Regrets (Part 4, Finale)

30 44
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

"Grandma! Where are you going?" Ashley shouted as she watched her grandmother boarded the bus.

She sat and looked at Ashley through the blurred window. She didn't speak but somehow Ashley could hear her. "I am going somewhere far away my dear and I won't be coming back. Take care love."

Ashley, not wanting to believe her, chased after the bus as it rode off. She ran with all her might, hoping to catch up to the bus but not long after, she fell. She closed her eyes and cried until someone shook her. Ashley, puzzled, wiped away the tears and opened her eyes slowly.

"It is time, Ash." her father said.

The hospital called last night and by the time they rushed to the hospital, her grandmother was no longer with them. Just about two hours ago, Ashley was there by her bedside with her father. She held her grandmother's hand and her father said to let her sleep.

That morning, her aunty had said that her grandmother got up and asked for her hair to be combed. She managed to talk a little and ate some porridge. They all thought she was getting better when the hospital moved her to a normal ward the same evening.

As they went through the prayers at the wake, Ashley was sent back to the days when she spent time with her grandmother from her childhood days until last night, when she saw her grandmother for the last time while she was still breathing. Ashley couldn't help but wonder if she had spent enough time with her, could she had done more for her in her times of pain.

She smiled when she remembered the day her grandmother was watching an action packed movie together. She felt the scenes were so real and she was so distraught by all the scenes where vehicles were getting destroyed and actors killed. Ashley, at that time, kept telling her that they were not real and it was all for entertainment. But her grandmother insisted they were.

Her grandmother was no longer with them and all that was left were memories. Did Ashley regret the times that she didn't spend with her? A little. But she would prefer to remember the good times that she had spend with her, all the laughter and smiles.

Ashley looked at her mother and wondered too.


This is my fourth and final part entry to @Ozzyy 's Stories in Series contest which has ends today. Thank you @Ozzyy for this, I woudn't have thought of writing stories in series and now I have :)

Regrets (Part 1)

Regrets (Part 2)

Regrets (Part 3)


Lead image by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash.


47
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

;;-;; why such a sad entry oof. I was reminded of my grandfather again ;;-;; now if you'll excuse me, imma cry for a bit

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry @Hanzell... didn't mean to make you cry :( It was sad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It definitely was ;;-;; i didn't expect you to pull out such a good entry though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you.. You are too kind <3 I wasn't expecting it to be a good entry :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But it was one that gave us the hardest time deciding onπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so sad:< i get emotional🀧

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was sad :( Thank you for reading @Charlotte <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, how sad. He saw it in his dreams. They say that some people come to our dreams to say goodbye.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah you have the same belief too? Yah it was sad. And to see her grandmother and not being able to touch her and talk to her was sadder.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Yes I believe it. I remember my mother telling me that she saw her sister in her dreams. but she didn't say anything to him in the dream. My mother was worried because she had never dreamed of her sister since she had emigrated from her country.

In the weeks that followed, a visitor came from my mother's country and told her that her older sister had died weeks earlier.

What if I believe? yes, I believe a lot.

Not because I don't live it, I must think that there are no cases.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I want to read your all part please tell me details I miss him I am grateful to your article dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. If you have read the article, you would have seen the links to the other parts of this story at the end of the article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's touching and really sad since I never expected it to end like this, but you did pretty well on this. Good Luck!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @Ozzyy. This was quite an experience. Thank you for this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think you made the finale short. πŸ˜₯ no reconciliation between her mom and grandma? Did her mom even regret what happened in the past? πŸ˜₯

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I did.. I wanted it to be an easy read. I was afraid it would get a bit long winded and sappy.

No reconciliation. She didn't express regret although fast forward 10 years, she did mention that she realised how much the grandmother did and sacrificed for her.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I need to start reading first from part 1

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for reading dear @Jane <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Always welcome. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you writing skill is very nice , carry on dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Take a look at the community and there are many stories in series there to follow too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ok dear , you also visit my page

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is sad.. But not totally, because seeing on the brighter side, at least the grandma's suffering ended. I wonder too how the mother feels. But even if she regretted it, it's already too late. Another lesson.. We have to treasure our parents while we still have the chance..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it was a good thing that the grandma's suffering ended. It was sad to see her condition that way. Nobody knew although fast forward 10 years, the mother did mention that she realized how much the grandmother has done and sacrificed for her. But it was too late. Thank you so much @Gwenie for reading all the way <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome dear. Good luck on the contest πŸ€πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tomorrow ReadCash will pay me but I don't like their money so I decided I will give my profit every to all commentor how sad they are when they brokenhearted

I will pick 30 people who make me happy.

You need to right Sad Story of your Life how painful and suffering.

I will give 0.01$ to 0.05$ if your story make me happy when your sad.

Just Comment your article and give me negative Comments before you drop your article Link.

Then mention your 2-3 fake

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is this story an originally made by you? Your story really is a heart touching one :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes it is. Thank you for your kind words.

$ 0.00
3 years ago