Regrets (Part 3)

17 27
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

The room grew colder with each passing minute as Ashley held her grandmother's hand while listening to the sounds of her breathing through a ventilator. She massaged every vein and skin that she could see and feel, that has not been bruised by needles.

They decided to go for the surgery. There wasn't much of an option. It was either her grandmother suffer and spends the rest of her life hospitalized every other day while the hospital pumps blood into her whenever she loses blood or they take the chance, hope and pray that she could strive through it.

She had been in and out of sleep, mostly in. She was out of Intensive Care Unit (ICU) but she was not out of danger yet. "Now, it is up to her will power to live." the doctor said.

Looking at her grandmother's frail condition, Ashley couldn't fight the tears that came. Her eyes welled up just seeing a bag of blood and a bag of Natrium Chloride hanging and dripping into her, and to see another 3 bags hanging by the bed, one for her excess bile, another for her urine and one more for what looked like excess blood.

She was glad she came. For the past week, while her grandmother was in the ICU, everyone, including relatives from out of country, came to visit. Everyone but her mother. She didn't want to think about the lost case. It was too much to bear.

Ashley continued to massage her grandmother's hands, slowly and gently, while humming a song her grandmother used to listen to at home. As she moved on to the legs, her grandmother stirred.


This is my third part entry to @Ozzyy 's Stories in Series contest which has ends on September 19, 2020.

Regrets (Part 1)

Regrets (Part 2)


Lead image by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash.


18
$ 0.15
$ 0.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

I think I'll gonna cry if I read the last part. 😭😭😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry.. don't cry ya <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love the details you describe in grandma. Exactly what a patient looks like in the ICU, with all those bags hanging out. You make me imagine it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @gertu13 <3 Yes, I can imagine you would have seen many of such cases during your duty as a doctor?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exact. I imagined a grandmother with so many things, IVs, bags of bile, bags of urine. With wrinkled and bruised arms ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, very pitiful. The pain is almost unbearable for someone who watch, can't imagine how it was for her.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder what the crime is. It cannot be just the mother not visiting granny in the hospital. Does granny even notice people visit her?

Tomorrow is the deadline or? 👍🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is more a question and concern from Ashley. The granny was unconscious most of the time, she wouldn't notice.

Ozzyy has confirmed that the deadline is tomorrow 🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder why the mother treats the grandmother that way. I just hope that it will not be too late for them to reconcile..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think it is a result of years of negative emotional build up. In those days, straight talk is not in their vocabulary and everything is kept inside. I hope so too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. Lack of communication can really build a wall.. Anyway, I'm looking forward to the next part. Nice story ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes indeed, though for some, wrong kind of communication builds wall too :D

Thank you for your support @Gwenie <3 Am cooking up the next part :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great one. I'm happy you're back to finish it, and the story seems to be heading towards a happy ending

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will finish it tomorrow :) but I have yet to decide which way the ending will be heading.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I miss the happy ending part here 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe her Grandma will live

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not yet the ending 🤫🤐

$ 0.00
3 years ago