and everyday scenario. As usual describes something that normally happens, habitual, and just normally the case. It does not have any special ring to it and it doesn't sound really fancy. It's just a simple phrase but to me, it holds a lot of memories and stirs up childhood memories that I hold very dear.

I was in 4th grade when I was chosen to represent the school in a writing competition in our district. Several schools participated in the event every single year. For that particular year, the school sent me to the competition as a feature writer. I really don't have much experience with competitive writing back then. I had some experience joining interschool competitions such as quiz bees and other academic activities. I also had experience competing in athletic meets playing badminton or volleyball.

Although I have some experience competing, I was still nervous when I went to the venue accompanied by a teacher from my school. She left me in the hall after we registered and I tried to shake the nerves out by walking around. I looked around the school grounds and there were lots of students wearing different uniforms. Our schools were really big on those contests and you can see it with the number of participants from all over the place.

There were a few familiar faces I could recognize, maybe I have met them in some other events before. But most of the crowd were strangers and were of different ages. Some 4th graders like me but others are grade 5-7. I kept my head down since I don't really have a company as they do. I was also joined by 2 of my seniors but I didn't really know them before that day. So I just kept on my own.

Several events are held throughout the day and we are free to join in on the events that we could. The overall winner goes to the school with the most number of awards, pretty much just like how they do it in the Olympics.

Since there are just three of us against complete teams from several schools, we do not have a chance to claim that spot but we're just hoping to learn what the event could teach us, and winning is just an added bonus to us.

The events weren't categorized by grade so we were all welcome to join each and every event if we want to. I don't know how to draw so I just joined the writing ones. Before each contest begins, there will be a guest speaker that will discuss something about the category and will share some pointers on how to be effective in the respective field. They will also be part of the judging committee.

I took part in the lectures and the contests. I also finished my feature article and submitted it just like the others. The results will be announced in the afternoon so we were free to do what we want until then. As for the team, we ate our lunch early, and then they decided to roam around the school.

I didn't want to walk around the school grounds because the place was new to me and I was afraid that I would be lost in the vastness of the school. Instead, I went on the second floor of the building, and on the balcony I watched children flocking around the school. I also looked out to the city streets outside the school gates.

I was just minding my own business during the lunch break when all of a sudden someone spoke behind me and she stood beside me along the railings of the balcony.

"As usual..." she said.

I was surprised and before I could complete my turn to see who it was she was standing beside me and so close for that matter.

"Uhm, I'm sorry?" I was clueless about what she was referring to and I was clueless about who she was and why she was talking to me. I was certain at the time that she was talking to me because there was nobody else is within our earshot.

"I mean, as usual, it's St. Vincent's victory again," she replied.

I don't know who she is but I thought that she's someone who likes to speak in codes. She hasn't made even a single sense yet. Or maybe it was I that was just clueless. And that was the case.

She explained that she was attending the yearly competition and St. Vincent school always win the overall competition. I didn't know. It was my first time and I was not from St. Vincent. But why does she know that?

She ranted away like that and I was just going along with the conversation. I guessed that it was too late to ask her who she was and why she was talking to me. But I was glad that she made the pause and did just that.

"Oh hey, by the way, I'm Rizzie. Nice to meet you." and she extended her hand for a shake.

I took it, I said my name and told her that it was my pleasure.

We talked for a bit and then we were called inside the room for the announcement of winners. And as I went to my seat, I was searching the room looking for her. She just made me glad to be part of the event.

She made it worthwhile.

Haloa!!

Thanks for visiting yet again. This will be the first part of a 2-part miniseries. I hope that this article finds you well and that you somehow liked it. If you did, kindly drop by the comment section below, and let's chat about anything under the sun or about this article.

And also if you really, really like it, a thumbs up will be pretty much appreciated! :)

Author's Links

Noise : https://noise.cash/u/MeitanteiKudo

Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=meitanteikudo

Telegram:meitanteikudo

Twitter : boynextdoor1409

Series    : Random Articles
Title     : As Usual
Published : 05-Jan-2022
Author :  © RB

13
$ 9.86
$ 9.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 7
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

cutest interaction between the two of you hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko tuloy yung school press experiences ko when I was still in high school. Being one of the contestants in writing competition is really fun. Madami din akong nkilala and naging kaibigan back then.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahah saya lang ano?? :) Ano sinasalihan mong category? :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

News Writer prof. Filipino

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ayooown! balitang balita! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I glad I visited meitantei, I am TomiAjax from noise Cash. Well let wait for the second part of the article, I want to know if it was st Vincent that won

$ 0.02
2 years ago

heeey!! Nice to see you again. How have you been? :) Actually...the second part is out...and it is called... Actually.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok, I'll go check it out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always say that. Whenever something happens to us again and again. To me it sounds like a story and I like your style of writing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yepp.. it's really a common and a cute expression

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah it's a cute interaction between the two of you hahaha anyways yeah I always said this when my professor on past semester became my professor again hahaha he always give the same grades to me even the subject is different hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

wehehe a very nice usage of "as usual"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always say that words too when same things always happening over snd over again 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

that's a really nice expression.

$ 0.00
2 years ago