Regrets (Part 1)

19 51
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

"What do you mean you are going to see her?" Ashley's mother exclaimed.

"It is soon to be dinner time!" she added. "What is the point of seeing her?" she asked mockingly.

Ashley stared at her mother. She tried hard to remain calm.

"What do you intend to do there? Hold her hand?" her mother continued sarcastically.

Ashley has never talked back to her mother and has always kept quiet at every sarcasm, mockery that she uttered towards her. But this time, Ashley felt her mother has gone too far.

"Yes! I am going to see her now and I am going to hold her hand because she is my grandma!" Ashley stormed out and slammed the door behind her.

As she drove to the hospital, tears kept rolling down her cheeks. Ashley thought about her grandmother who has been in the hospital for 2 weeks. Not once did her mother visit her. How could her mother be so cold hearted?

Ashley knew her mother had disliked her grandmother for a long time. She has seen how her mother treated her and talked badly about her. Ashley wasn't sure what it was that triggered it all or perhaps it was a build up of emotions from many years ago since her parents got married. But her grandmother was nearing 90 years old. Ever since Ashley was young, her grandmother was the one who cared for them, cooked delicious meals, cleaned and washed after them, while her mother went to work.

"Beep! Beep!" Ashley was startled from her thoughts. She looked to the front and the light was green. She quickly moved and turned into the hospital's entrance.


This is my first part entry to @Ozzyy 's Stories in Series contest which has been extended to September 19, 2020.

Regrets (Part 2)


Lead image by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash.


18
$ 2.33
$ 2.00 from @Ozzyy
$ 0.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

Thanks for making this short, I'm now heading to part 2 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha yah.. I didn't want to bore readers too much :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But it's not boring.. 😥 i like it btw

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you <3 <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's sad that there are people with such bad feelings. Does that grandmother have the meaning of a mother to that girl, and does not the daughter herself love her mother? after having cared for and fed her granddaughter. The mother should be grateful to the grandmother.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is. Sometimes, people have a history that others do not know about and it could be a build up of ill feelings from the past. If the feelings are kept inside, it will be very toxic if not managed well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, if we do not manage forgiveness, the burden of feelings within our heart becomes heavier than our own weight in kg.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very true. I have in the past felt like that and the heart feels heavy everyday until the day I decided to forgive and move on.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I understand what you're saying because I went through that too. And I can tell you that it is the best thing I could have done in my life. Forgive and be forgiven!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes! I love the feeling too! It lifts the heart to so much more happiness.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's what I meant when I told you once that I was happy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is going really well, and I like the cliffhanger you pulled off there.

Minor point: You don't need the comma after the quotation mark. The punctuation - be it fullstop, comma or question mark should be inside the apostrophe and that's all.

That aside, you're doing great. Carry on.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey thank you! Ah, I was wondering about that, I wasn't sure. Thank you for the pointer. I will remember the next time :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can't wait for the next entry... ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your support dear <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is a good start. Ashley's mom can be mean for a reason but somehow she reminds me of my grandmother. She didn't or stopped visiting her mother, not going to the funeral but I do understand why.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @wakeupkitty. Ah, is that part of your diary write up? I agree, they each have their reasons. We may not understand it at first but later on, we probably would if we think about it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, so far I did not write about that. Who knows I will or skip the part.

$ 0.00
3 years ago