Think good, do good and lets make this world a better place.

15 38
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Year 2000. The millennium. The year when computer experts were tasked to standby in banks and organizations to ensure all mission critical systems and programs glided seamlessly from year 1999 into year 2000. It was also the year when "Pay It Forward" was released which starred the very versatile and Academy Award winners/nominees, Kevin Spacey, Helen Hunt and Haley Joel Osment.

I enjoy watching movies that inspire and that are thought provoking because we all need a little inspiration and positivity, and this one hit all the right notes for me. The movie revolves around a teacher who challenged his class of seventh graders to think of an idea to change our world and putting it into action as an assignment.

One of his students came up with the idea helping three individuals whom he thought were in need of help, something they were not able to do themselves; and then getting them to continue the action of doing good to three other individuals with a hope that the little deeds will create a domino or butterfly effect of changing the world.

When we sincerely do good to others, mindsets can be changed for the better and hopefully others will do good to others, just like the concept of paying it forward. We do not expect anything in return and we may not even meet the person again. A good deed, no matter how small, is a good deed and sometimes, without us knowing or realizing, it changes the lives of others. We all need a whole lot of good in this world and we can start here today, spreading goodness altogether in this platform.

Back then, it was the first time I "saw" the concept of paying it forward being put into action, although I realised that it is not a new concept. It has existed a long while (source) and paying forward is really beautiful. It was also the first thing I thought of when I read @gertu13's article "Do good without seeing who".

I was inspired and motivated to read from that there is community that exists here, one that promotes doing good to others called the Good Karma Army, founded by @TruSuccessXpert . Echoing his call to spread good karma around, @gertu13 has introduced me to this call with her article. A call to give 50% of whatever we receive from @TruSuccessXpert to another random person.

I am very happy and humbled to participate in this good cause. Karma is about action, and for some, a principle of cause and effect. Good karma is about good action and good effect.

Today, I have been given a tip of $0.50 by @TruSuccessXpert and I am paying it forward by giving 50% of the tip to @cactaceasml whom I just read today through one of my exploration here, who is passionate about cactus and succulents, and has a community called "Cactus & succulents". Pssst, to all your cactus and succulents enthusiasts, this is a community for you! :)

Let us each do our part to make this world a better place.

And I leave you with this song, one of my favourites from Michael Jackson:

Will you join us?


8
$ 2.25
$ 2.00 from @TruSuccessXpert
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
+ 2
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

Clueless on how to join but I'll just go about things in my own way

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Am already in 😁 welcome to the army 😁😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yippy! :D Hello fellow GKA! Heheh.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believe I have heard of good karma somewhere else before and I read about the story too.
I will have a look and see if I can do something about it too. I like the song too excluding the singer history 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear. I am sure you can. You have a good heart <3 Yes, me too. I prefer to look his positives :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article but... Michael Jackson is a big no to me. I am not fond of what he did, abusive people. Same if it comes to Elvis Presley, Mohammed Ali, and many more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear... Ah yes, he has quite some history, though unsure which is true. Most celebrities have their history, tragic end to some but I prefer to see their good legacies instead of their negatives.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful article!👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, thank you @TruSuccessXpert! Thank you for bringing us a glimmer of hope here and thank you for giving me the best tips since I came back 2 months ago. I am going to pay it forward to @heartbeat1515 whom I believe will put it to good use.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for putting your trust in me. The $1 dollar you gave me. I will give half of it to another good article that pass my wall or perhaps I will divide it to a few person.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😘🤗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's good that you've been inspired friend. You always have great inspirational articles. I like what you have written and I hope to see more people inspired to make this Community of Good Karma their community too. And I wish in a way that I could read those inspiring articles that everyone writes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @gertu13 for the encouragement. I write what I can, based on experience and I hope more will join us too. It is a community with a good purpose :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wasn't aware of the Karma group, will surely join! PS: Pay it forward is one of my favorite movies, the ending tho :(

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, come join the Good Karma Army! :) It was a good movie right? Oh darn.. the ending.... so tragic and sad :'(

$ 0.00
3 years ago